15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

GREAT recipe...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy Gurl October 03, 2011

Great recipe! I made these for a dinner when one of the guests has celiac disease. They were awesome, and no one else knew they were gluten-free! I had to give out the recipe. They were super easy to make and made 12 muffins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie October 19, 2010

Amazing and easy too! I made 17 mini muffins, 5 mini pizzas and breadsticks, so far. Added 1 1/2 tsp. x-gum, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, skipped the cayenne. Put pepperoni in the mini muffins. Next try will be muffins with crumbled bacon. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherriballard79 October 31, 2009

9/2009 Made these last night. There are 3 in our family and there were NO muffins left! Had them with a yummy soup of broth, mild Italian sausage, root vegetables and chopped swiss chard. I did take the advice of other reviewers and used garlic and Italian seasoning, and the guar gum. I prepared the wet and dry ingredients and added about 20 red pepper flakes along with 2 Tablespoons Costco bacon bits to the wet ingredients and let it set for about 30 minutes before final mixing and baking. Baked in a cast iron muffin pan (preheat, add 1/8 tsp butter to each cup; add batter). Cast iron gives a wonderful, delicate crisp to the outside of the muffins. This is a keeper!! Thanks for sharing. Mary Anne chef 1225333

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryannemead September 30, 2009

I made these using a rice based cheese, which historically hasn't had great results for me. To my surprise the savory dough transfomed the "just a bit off real cheese" cheese to something fantastic. I see a lot of these in my future :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B November 09, 2008

Awesome, no other word, i used orgran plain and SR and they both went well, I added dill, spinach and parsley to mine, and just about to make another batch adding all the above and some bacon. This is my 10th batch in two days since i found the recipe, it is so easy, thanks for a ripper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aussie Deb #2 August 21, 2008

they're nice and savory, a little dense but still tasty, especially for a quick evening snack.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisann09 December 17, 2007

These are EXCELLENT! Gluten free baking can be quite the hit and miss experience and these were definitely a hit! I used sharp cheddar cheese, added 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1/4 tsp garlic powder (as suggested by another reviewer) and buttered the tops when they were done. Thank you jackandfiona, I will make these often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biogirlie August 04, 2007

These cheese muffins are fast and easy to make, and my whole family loves them. I used 1/4 tsp. cayenne and 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. I always put xanthan or guar gum in my baking so it won't be crumbly - 1 1/2 tsp for this recipe. The muffins reheat well, even two days old, in the toaster oven - moist inside, lightly crisp on the outside. Not exactly low calorie, but wonderful for an occasional treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Bead March 03, 2007

We just recently found out our 17 year old daughter has a wheat allergy.Recipezaar has been a Godsend for a picky eater. We made these muffins the other night. I substituted garlic powder for the cayenne pepper and added some italian seasonings. When they came out of the oven I brushed the tops with melted organic butter substitute. My daughter thought they tasted just like the biscuits she used to be able to eat at the Red Lobster. My husband loved them also. Thanks alot for the help!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mabecooks September 20, 2006
Gluten Free Cheese Muffins