48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i just saw this recipe tonight and had no reason to try making these at 8pm but after reading the great reviews comparing them to KFC biscuits that i have missed for years, i had to try. they turned out DELISH the very 1st time, which rarely happens for me! These are so easy and so good. i am so happy you dont even need to use eggs either. i used 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup tapioca for flour blend. i also used hemp milk. thanks for posting, love this repice and cant wait to finally trick my husband with something gluten free.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Long legged mama August 16, 2010

Made these for my GF daughter who is coming to visit so she can have the make-ahead-and-freeze biscuits with egg, cheddar and turkey bacon. First batch of 6 needed an extra six minutes to bake and still the inside was a tiny bit underdone. For my next batch I'll make 4 biscuits so they're larger and will bake longer. Used 1 C brown rice flour and 1/4 c corn starch. They're very yummy and don't even taste gluten free!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jilly 07 August 31, 2009

Finally tried this recipe, and was VERY happy with it. Both my kids loved them, too. The 8 yr old liked sausage on his, and the 6 yr old liked them with jelly. (All three of us eat GF.) Even my gluten-eating Dad ate several. I did have a hard time getting them to brown on top, but that was not worth taking away a star. The taste and texture were excellent!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgewalker September 09, 2009

Great biscuits! I did reduce the xantham gum to 1 tsp and used 1 cup of brown rice flour and 1/4 cup of cornstarch. They tasted very good. I will be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3RiversCook November 05, 2014

Seriously perfect gluten free biscuits! I followed the instructions exactly and made Traditional Biscuits N' Gravy (W/Sausage - Gluten Free). I make 4 large biscuits so they take about 16-20 minutes to cook. TIME SAVER: Measure the dry ingredients into individual baggies and store in your pantry for later use. Then simply add butter & milk! NO FOOD PROCESSOR: Using a pastry cutter or 2 knives to thoroughly cut in the butter works just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth March 08, 2009

YUMMY!!!!! Every time I try a fabulous recipe I feel less deprived. These have to be better for you than the KFC biscuits. :) I used the GF mix of rice, potato, and tapioca and that turned out well. I had to bake them for 20 minutes. The first time I tried them the inside wasn't done. I tried putting them back in the oven, but that didn't work. I had to try again. Boy, I sure am glad I did. I really like the texture. I am sure I'll be making these over and over again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!! I don't have a food processor, so I made this by hand using a whisk to mix the dry ingredients, a pastry blender to add the butter and a spoon when I added the buttermilk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mfb October 28, 2008

Wow!! My Non GF son told me he could never share my diet because there were no good GF biscuits! Boy did I prove him a liar! I made these this morning and he told me he'll ever go back to Chick Fil A (his favorite place for chicken biscuits) because of these! They are amazing. My first batch did not rise because I stupidly left out the xanthum gum. The came out like pancakes but they STILL tasted amazing. The next batch I added the xanthum gum and they rose and were fluffy and delicious. I used the 1 cup brown rice and 1/4 cup cornstarch in place of the first two ingredients, they came out the perfect color. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MikenRobin1 February 08, 2015

These were yummy. I followed recipe to the tee with exception of food processor and I didnt have buttermilk had to substitute milk. I use my Pastry cutter to work in the butter to the dry, And it worked out fine. I used a gluten free flour mix to coat my hands when forming the dough to help from being so sticky to my hands. Made exactly 8 browned up really nice and was light and fluffly. This is my favorite Gluten free biscut by far. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda B. November 28, 2014

Was making soup, DH said, "Sourdough bread would go great with that!" After letting out a big sigh, I said, "How about biscuits?" A quick search pulled these up. He wasn't disappointed in the least! These were great! I used 3/4 c brown rice flour, 1/2 c tapioca starch. They were a tad grainy for my taste, so next time I will try sorghum flour in place of the brown rice, but that in no way detracts from this fabulous recipe. I will be making these often! When shaping them, I made sure I kept my hands damp, as the gf dough tends to stick less that way. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viedvacker January 28, 2014

I wish I could give this recipe more than five stars! I'm amazed that GF biscuits can actually be light, fluffy and delicious. These are wonderful! I will definitely be making these again...and again...!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L B. December 09, 2013
Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits