21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These bagels were great. I was a little skeptical at first because of the flour mixture, but the texture was better than I expected. I substituted tapioca flour for the cornstarch, used dairy free milk replacer, as well as egg replacer and they turned out great. Because I made my bagels larger I only got 3, so next time I will make a double batch so I can freeze the extras.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmet gluten free chef May 12, 2008

This was my very first attempt at GF Bagels and I was scared I would make some kind of mistake. I didnt know which yeast to use...rapid rise or regular so I used Rapid Rise. I just ran out of Potato Starch as well so I read someone used Tapioca Starch so I substituted that as well. I had everything else. I placed the bagels on the parchment paper to bake them and I had to bake 22 minutes to get them golden. They did come out YUMMY! I was surprised how easy this recipe is. I was scared as it seemed to easy. I thought you had to rise the bagels but they came out fine without that step. I immediately cut one in half and toasted it and spread on some yummy cream cheese for a delicious snack.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mchel210 April 28, 2012

I love these! I brushed them with an egg wash and sprinkled them with sesame seeds right before they went in the oven. I didn't have potato starch, so I tried using tapioca starch instead, and I really liked the results.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenlikesfood December 15, 2011

These turned out awesome! I added "everything" topping on before baking and they turned out very yummy. Next time I make them I would add the everything topping into the batter to get more flavor. These are a good blank canvas to add lots of flavors...even not gf people were impressed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina M. May 07, 2014

I followed the recipe exactly as written. There are a few changes I'd like to see made with this recipe just for clarity... first off, I'd rather have the measurements for the cornstarch and potato starch in weight rather than volume, it's more accurate and produces more consistent results. I'd also like to see the author list whether they intended for rapid rise or standard yeast to be used. I used standard and it worked out fine, but it's still good to know. Also the size of egg should be listed as well. So much in gluten free baking is a delicate balance of ingredients, it's important to be as accurate as possible. <br/><br/>With that said, I found the texture to be acceptable (though I'll try to refine my mixing and shaping to make a more smooth exterior). The taste, as others have mentioned, is pretty darn bland. A great canvas if you plan on adding flavors of your own, but not so great if you're just wanting plain bagels. When shaping, I found it helpful to dust my hands and a cutting board with cornstarch to make handling the dough easier. I may also try letting these rise after shaping for 15 minutes or so to see if some of the yeast-y flavor will develop. I did get 6 standard size bagels out of the recipe, which is excellent when the frozen Udi's bagels are nearly $7 for 4 at the only grocery store in the area that carries them.<br/><br/>I'm really overall fairly happy with the recipe. It's not without some flaws, but it's accessible enough for a beginner to try out and expect to get edible results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reeneejune March 16, 2014

I dearly love a good New York-style bagel. I have baked plain water bagels and pumpernickel bagels many times using recipes from KAF and "The Bread Baker's Apprentice", and "Secrets of a Jewish Baker". Being a household of one and not certain as to how these GF bagels would taste, I decided to test with half the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. Before baking, I brushed the tops with egg wash and sesame seeds. I was disappointed at how these turned out. The first problem is that the bagels were not done in the recipe's time range. I ended up with about 26-1/2 minutes before they were nicely browned. I was concerned about the 375-degree temperature because my other bagel recipes use 425. This concern was supported by the fact that the bagels were a little doughy despite the longer baking time. I made sure to gauge the temperature with an oven thermometer. If I decide to make these again, I will use the higher temperature. The is not likely because in addition to the texture problems, the taste was just not good. After spreading one with cream cheese and trying my best to like it, I ended up throwing them into the trash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CTHELITE January 31, 2013

Sorry, but unless something was left off the recipe, as posted, there very dry and didn't taste like any non GF bagel I've ever eaten. I followed the recipe as posted, but had to add more milk to dry ingrediants to get dough to stay together. If I ever attempt this recipe again I'll substitute some of the starches with almond or coconut flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikejs27834 January 27, 2013

These came out tasting very salty. I wanted to try to replicate my daughter's favorite blueberry bagels, so I added cinnamon with the blueberries. I didn't want to crush the berries when forming the bagels so I didn't get a smooth texture - they were rather lumpy looking which turned my daughter off. The texture was very nice, so next time I will experiment a little more to get the right flavor and smoothness of the bagels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serri2_12884265 May 24, 2011

This turned out pretty good. I did the recipe as written, but added some sugar to the boiling salt water as another reviewer added. They were a little doughy/chewy. I didn't mind a plain flavor because we like to make sandwiches out of them. My complaint is that the recipe could use some more details for me. I would have mixed the dry ingredients together first before I added them altogether to the wet mix. I would like to know how thick to make the bagels before dropping them in the boiling water and/or at least what to look for once they are in the boiling water. For mine 1 minute didn't seem to be long enough, but I didn't quite know what I was looking for. I thought perhaps that that was why they were still doughy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joelle S. May 13, 2011

This is the first time that I have made GF bagels. They are soooo easy to make. I made exactly as the recipe called for. I was concerned because the recipe doesn't call for rising but trusted the recipe and they worked out great. I usually buy Udis but can't find them in this part of Florida. These are not as light but they are a whole lot less expensive. Udis cost about $5.00 for four and I figure this recipe cost about $1,50 for six to make.
These bagels make excellent sandwiches. They were a little bland for plain with cream cheese. I noticed a slight metallic taste. My baking powder and baking soda were expired so next time will use fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gf free to b me January 29, 2011
Gluten Free Bagels