Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      I was surprised that a cornstarch-centric biscuit could be this tasty. Made them as drop biscuits, and they worked fine. Very impressive flavor, texture, and ease of cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Made these for my wife, who is gluten-free, as breakfast on our anniversary. They were very light, fluffy, and tasty. The dough was even workable enough that I could use a cookie cutter to cut them into heart shapes. The person who posted that these are gummy/gooey must have messed up the recipe, because I followed the measurements precisely and mine came out fluffy, light, and airy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      This was one of the most gummy/gooey gf 'drop' biscuits I've ever tried making. I had my doubts about the ratio of ingredients listed here, but I precisely stuck to it anyways to see how it would turn out; I was right to doubt it. Calls for way too much baking powder and soda, and xanthan gum. I used to make that mistake when I first started gf baking, and things usually turned out gummy. Quick bread recipes should have approximately 1.5 to 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon or less of baking soda, and 3/4 teaspoon xanthan per 1 cup of flour/starch. Adjusting close to that ratio should bring the gummy texture down to the desired flaky texture without too much crumbling, but another binding agent such as an egg or egg whites would then be needed. Oh well, onto my next experimental recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This is a great recipe! My boyfriend (gluten intolerant) and I (gluten glutton) both loved them. I think they may even replace my mom's biscuits as favourite. I skipped the rolling and cutting of the dough, and just dropped it onto the cookie sheet. The result looked strange, but tasted fantastic. It's great to find such a simple gluten free recipe that doesn't require a lot of specialty ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      I made this tonight and was pleasantly surprised. Very light and fluffy and easy to bake. I made drop biscuits and they were only in the oven for 15 mins. The whole family loved them, even those not GF.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      I substituted sweet potato flour for the corn starch and added a little more milk 'cause the resulting dough was too dry. Also, I made them like drop biscuits instead of cutting them. They turned out amazing! Crunchy on the outside and moist and flaky on the inside. I planned on using the leftovers as the base of an egg strata but it's been a challenge not to eat the whole batch! The only change that I would make is freezing the butter and grating it instead of cutting it in to the flour mixture 'cause that was a lot of work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      AMAZING!!! I have been searching for a good gluten-free biscuit recipe for the past year and there is no need to look any further! Soft, tender, tasty biscuits that were very easy to make. I made them as drop biscuits, baked for about 13 min. and pulled out because they started to get golden. I used Earth Balance and rice milk in my recipe to fit the allergies at our house. Thank you so much for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2014

      Tried this recipe and hit a home run the FIRST time. Family loved them. Only thing that I could hope for was that the biscuits rose a little more and had more gold on top. I'm a beginner and will try baking them longer and maybe adding a little yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Wow. My husband is gluten free, and one of the foods he misses is biscuits. I came across this recipe, and I liked that it didn't call for a myriad of gluten free flours. i followed the recipe exactly, and cut the biscuits into 6 squares. When they came out of the oven, they were moist and flaky on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Though I'm primal/paleo and try to avoid carbier bread products, I tried the one to see how it was and promptly had another with grass fed butter on it. I can't wait for my husband to get home and try them. He will certainly be impressed! Thanks for this great and easy recipe. I'd put this up against a McDonald's or KFC biscuit any day, and I doubt anyone could tell the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      I've been making GF biscuits and gravy, but my wife was always unhappy with the biscuits. When I made them, she actually went back for seconds. Her comment to me was, "These actually taste like biscuits!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      When I first mixed the ingredients I admit, I was disappointed. I was expecting a dough perfect for cutting perfectly round biscuits out of, and I had what appeared to be my Mother's Bisquick drop biscuit dough.

      I went ahead and formed my rectangle on my sheet baked them anyway, again, I was kinda disappointed by the appearance... Then I tasted them.

      Wow, these are so light, and fluffy for a GF biscuit, and very tasty! I paired them with Bob Evans Sausage gravy, and a couple of scrambled eggs, and it was truly delicious.

      Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      I must have put in too much baking soda but plain they tasted exactly Ike a pretzel. When I added butter and jam they were very good. I made them as drop biscuits and they were divine.I made them just for myself since I gave up real bread for lent. My nine year od gobbled them up. Why? Because they tasted just Iike pretzels and he lives pretzes. Will add to Normal rotation since without gluten one can not overwork the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      These are definately the best gluten free biscuits I have ever made! No "weird" smell or taste, just good. My Dad made homemade biscuits when I was growing up and they had a crunchy bottom, which I loved with butter and syrup. To get that crunch, I put about 1/4 cup of dough on a pile of white rice flour and patted it out to a circle 1/2 inch thick. Then I dipped them in a mixture of bacon grease and peanut oil, and put in the pan. You don't need to grease your pan first. They were golden brown in 17 minutes and were very yummy. Thanks for posting! My husband can now enjoy biscuits and (gluten free) sausage gravy again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.4
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    39%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 565.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites