22 Reviews

This was the first time I've ever made gluten free bread. It was an impulse recipe. I couldn't find my normal banana bread recipe and needed one and then I saw this, which was perfect because one of the women (my homeschool group was getting together at the park) that I was meeding has a gluten intolerance and I thought it would be nice if she could have some too because she always looked so glum when there was cake or other goodies and she couldn't have any. So I was excited when I saw this and how easy it was and that I had most of the ingredients. Any other recipes I've been interested in always called for too many exotic items that I didn't even know existed. Still I did have to make a few variants. I didn't have xantham or guar so I just added extra baking powder per the other reviews. I also didn't have any potato starch so I just subbed with corn starch. Oh, and I added extra banana. This came out so moist and yummy! Everyone loved and if one didn't know it was gluten free you would't know the difference. I did notice a slight acrid taste and I thought it was because I had added too much baking powder, which in fact I did! The kids and I stopped at the store on the way home to get some stuff my gluten intolerant friend recommended. I buy a lot of stuff in bulk and I realized that I needed baking soda but when I went to get I realized to my horror (I mix powder & soda up quite often) that what I thought was soda these many weeks was actually powder! (that's what I get for not lableing jars properly) I definitely had excess baking powder in it but it was still really good and came out perfect. The second loaf is in the oven right now! (With the proper ingredients so we'll see how this one works.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis July 11, 2008

We've been gluten free for 3.5 years and i use mixes for everything. I have not been able to make my own bread. No longer! This was so easy! I didn't have coriander but will get some. Thank you Thank you GinnyP!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Tip July 08, 2008

Foolproof! I made the recipe as written (with the addition of extra baking powder - 1/2t - on advice of previous reviewers). After I poured the batter in the pan, I realized I had not added the sugar. I went ahead and just added the brown sugar and restirred the batter. Even at my 7000 ft elevation, the bread came out very light and moist. A great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slaintz May 01, 2008

This is really good! We followed GlutenFreeGirl's advice and added an extra teaspoon of baking powder to reduce collapsing. The bread still collapsed a little bit, but not enough, in my opinion, to reduce a star. The coriander adds a really nice subtlety. We'll definitely make this again--and next time with nuts and chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamark April 25, 2008

When my husband was diagnosed with celiac disease I was afraid I would never be able to find a good gluten-free banana bread recipe. I tried one from another gluten-free cookbook that was so bad I had to throw it out but this one from Roben is wonderful. I've made it several times using xanthan gum and the recommended amount of baking powder and it always turns out great. I've learned not to meddle too much with ingredients in her recipes though because you never know how much one little change will affect how it turns out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
contactjessicaporter January 27, 2008

I LOVE THIS BREAD! Made with Chocolate Chips and right out of the oven! Light and fluffy! I do cut back a bit on the Cornstarch and add some rice flour - to compensate - this may stop the falling in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ukichix December 05, 2007

I thought it was strange that the recipe only called for starch. It fell in the oven, and became even flatter after cooling. The texture was more like sandwich bread rather than a sweet bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chads Woman September 08, 2007

I thought this loaf tasted great! I added an additional 1/2 cup of crushed flax seed to give it extra fibre and used 2 large bananas instead of small so that I could use less oil...wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandi.hildebrand June 04, 2007

This banana bread is amazing!! I always add an extra teaspoon of baking powder so that it does not collapse and add about 2 handfuls of chocolate chips. I love this recipe so much that I make up little ziplock bags with all the dry ingredients already measured and ready to go, so that when I want to have banana bread all I have to do is add the wet ingredients and it's ready in minutes!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlutenFreeGirl February 05, 2006

I gave this a 4 because the flavour was great, but would have given it a 5 if it hadn't dropped once it cooled down. But I'm still going to make it again, but will try a GF flour mix instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackandfiona October 24, 2005
Gluten-Free Banana Bread