45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank God for this recipe! My daughter just started a gluten free diet and these were just the pep up she needed. They are chewy and bread like and just what she was missing. I followed the directions exactly and they came out better than any wheat cookie I've ever had.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timber_newton_interiors September 10, 2008

I changed it to much to rate it. I replaced the butter with coconut oil and two teaspoons of grapeseed oil, the rice flour with ground gf oats, the soy with pinto bean flour and somehow ended up with cookies that taste like herring.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef# 616082 September 10, 2008

These were quite good. I used all brown rice flour and 3/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c sugar as we like chewy cookies here. I cooked them at 350 for 10 minutes and got 32 cookies. This is a great way to use up the rice flour I had to buy for another recipe, thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth August 22, 2008

We absolutely loved these! The only problem we had was the cooking time, it was too long for us and the first batch came out way over cooked. Also, ours didn't flatten out at all, just stayed as little balls...dunno if it was just me or what! Regardless of the shape, they were tasty!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JESMom August 04, 2008

I used butter instead of margarine. They were chewy and flavorful. They have a bit of a "different" aftertaste (not bad, just different) that I can't put my finger on... But are all around quite tasty! They must be, cause I just ate 6 for breakfast (oops.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
What's Cooking? January 08, 2007

These were wonderful. They taste just like wheat flour cookies. I replaced a 1/4 cup of the soy flour with potato flour, as I find soy flour bitter sometimes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackandfiona December 01, 2005

These are awesome! Just how I like my chocolate chip cookies, crispy on the outside, yet still nice and chewy. Instead of the rice and soy flours, I used 1 1/2 cups of my own gluten-free flour blend. I didn't even use any xanthan or guar gum, and they held together fine! I also used real butter instead of margarine and dark chocolate chips. To prevent the cookies from spreading too much, I chilled the dough and cookie sheet after rolling into balls. Check the cookies after baking 10 minutes, because that's when my cookies were done!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks September 26, 2013

Just made these tonight. I've only been diagnosed for 3 months but that has been long enough to run into some really awful food. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe. I was out of gluten free chocolate chips so I just used extra walnuts. They were still so good I almost cried. I was an avid baker pre-diagnosis and I thought those days were over for good. This recipe has given me hope that I might be able to relearn how to bake. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtpckts August 11, 2013

I made these for some family members who are gluten intolerant. A few days later I got the review--they loved them! I used Bob's Red Mill GF flour, half sugar/Splenda & had none of that "gum" but they held together fine. Baking time was good & they really do look like the real deal! Thank you for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS July 28, 2010

Delicious. Easy to make and taste excellent. I did it with 1/2 cup chocolate chips. My husband loves everything I have made so far.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathtony99 April 30, 2010
Gluten Free Awesome Chocolate Chip Cookies