14 Reviews

FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I tossed it all in my bread machine and pushed the 80 minute express bake and out popped a GORGEOUS loaf of moist bread, it didn't crumble and I'm saying goodbye to Pamela's bread mix!!!! I will add an extra 1/2 teaspoon of salt next time because we felt it needed it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltz4yu October 24, 2010

This was really delicious, and surprisingly easy. When I put the Kenwood Chef on high after adding the yeast mixture, I did get splattered with dough which was quite amusing, albeit messy so watch out fellow bakers. I found that at 200 degrees celsius, my Challah got a little too brown on top so I'd maybe drop the temperature on the oven a littttttle bit. HOWEVER, all up an easy, successful recipe. The bread itself has SUCH amazing texture considering its sans-gluten. It stays together marvelously (NO crumbles at all), and is soft and fluffy and perfect. With the mixture I made one big loaf and six rolls and the timing was right on par. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I HIGHLY recommend fellow coeliacs to try this out, or even those who can eat gluten - my gluten-eating friend gorged on just as many rolls as me. LOVE. Seriously. Perhaps could have been a little sweeter but that's personal preference with your Challah. YUM.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charliemerl June 13, 2010

This makes a very soft bread that tastes nothing like challah.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigeforfood March 18, 2013

Totally yummy, wow, delicious! This would have a 100 star rating if I could. Best gf bread I've ever made!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef lady di November 03, 2012

I just made this, and O.M.Gee...it's fabulous! I did make some substitutions (based on what I had available.) I used 1 c. Bob's Red Mill Gluten-free Flour; 1 c. oat flour; 1 c. tapioca starch; 3/4 c. potato starch; 1 tsp. salt; 1/4 honey; 1 1/2 tsp. raw agave. The rest was as directed. I mixed it up in my Breadman bread machine; wet ingredients first, then dry, and yeast on top and used the gluten-free setting (mix the dry ingredients together first, before placing in the bread machine.) It was/is delicious! No one would know that it's gluten-free! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poohtiglet April 15, 2012

First time I tried this it didn't turn out well. Tonight was my second attempt and I made some adjustments. I used dextrose instead of sugar, white vinegar instead of apple cider vinegar and margarine instead of butter due to dietary restrictions. I also used twice as much salt, half a cup of water instead of a full cup and softened margarine instead of melted. I let everything come to room temp before starting. I didn't mix the batter again after the first rise like the instructions state because I didn't want to lose the air I had and it seemed to rise better and stay risen in the oven better this time. I also took the bread out of the oven 10 minutes early because it was cooked through and was starting to get too hard on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jesi E. October 22, 2015

Just like everyone else said...Awesome!! I used Bob's Red Mill for all of the flour and a little more salt. Also used EnerG egg replacer to make it vegan. This bread smells and tastes amazing. Great consistency! Used my kitchen aid mixer instead of a bread machine (don't have one). Also, I found that the raising and cooking times were a bit quicker than expected. I am in high altitude so that influences it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annimoto March 21, 2013

Amazing! When my 3 year old was diagnosed with a wheat allergy, I was so intimidated by the abundant Challah served every Friday at her preschool. It was her favorite. I make rolls with this recipe and now she doesn't even miss it! The rest of the family loves these too. I also use more salt - 1 tsp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesst February 12, 2013

For GF, I would give this 5 stars. it isn't dry and crumbly. I used honey instead of sugar and increased the salt to 1 tsp. The sesame seeds gave a nice flavor and I think next time I might put them in the bread. I used an ice cream scoop and it made 22 perfect rolls that I cooked for 20 mins. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everything Sweet January 30, 2013

this is my first Gluten free bread! and this recipe is awesome!!! very delicious, moist and easy to make !! texture is amazing like a real bread, i ll be making this bread regularly!!! thank you so much!!!!
by the way the bread took about 35 min in the oven only and i made sure its done by using a digital thermometer, which i insert in the middle and all the way to the bottom without touching the pan and once it showed 210 F , i knew its done!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoelleMaria January 05, 2013
Gluten Free Challah Bread