Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Buckwheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Buckwheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    6 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-6 of 6

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2010

      I reduce the oil to 1/4 cup and increase the baking temp to 400 degrees Fahrenheit (for the same amount of time). This gives me a crisper crust, and an inside that is less mushy. I also finally found a smaller than standard loaf pan here in the states (a regular 9x5 is way too big), and then I slice and freeze whatever I'm not using that day. It defrosts in the microwave well if I'm in a hurry. My recipe now has lots of modifications but I give this 4 stars because it was a great base for me to get started with! (Note, I have found that what kind of gluten free flour you use makes a huge difference in the moisture content and texture, so my changes might not work at all well for you, but if you try this with your flours and you need to reduce the moisture content, maybe this will help.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      I was pleasantly surprised at how this turned out. I am still experimenting with gluten-free baked goods and don't like the flavor that GF flour blends made with soy flour leaves in some things. But the buckwheat covers that flavor without overpowering. This is NOT a sweet quick bread, but more of a toast or sandwich bread. I made half the recipe and baked it in a mini pan. The only thing I would change, is to put the sesame seeds IN the batter instead of on top. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This bread truly is excellent! It has a very nice texture, somewhat moist, but still sliceable and firm enough to hold toppings. A wonderful breakfast bread.
      I made half the recipe baking the dough in two oven-proof round ramekins, which turned out nicely and reduced the baking time to 40 minutes.
      Since I didnt want to throw away the yolk, I used the whole egg, reducing the oil accordingly. That worked out well. Next time I might use applesauce in place of the oil just to see how it goes. Also I think I will reduce the sugar as it was a tad too sweet for me.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Kate! Its a keeper for sure.
      Oh P.S.: I was out of sesame seeds, so I used chopped almonds in their place. YUM!
      Made and reviewed for Everyday is A Holiday Tag Game and the Bread and Soups Event in the Photo Forum January 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This was bread has an outstanding texture. It isn't heavy, slices and freezes well. I used a whole egg in place of the egg whites without a problem. I got 14 to 15 slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Clear five stars for an easy to prepare, tasty gluten free bread with very nice texture. I didn't look properly at the directions, so I used 1 whole egg accidentally instead of 2 egg whites, but that didn't seem to matter - maybe because I used rice milk which is more watery than moo-milk. The bread doesn't dry out, slices and freezes well and works with different kinds of gluten free flour mixes (I've already tried two). This will definitely be a keeper! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I've always wondered whether it was possible to make a Gluten Free Bread that was as nice as the conventional ones. And I now know that the answer is a definite YES!! This bread is really easy to make and tastes great. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap 33 Oct 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Buckwheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.1
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    73%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 174.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free flour

    gluten free baking powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites