Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2010

      i just saw this recipe tonight and had no reason to try making these at 8pm but after reading the great reviews comparing them to KFC biscuits that i have missed for years, i had to try. they turned out DELISH the very 1st time, which rarely happens for me! These are so easy and so good. i am so happy you dont even need to use eggs either. i used 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup tapioca for flour blend. i also used hemp milk. thanks for posting, love this repice and cant wait to finally trick my husband with something gluten free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Made these for my GF daughter who is coming to visit so she can have the make-ahead-and-freeze biscuits with egg, cheddar and turkey bacon. First batch of 6 needed an extra six minutes to bake and still the inside was a tiny bit underdone. For my next batch I'll make 4 biscuits so they're larger and will bake longer. Used 1 C brown rice flour and 1/4 c corn starch. They're very yummy and don't even taste gluten free!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Finally tried this recipe, and was VERY happy with it. Both my kids loved them, too. The 8 yr old liked sausage on his, and the 6 yr old liked them with jelly. (All three of us eat GF.) Even my gluten-eating Dad ate several. I did have a hard time getting them to brown on top, but that was not worth taking away a star. The taste and texture were excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Seriously perfect gluten free biscuits! I followed the instructions exactly and made Traditional Biscuits N' Gravy (W/Sausage - Gluten Free). I make 4 large biscuits so they take about 16-20 minutes to cook. TIME SAVER: Measure the dry ingredients into individual baggies and store in your pantry for later use. Then simply add butter & milk! NO FOOD PROCESSOR: Using a pastry cutter or 2 knives to thoroughly cut in the butter works just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      YUMMY!!!!! Every time I try a fabulous recipe I feel less deprived. These have to be better for you than the KFC biscuits. :) I used the GF mix of rice, potato, and tapioca and that turned out well. I had to bake them for 20 minutes. The first time I tried them the inside wasn't done. I tried putting them back in the oven, but that didn't work. I had to try again. Boy, I sure am glad I did. I really like the texture. I am sure I'll be making these over and over again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!! I don't have a food processor, so I made this by hand using a whisk to mix the dry ingredients, a pastry blender to add the butter and a spoon when I added the buttermilk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      These were yummy. I followed recipe to the tee with exception of food processor and I didnt have buttermilk had to substitute milk. I use my Pastry cutter to work in the butter to the dry, And it worked out fine. I used a gluten free flour mix to coat my hands when forming the dough to help from being so sticky to my hands. Made exactly 8 browned up really nice and was light and fluffly. This is my favorite Gluten free biscut by far. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      Great biscuits! I did reduce the xantham gum to 1 tsp and used 1 cup of brown rice flour and 1/4 cup of cornstarch. They tasted very good. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Was making soup, DH said, "Sourdough bread would go great with that!" After letting out a big sigh, I said, "How about biscuits?" A quick search pulled these up. He wasn't disappointed in the least! These were great! I used 3/4 c brown rice flour, 1/2 c tapioca starch. They were a tad grainy for my taste, so next time I will try sorghum flour in place of the brown rice, but that in no way detracts from this fabulous recipe. I will be making these often! When shaping them, I made sure I kept my hands damp, as the gf dough tends to stick less that way. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      I wish I could give this recipe more than five stars! I'm amazed that GF biscuits can actually be light, fluffy and delicious. These are wonderful! I will definitely be making these again...and again...!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      Love 'em so much that I pre-mix the dry ingredients an store in baggies in the freezer. Makes it so easy to prepare. Also use my large cookie scoop for convenience - so they look much more like drop biscuits but the taste is still awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Fantastic recipe! I have been craving sausage gravy and biscuits but eating gluten free makes that a challenge. I substituted 1 1/4 cups brown rice flour as suggested in the notes. I made gluten free sausage gravy with quinoa flour instead of regular flour and the gravy and biscuits together were perfect! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      First attempt and it was excellent. I need to obviously work on the dough a bit (food processor would be helpful) as it wasn't quite stiff enough to not spread out. Used the batter to make a loaf of monkey bread and it was incredible. I have only been gluten free for about six months and I have been fervently looking for recipes, refusing to accept the fact that I can't enjoy food because I can't eat eat wheat (or it's relatives). However, while proficient at many types of cooking and baking, biscuits were one of those things I never quite got a handle on and have been more intimidating under the new requirements of being gluten free. This recipe was a surprising and joyous discovery. The only thing I did differently was leave out the xantham gum as my research has left me to understand gums aren't necessary in non-yeast baking and can be substituted in yeast baking. My next experiment with these will be to use buckwheat and/or brown rice flour for a better nutritional value. However, even if tomorrow I learned that I could eat gluten without suffering, I would use this recipe. It is THAT good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Hands Down best glutten free biscuit recipe ever!!!! Made as written, didn't change a thing so my review was based solely on the recipe itself. Next time, will place dough in small loaf shape ramikins to make individual loafs....thanks from a happy & full glutten free Grandma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      These were fantastic! I will make this often. I have only been gluten free for about 6 months and am collecting recipes to make life easier. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      I am always looking for good gluten free recipes, my daughter has been gluten free for severals years now and at first gluten free baking was not so good. These are the best biscuits ever. When I first saw how the dough came out I thought no way were these going to be any good...well I was wrong! They are wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly but I used an ice-cream scoop sprayed with a little cooking spray to make the biscuit and baked them for 20 minutes, came out perfect. Now I hope she likes them...my husband gave them thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      These biscuits were sooo good! My family who is not GF really liked them too! They have great texture, a slight sponginess to them. I made them drop biscuits and we ate them with dried beef gravy. I used all the ingredients as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      I found this recipe after the last recipe failed to deliver on taste. I read the reviews here and had to try it. I was not disappointed and neither was my daughter; they really do taste like KFC biscuits. I made a few changes...I baked them 20 mins as was suggested by previous reviewers, and I added 1 cup brown rice flour with 1/4 cup of the cornstarch. Mmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Revision of review: Since my previous review, I've learned there is a big difference between potato flour vs. potato starch. I didn't know this! I used potato flour. I will definitely be trying the potato starch next time, as the creator of this recipe said informed me the starch is a much better and lighter consistency without the "potato-y" flavor. I can't wait to try this! I'm sure it will make all the difference! I looked it up myself online and sure enough, she is right! I can't wait to try these again with my newfound information!..........

      Previous: I've made this twice and they came out great both times! These are the first gf biscuits I've made that haven't come out like hockey pucks. They are actually moist and delicious! The first time they had a little too much "potato" flavor for me, so the second time I substituted half the potato flour for white rice flour and they came out perfect! Thank you for this recipe!! I can finally make great biscuits for my gf son that the whole family can enjoy (and we all did!). BTW... I baked about 20 minutes per other reviews and it was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

    • on November 24, 2011

      My husband has declared that I am not allowed to make any other biscuits than these ever again. He was skeptical that they would actually taste like KFC biscuits, but they really do. And he isn't even gluten free! YAY! Thank you for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.3
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    43%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 21.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 419.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes