13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love these. We prefer to use sharp cheddar or even extra sharp chessar for the flavor. We also like to use this to replace the Cheez-its in Chex Mix. We roll them out very thinly, cut on baking sheet, but not seperate and then bake. If you add a few drops of food coloring, then they don't look anemic in the cereal mix. I've never used cream- I use whole milk (but use a little less) and increase the butter a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexington6933 September 26, 2009

I forgot to mention that my Whole Foods store where I shop did not have potato starch. I substitued tapioca starch and it worked just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina S. October 10, 2006

Already reviewed but wanted to get a photo in of these babies off my phone :0)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mechellewyatt June 09, 2013

I ran out of cornstarch so ended up using half white rice flour and half cornstarch. I tried piping them with a star tip for better presentation but the dough is too stiff. And I ended up cutting them in half also, otherwise most of them would have broken anyway...I'd recommend cutting them maybe 4 inches long or so. Doubled the recipe and actually made it in about 30 seconds in my food processor! Will be doing this again...maybe cutting with a biscuit cutter next time....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefNurseSarah July 05, 2010

I just made these exactly as written but without red pepper. I did cut the straws in half again so so my 2 yr old did not break the straws (plus there are twice as many!) No problem with crumbling or any other problems others had. I did not need to refrigerate the dough. My gluten free 2 yr old is eating them like crazy right now, he loves them! Next time I think I will add more salt, maybe onion salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becks February 21, 2010

I made these last year and they disappeared so fast my gluten free son barely got any and those eating them never knew they were gluten free. And the thinner you roll them the cruchier they turn out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marie.morin November 18, 2009

Very tasty. Did take closer to 5 tablespoons of cream to reach a dough consistency. I used a mix of italian cheeses and seasonings in my batch. I can see all types of mixtures of cheese, herbs and spices being very good in these crackers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendy1872 December 14, 2008

YUM-O! These are so good. I thought when my family and I went gluten free we were gonna have to sacrifice the cheese cracker. Sacrifice no more!!! I even used buttermilk instead of cream cuz that's all I had on hand and they are still delish! Thanks for a wonderful recipe GinnyP.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephana101 September 10, 2008

Roll the dough 1/8' thick, flip it onto a cookie sheet and score it in 1" squares, then bake. Let cool and break along scores. Cheez It crackers with a kick. Every one in my house loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnamcduffie July 21, 2008

I am still not sure exactly what I think about these. Mine definately needed stiffening in the fridge, they had a very strange and sticky consistancy when they were mixed... the flavor is ok, but they taste like Cheez-Its to me and I've never been a big fan. I imagine they would be really good with soup, but they definately aren't hanging together well enough for a salad or something. If you need a breadstick, this is the closest thing I've had so far in my GF career... but I just wasn't knocked off my feet. I think it was the cheez-it flavor, honestly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi Waterworth April 17, 2008
Gluten-Free Cheese Straws