49 Reviews

i just saw this recipe tonight and had no reason to try making these at 8pm but after reading the great reviews comparing them to KFC biscuits that i have missed for years, i had to try. they turned out DELISH the very 1st time, which rarely happens for me! These are so easy and so good. i am so happy you dont even need to use eggs either. i used 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup tapioca for flour blend. i also used hemp milk. thanks for posting, love this repice and cant wait to finally trick my husband with something gluten free.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Long legged mama August 15, 2010

Made these for my GF daughter who is coming to visit so she can have the make-ahead-and-freeze biscuits with egg, cheddar and turkey bacon. First batch of 6 needed an extra six minutes to bake and still the inside was a tiny bit underdone. For my next batch I'll make 4 biscuits so they're larger and will bake longer. Used 1 C brown rice flour and 1/4 c corn starch. They're very yummy and don't even taste gluten free!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jilly 07 August 31, 2009

Finally tried this recipe, and was VERY happy with it. Both my kids loved them, too. The 8 yr old liked sausage on his, and the 6 yr old liked them with jelly. (All three of us eat GF.) Even my gluten-eating Dad ate several. I did have a hard time getting them to brown on top, but that was not worth taking away a star. The taste and texture were excellent!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgewalker September 09, 2009

Great biscuits! I did reduce the xantham gum to 1 tsp and used 1 cup of brown rice flour and 1/4 cup of cornstarch. They tasted very good. I will be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3RiversCook November 05, 2014

Seriously perfect gluten free biscuits! I followed the instructions exactly and made Traditional Biscuits N' Gravy (W/Sausage - Gluten Free). I make 4 large biscuits so they take about 16-20 minutes to cook. TIME SAVER: Measure the dry ingredients into individual baggies and store in your pantry for later use. Then simply add butter & milk! NO FOOD PROCESSOR: Using a pastry cutter or 2 knives to thoroughly cut in the butter works just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth March 08, 2009

YUMMY!!!!! Every time I try a fabulous recipe I feel less deprived. These have to be better for you than the KFC biscuits. :) I used the GF mix of rice, potato, and tapioca and that turned out well. I had to bake them for 20 minutes. The first time I tried them the inside wasn't done. I tried putting them back in the oven, but that didn't work. I had to try again. Boy, I sure am glad I did. I really like the texture. I am sure I'll be making these over and over again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!! I don't have a food processor, so I made this by hand using a whisk to mix the dry ingredients, a pastry blender to add the butter and a spoon when I added the buttermilk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mfb October 28, 2008

Honestly... I think that people here (that are giving good reviews) forget what GOOD real-gluten-bread counterparts taste like. I made this recipe as stated, and (I shouldn't have been surprised), they had the flavour of shortbread cookies. KFC biscuits? Yeah, right! Seriously... what is wrong with people's taste buds?! Then I tried another commenter's suggestion and used 1 cup rice flour 1/4 cup cornstarch. Well... those barely rose and turned out dry and crumbly. Ugh... on to search for another recipe again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah P. December 21, 2015

I have made these dozens of times now, using whatever flour I have and they are always perfect. I make them in a 9 inch cast iron skillet, 6 biscuits fit perfect almost touching and rise nicely this way. When I don't have xanthan gum I have learned that I can use an equal amount of ground psyllium husk with excellent results. I always have to cook them for about 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jude503 November 10, 2015

Wow!! My Non GF son told me he could never share my diet because there were no good GF biscuits! Boy did I prove him a liar! I made these this morning and he told me he'll ever go back to Chick Fil A (his favorite place for chicken biscuits) because of these! They are amazing. My first batch did not rise because I stupidly left out the xanthum gum. The came out like pancakes but they STILL tasted amazing. The next batch I added the xanthum gum and they rose and were fluffy and delicious. I used the 1 cup brown rice and 1/4 cup cornstarch in place of the first two ingredients, they came out the perfect color. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MikenRobin1 February 08, 2015

These were yummy. I followed recipe to the tee with exception of food processor and I didnt have buttermilk had to substitute milk. I use my Pastry cutter to work in the butter to the dry, And it worked out fine. I used a gluten free flour mix to coat my hands when forming the dough to help from being so sticky to my hands. Made exactly 8 browned up really nice and was light and fluffly. This is my favorite Gluten free biscut by far. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda B. November 28, 2014
Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits