14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was surprised that a cornstarch-centric biscuit could be this tasty. Made them as drop biscuits, and they worked fine. Very impressive flavor, texture, and ease of cooking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganDave June 23, 2010

Made these for my wife, who is gluten-free, as breakfast on our anniversary. They were very light, fluffy, and tasty. The dough was even workable enough that I could use a cookie cutter to cut them into heart shapes. The person who posted that these are gummy/gooey must have messed up the recipe, because I followed the measurements precisely and mine came out fluffy, light, and airy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Son of Thunder December 31, 2012

This was one of the most gummy/gooey gf 'drop' biscuits I've ever tried making. I had my doubts about the ratio of ingredients listed here, but I precisely stuck to it anyways to see how it would turn out; I was right to doubt it. Calls for way too much baking powder and soda, and xanthan gum. I used to make that mistake when I first started gf baking, and things usually turned out gummy. Quick bread recipes should have approximately 1.5 to 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon or less of baking soda, and 3/4 teaspoon xanthan per 1 cup of flour/starch. Adjusting close to that ratio should bring the gummy texture down to the desired flaky texture without too much crumbling, but another binding agent such as an egg or egg whites would then be needed. Oh well, onto my next experimental recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoomzoomer April 05, 2012

This is a great recipe! My boyfriend (gluten intolerant) and I (gluten glutton) both loved them. I think they may even replace my mom's biscuits as favourite. I skipped the rolling and cutting of the dough, and just dropped it onto the cookie sheet. The result looked strange, but tasted fantastic. It's great to find such a simple gluten free recipe that doesn't require a lot of specialty ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippityhopwood January 15, 2012

I made this tonight and was pleasantly surprised. Very light and fluffy and easy to bake. I made drop biscuits and they were only in the oven for 15 mins. The whole family loved them, even those not GF.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becaroo January 09, 2012

I substituted sweet potato flour for the corn starch and added a little more milk 'cause the resulting dough was too dry. Also, I made them like drop biscuits instead of cutting them. They turned out amazing! Crunchy on the outside and moist and flaky on the inside. I planned on using the leftovers as the base of an egg strata but it's been a challenge not to eat the whole batch! The only change that I would make is freezing the butter and grating it instead of cutting it in to the flour mixture 'cause that was a lot of work.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glutenfreehokie May 23, 2011

AMAZING!!! I have been searching for a good gluten-free biscuit recipe for the past year and there is no need to look any further! Soft, tender, tasty biscuits that were very easy to make. I made them as drop biscuits, baked for about 13 min. and pulled out because they started to get golden. I used Earth Balance and rice milk in my recipe to fit the allergies at our house. Thank you so much for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
.michelle. January 20, 2011

Great recipe! I made them as drop biscuits and then realized I'd forgotten the butter. In a Hail Mary attempt to save them, I cut the butter and stuck it into the dough that was already on the pan! It worked! In 15 minutes I had light, crispy biscuits that tasted delicious but looked like moon rocks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresalin May 01, 2015

Tried this recipe and hit a home run the FIRST time. Family loved them. Only thing that I could hope for was that the biscuits rose a little more and had more gold on top. I'm a beginner and will try baking them longer and maybe adding a little yeast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohwiseman01952 June 09, 2014

Wow. My husband is gluten free, and one of the foods he misses is biscuits. I came across this recipe, and I liked that it didn't call for a myriad of gluten free flours. i followed the recipe exactly, and cut the biscuits into 6 squares. When they came out of the oven, they were moist and flaky on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Though I'm primal/paleo and try to avoid carbier bread products, I tried the one to see how it was and promptly had another with grass fed butter on it. I can't wait for my husband to get home and try them. He will certainly be impressed! Thanks for this great and easy recipe. I'd put this up against a McDonald's or KFC biscuit any day, and I doubt anyone could tell the difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vdm86 January 03, 2013
Gluten Free Biscuits