46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really like these. I used 3/4 cup brown rice flour, and 3/4 cup gluten free flour mix (rice flour, tapioca starch, potato starch) I also used flax seed egg replacer. Thank you for posting this great, forgiving recipe. I used mini chocolate chips (2/3 cup) and would use 1/2 cup next time.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose June 28, 2009

I recently found out that I can't handle gluten, and having a sweet tooth I thought I was going to die! Luckily I found this recipe. However I used real butter, and 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown-using brown sugar creates a chewier cookie. I also used Bob's Red Mill GF flour. They turned out very yummy and even my sceptic boyfriend liked them :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breanna in T.O April 02, 2008

Last week my DH was told by his GP to knock off gluten. The first time I made these cookies I used a GF flour mix instead of the soy flour and they turned out very well, maybe a little too crunchy and spread out, but delicious. I noticed in reading the rest of the reviews that many cooks substituted other flours, mostly with no ill effects. One week later, I used canola oil instead of margarine and they came out even better than the first time, didn't spread out so much and look just like our old gluten chocolate chip cookies. Thank you, these are now a staple in our house.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yankiwi May 14, 2009

compared with any other gluten free recipe I have tried these are definately five stars. Whenever I try a new wheat free recipe I add a little cocoa powder to hide some of the flavor, just in case. I used about 1/4 c. cocoa in place of the flour. I didn't notice an odd aftertaste even with the soy! My first batch got a little charred on the bottom so I lowered the temp. to 350, worked well. Made 28. Thank you sooooooo much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simonich February 07, 2008

The cookies are good, but 1 1/2 tsp of xanthum gum needs to be added to help the cookies hold together better. GF baking always needs some kind of xanthum or guar gum or even pre-gel starch added to it to make it hold together well and not crumble or fall. The typical ratio is 1 tsp for every cup of flour used.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inhishad0 June 23, 2009

Amazing cookies! These are so good that it doesn't matter if they are gluten free or not. Everyone should eat these!! All of my friends and family love these cookies as well or better than traditional chocolate chip cookies and they have the added benefit of being healthier than a regular cookie. As a side note; I use butter instead of marg. and brown rice flour for added nutrition. Oh, and whatever you do don't be tempted to eat the dough raw!! It tastes completely different once it's cooked! ;) You will not be disappointed! Make these cookies!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claybowls April 23, 2009

Awesome!! Been looking for a great gfcf cookie for 1.5 years and finally found it! Following other reviews I made 2 changes, I used potato flour instead of soy and also added the xanthan gum 3/4t. My cookies didn't flatten, they stayed in the ball but they tasted great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdbutters July 12, 2010

Loved it! They actually come out as cookies! This beats buying a premade mix. Some changes i made due to other dietary restriction or b/c of what i had on hand: 1/2C of applesauce instead of the egg - Added 1/2 tsp of guar gum - used Bobs Red Mill Flour - shortening in place of the margarine. Still came out wonderful! Next time, I'll cut out the guar gum to see if its really necessary. I'll also try out an oil instead of the shortening. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peanutprincesses June 11, 2010

This one is a keeper... used other reviewers suggestions and substituted Brown Rice flour for the Soy flour. Couldn't ask for a better GF alternative. Thanks for the post!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ukichix September 05, 2009

These were tasty and very reminiscent of "real" chocolate chip cookies. I liked them even better the next day when they were a little crunchier. Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway November 11, 2008
Gluten Free Awesome Chocolate Chip Cookies