Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2011

      Where do I begin???? This cake is stupid-good! I'm gluten intolerant, but my husband is not. He insisted that I make him a birthday cake that I could eat and he loves chocolate. I was hesitant to try this - even after the other great reviews - but soooo glad I did.
      I made a couple of additions, but NO changes to the cake recipe. I used the best cocoa - Callebut - I could find. Trust me on this one, the brand of cocoa you use makes a lot of difference. I added a raspberry sauce filling between the layers and iced it with a simple cocoa whipped cream and garnished with fresh raspberries. It was the best chocolate cake we have ever had.
      An FYI to those baking this for the first time, TRUST the recipe! The batter seems too thick, gummy and gloppy (for lack of a better word) when you mix it and add it to your baking pans (I used two 9" rounds) and is hard to spread around the pans, but it bakes up perfectly. Thank you Gluten Free Mommy, this recipe is a treasure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      We "discovered" this recipe while looking for a gluten-free cake for my grandson's birthday. Now that I've had it, I can tell you there aren't enough stars to rate this highly enough. If I had to choose between this cake and a regular chocolate cake made with wheat flour, I would choose this one hands down, no contest--!!! This is one fantastic cake recipe. The texture is moist and dense and lusciously chocolate (it reminds me a little of the "Tasty Cake" cupcakes I grew up with, but even better), very "brownie-ish" for those brownie addicts among us. I think you can sub some of the flour varieties out pretty easily, especially the starchy ones like tapioca (I substituted potato starch for that one, since tapioca is made from yuca root, which is used like a potato in Central & South America). The recipe came together easily and pretty quickly. We do not even use a topping on this cake, as it is irresistible just as it is (however, for my grandson's special day we used a Cool Whip frosting made with chocolate pudding and a little less milk than the recipe called for). To be honest, we just weren't counting on everyone's wanting seconds and thirds the way they did!! We are not big on keeping sweets around the house, but I will admit we had to make this one again the next day for those who "didn't get enough" the first time around (it is awesome cold out of the refrig as well--had to cut it into bite-size "guiltless" chunks to keep it from disappearing within the hour). I would absolutely recommend this recipe to anyone, gluten-intolerant or not, it is just THAT GOOD!! Thanks, Gluten-free Mommy--I believe you are on the wave of the gluten-free future with this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      This cake was (and is) delicious! I have made this several times! My friends love it! The changes I did make are I used Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour instead of Sorhum Flour. I couldn't find Sorhum Flour but the All Purpose Flour has it in it. I also added more Cocoa for a deep chocolate flavor. I used a total of 1 1/2C. Cocoa and added 1C. Choc Chip!!Instead of Buttermilk I used 1 1/2C. Milk and added 1 1/2TBSP Lemon Juice (let set for 5 minutes) I used Butter Cream frosting (use 1/2 butter and 1/2 Crisco). This is the best chocolate cake recipe I have found. Highly recommended!! This is one I will make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Very nice recipe. I used 2 9" pans and the cakes turned out perfect (even at 7000 ft) with no alterations to the recipe. I then sliced each of the layers in half, to make a 4 layer German Chocolate Cake. I received many compliments. I can see this will become a stand by.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Fantastic!!! I used Potato flour insead of sorghum because I had none available. Also I used unflavored gelatin instead of xanthan gum and I made soy buttermilk. You just add some lemon juice to the soymilk to make it "buttermilk". So this was dairy and gluten free for me. I made cupcakes for a birthday and I filled the muffin cups all the way to the top. I was suprised the cupcakes rose a little and looked like regular cupcakes. The kids LOVED them and you cant tell they are wheat and dairy free. A fantastic recipe that I will be sure to use again and again! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Substituting coconut milk for buttermilk gave this cake a wonderful and distinct flavor. I covered it with whipped vanilla frosting and shredded coconut. Guest, gluten and gluten free alike, requested the recipe! Thanks Gluten Free Mommy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This cake was delicious and pretty much foolproof. Not only did it rise beautifully and evenly but it tasted absolutely fantastic--not too sweet but delicate and chocolatey. This is absolutely the Best gluten free chocolate cake recipe you can find on the internet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Wonderful recipe, easy to make. This cake was only my second attempt at gluten free baking. I baked it for a friends child who had been recently diagnosed as gluten intolerant. It passed the taste test of eight eleven year old boys. Recently I made it for our gluten-free support group and had many people ask for the recipe. I used 1 cup of rice flour and 1/2 cup of tapioca flour as I didn't have any sorghum flour. I also use quite a bit more cocoa than called for, 3-4 heaping tablespoons.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I turned this cake into a birthday cake, by cutting it in half. I layered it with chocolate mousse, and poured a chocolate ganache over top. It was outstanding. No one knew it was gluten-free until I told them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      I got an account to review this recipe -- it's that fantastic. I baked it exactly as written, except I made cupcakes instead of a sheet cake. I used a #20 disher (3Tblsps), as the batter seemed very thick and sticky. One scoop filled cupcake liners about 2/3s full and baked perfectly to the top. They were absolutely delicious. The flavor reminded me of the old packaged chocolate cupcakes with the white squiggle, only moister and better. They were even better (as many cakes are) after refrigeration overnight.<br/><br/>I paired it with the Wilton vanilla buttercream recipe and I'm a bit embarrassed to say 8 of us blew through 24 cupcakes in a few hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      I have made this 3 times and it turns out perfect every time. It has a great texture and flavor. Just make sure to mix thoroughly at each step so that you don't end up with chunks of butter at the end. It doesn't affect the taste, but it looks prettier and rises more evenly when you mix well. This is my new go-to recipe for chocolate birthday cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      I actually only tried the frosting. I tweaked it a little by adding 1/4 tsp of instant coffee granules mixed with 1/4 tsp hot water and adding it to the melted chocolate together with the vanilla essence for a mocha icing. I also skipped the whipping cream. It turned out really good. The leftover icing just needs to be warmed either in a microwave or over a bowl of hot water and poured over ice cream. I used the frosting for a gluten and egg free chocolate cake. This frosting recipe is a sure keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      absolutely superb. I can't believe how light and fluffy it was! - my first attempt at a gluten free cake had that undercooked, doughy appearance but not this one. I'm going to try using it as the basis for my (regular flour) chocolate/orange zucchini cake and see how it turns out.
      As someone 1 week into the gluten free journey, I am really encouraged by the success of this recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Really, really, really good.
      have read a lot of reviews which say this is the best gluten free, can't tell the difference, then tried them and was dissapointed.
      I didn't use butter as I can't handle milk products, and used about two tablespoons of cocoa extra, as some reviews suggested. Other than that, followed the recipe, I believe that the sorgham flour makes a real diference as it also gives more structure, as well as flavour. I am so happy to have found a real keeper, NO COMPROMISE HERE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.2
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    39%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 105.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 284.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 31.7 g
    126%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites