49 Reviews

Was making soup, DH said, "Sourdough bread would go great with that!" After letting out a big sigh, I said, "How about biscuits?" A quick search pulled these up. He wasn't disappointed in the least! These were great! I used 3/4 c brown rice flour, 1/2 c tapioca starch. They were a tad grainy for my taste, so next time I will try sorghum flour in place of the brown rice, but that in no way detracts from this fabulous recipe. I will be making these often! When shaping them, I made sure I kept my hands damp, as the gf dough tends to stick less that way. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viedvacker January 28, 2014

I wish I could give this recipe more than five stars! I'm amazed that GF biscuits can actually be light, fluffy and delicious. These are wonderful! I will definitely be making these again...and again...!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L B. December 09, 2013

Love 'em so much that I pre-mix the dry ingredients an store in baggies in the freezer. Makes it so easy to prepare. Also use my large cookie scoop for convenience - so they look much more like drop biscuits but the taste is still awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daytonajill December 01, 2013

Fantastic recipe! I have been craving sausage gravy and biscuits but eating gluten free makes that a challenge. I substituted 1 1/4 cups brown rice flour as suggested in the notes. I made gluten free sausage gravy with quinoa flour instead of regular flour and the gravy and biscuits together were perfect! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fit Cook March 13, 2013

First attempt and it was excellent. I need to obviously work on the dough a bit (food processor would be helpful) as it wasn't quite stiff enough to not spread out. Used the batter to make a loaf of monkey bread and it was incredible. I have only been gluten free for about six months and I have been fervently looking for recipes, refusing to accept the fact that I can't enjoy food because I can't eat eat wheat (or it's relatives). However, while proficient at many types of cooking and baking, biscuits were one of those things I never quite got a handle on and have been more intimidating under the new requirements of being gluten free. This recipe was a surprising and joyous discovery. The only thing I did differently was leave out the xantham gum as my research has left me to understand gums aren't necessary in non-yeast baking and can be substituted in yeast baking. My next experiment with these will be to use buckwheat and/or brown rice flour for a better nutritional value. However, even if tomorrow I learned that I could eat gluten without suffering, I would use this recipe. It is THAT good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rMeGrl October 20, 2012

Hands Down best glutten free biscuit recipe ever!!!! Made as written, didn't change a thing so my review was based solely on the recipe itself. Next time, will place dough in small loaf shape ramikins to make individual loafs....thanks from a happy & full glutten free Grandma!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mitzimarie1 September 22, 2012

These were fantastic! I will make this often. I have only been gluten free for about 6 months and am collecting recipes to make life easier. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ayrlyn September 09, 2012

I am always looking for good gluten free recipes, my daughter has been gluten free for severals years now and at first gluten free baking was not so good. These are the best biscuits ever. When I first saw how the dough came out I thought no way were these going to be any good...well I was wrong! They are wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly but I used an ice-cream scoop sprayed with a little cooking spray to make the biscuit and baked them for 20 minutes, came out perfect. Now I hope she likes them...my husband gave them thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mitchell1169 September 08, 2012

These biscuits were sooo good! My family who is not GF really liked them too! They have great texture, a slight sponginess to them. I made them drop biscuits and we ate them with dried beef gravy. I used all the ingredients as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW July 15, 2012

I found this recipe after the last recipe failed to deliver on taste. I read the reviews here and had to try it. I was not disappointed and neither was my daughter; they really do taste like KFC biscuits. I made a few changes...I baked them 20 mins as was suggested by previous reviewers, and I added 1 cup brown rice flour with 1/4 cup of the cornstarch. Mmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IowaGal541 April 22, 2012
Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits