Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2011

      This was not a good recipe. The texture was off, gooey and chalky at the same time. Definitely not something I would make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I really did not like it - the texture did not come out right, it was gooey and not "bread-like" at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Great gluten free recipe, my son loves it and it is so simple to make only takes minutes even he can make it. It does fall a bit when cooling but I haven't found too many gluten free recipies that don't fall or look weird but it is the taste that counts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This was so easy to make and soooo good the whole family loved it even those who hate banana bread :) so this deserves more than 5 stars. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      loved it!! i turned the heat up little more and halfed the amount of sugar as it had the sweetness of the banana already. It was easy to make and quick, its a really big hit with my family, and most importantly gluten free!! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

    • on March 20, 2009

      I have tried this recipe 3 times! 3 times and the same bad results! Collapsed and bitter taste! When I got the 1st try, I thought maybe because I had old baking powder. So, I did the 2nd try with new baking powder, tested and all, and 1 extra tsp.The result was the same, and I had to bake it about 1 hour because it was still so soggy after 40 minutes. Then on the 3rd try I added a little more brown sugar and potato starch, and it still the same bad result. I should have read all the reviews instead of reading the first 4 that said it was a wonderful recipe. Could someone pls tell me how to make it 'tasted delicious' and 'great', etc???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Tasted delicious right out of the oven, but was quite soggy inside. I added 1 extra tsp of baking powder but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Next time I will use less starch and some flour in its place.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Wow...I just made this and it is great. I substituted soya milk and added and extra tsp baking powder as per glutenfreegirl. I will keep this recipe for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I followed the recipie excactly, but I ended up with bread that wa soggy inside, and fell after removing it from the oven. I even let it bake an extra 10 min. What should I do differently?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This was the first time I've ever made gluten free bread. It was an impulse recipe. I couldn't find my normal banana bread recipe and needed one and then I saw this, which was perfect because one of the women (my homeschool group was getting together at the park) that I was meeding has a gluten intolerance and I thought it would be nice if she could have some too because she always looked so glum when there was cake or other goodies and she couldn't have any. So I was excited when I saw this and how easy it was and that I had most of the ingredients. Any other recipes I've been interested in always called for too many exotic items that I didn't even know existed. Still I did have to make a few variants. I didn't have xantham or guar so I just added extra baking powder per the other reviews. I also didn't have any potato starch so I just subbed with corn starch. Oh, and I added extra banana. This came out so moist and yummy! Everyone loved and if one didn't know it was gluten free you would't know the difference. I did notice a slight acrid taste and I thought it was because I had added too much baking powder, which in fact I did! The kids and I stopped at the store on the way home to get some stuff my gluten intolerant friend recommended. I buy a lot of stuff in bulk and I realized that I needed baking soda but when I went to get I realized to my horror (I mix powder & soda up quite often) that what I thought was soda these many weeks was actually powder! (that's what I get for not lableing jars properly) I definitely had excess baking powder in it but it was still really good and came out perfect. The second loaf is in the oven right now! (With the proper ingredients so we'll see how this one works.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      We've been gluten free for 3.5 years and i use mixes for everything. I have not been able to make my own bread. No longer! This was so easy! I didn't have coriander but will get some. Thank you Thank you GinnyP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Foolproof! I made the recipe as written (with the addition of extra baking powder - 1/2t - on advice of previous reviewers). After I poured the batter in the pan, I realized I had not added the sugar. I went ahead and just added the brown sugar and restirred the batter. Even at my 7000 ft elevation, the bread came out very light and moist. A great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      This is really good! We followed GlutenFreeGirl's advice and added an extra teaspoon of baking powder to reduce collapsing. The bread still collapsed a little bit, but not enough, in my opinion, to reduce a star. The coriander adds a really nice subtlety. We'll definitely make this again--and next time with nuts and chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      When my husband was diagnosed with celiac disease I was afraid I would never be able to find a good gluten-free banana bread recipe. I tried one from another gluten-free cookbook that was so bad I had to throw it out but this one from Roben is wonderful. I've made it several times using xanthan gum and the recommended amount of baking powder and it always turns out great. I've learned not to meddle too much with ingredients in her recipes though because you never know how much one little change will affect how it turns out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I LOVE THIS BREAD! Made with Chocolate Chips and right out of the oven! Light and fluffy! I do cut back a bit on the Cornstarch and add some rice flour - to compensate - this may stop the falling in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I thought it was strange that the recipe only called for starch. It fell in the oven, and became even flatter after cooling. The texture was more like sandwich bread rather than a sweet bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I thought this loaf tasted great! I added an additional 1/2 cup of crushed flax seed to give it extra fibre and used 2 large bananas instead of small so that I could use less oil...wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This banana bread is amazing!! I always add an extra teaspoon of baking powder so that it does not collapse and add about 2 handfuls of chocolate chips. I love this recipe so much that I make up little ziplock bags with all the dry ingredients already measured and ready to go, so that when I want to have banana bread all I have to do is add the wet ingredients and it's ready in minutes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I gave this a 4 because the flavour was great, but would have given it a 5 if it hadn't dropped once it cooled down. But I'm still going to make it again, but will try a GF flour mix instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (707 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1778.3
     
    Calories from Fat 585
    32%
    Total Fat 65.0 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 203.0 mg
    67%
    Sodium 2562.4 mg
    106%
    Total Carbohydrate 290.4 g
    96%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 134.4 g
    537%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    guar gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites