Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Cheese Straws Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Cheese Straws

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2009

      We love these. We prefer to use sharp cheddar or even extra sharp chessar for the flavor. We also like to use this to replace the Cheez-its in Chex Mix. We roll them out very thinly, cut on baking sheet, but not seperate and then bake. If you add a few drops of food coloring, then they don't look anemic in the cereal mix. I've never used cream- I use whole milk (but use a little less) and increase the butter a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I forgot to mention that my Whole Foods store where I shop did not have potato starch. I substitued tapioca starch and it worked just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      Already reviewed but wanted to get a photo in of these babies off my phone :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I ran out of cornstarch so ended up using half white rice flour and half cornstarch. I tried piping them with a star tip for better presentation but the dough is too stiff. And I ended up cutting them in half also, otherwise most of them would have broken anyway...I'd recommend cutting them maybe 4 inches long or so. Doubled the recipe and actually made it in about 30 seconds in my food processor! Will be doing this again...maybe cutting with a biscuit cutter next time....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I just made these exactly as written but without red pepper. I did cut the straws in half again so so my 2 yr old did not break the straws (plus there are twice as many!) No problem with crumbling or any other problems others had. I did not need to refrigerate the dough. My gluten free 2 yr old is eating them like crazy right now, he loves them! Next time I think I will add more salt, maybe onion salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I made these last year and they disappeared so fast my gluten free son barely got any and those eating them never knew they were gluten free. And the thinner you roll them the cruchier they turn out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Very tasty. Did take closer to 5 tablespoons of cream to reach a dough consistency. I used a mix of italian cheeses and seasonings in my batch. I can see all types of mixtures of cheese, herbs and spices being very good in these crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      YUM-O! These are so good. I thought when my family and I went gluten free we were gonna have to sacrifice the cheese cracker. Sacrifice no more!!! I even used buttermilk instead of cream cuz that's all I had on hand and they are still delish! Thanks for a wonderful recipe GinnyP.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Roll the dough 1/8' thick, flip it onto a cookie sheet and score it in 1" squares, then bake. Let cool and break along scores. Cheez It crackers with a kick. Every one in my house loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      I am still not sure exactly what I think about these. Mine definately needed stiffening in the fridge, they had a very strange and sticky consistancy when they were mixed... the flavor is ok, but they taste like Cheez-Its to me and I've never been a big fan. I imagine they would be really good with soup, but they definately aren't hanging together well enough for a salad or something. If you need a breadstick, this is the closest thing I've had so far in my GF career... but I just wasn't knocked off my feet. I think it was the cheez-it flavor, honestly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      these are nice and tasty. i love bread sticks and have missed them with my pasta stuff. this really fits the bill for that. they're also really good with some chili too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      I agree, these are just yummy. My daughter who is gluten free said they were the best cheesey snack I'd ever made her. I made it to the exact recipe with the only adaptation of cooking them an extra 2 minutes to get them really golden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      i can't believe these haven't been reviewed a thousand times. if you are gluten free you have to try them. they are SOOOOO INSANELY YUMMY. I'm glad the batch didn't make very many because i ate the entire thing in one sitting, and would not have stopped had there been more! i'm glad the holidays are coming up- i will be making big batches of these to bring to all the parties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Cheese Straws

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 59.6
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    61%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 12.1 mg
    4%
    Sodium 51.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites