Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Awesome Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Awesome Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2009

      We really like these. I used 3/4 cup brown rice flour, and 3/4 cup gluten free flour mix (rice flour, tapioca starch, potato starch) I also used flax seed egg replacer. Thank you for posting this great, forgiving recipe. I used mini chocolate chips (2/3 cup) and would use 1/2 cup next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I recently found out that I can't handle gluten, and having a sweet tooth I thought I was going to die! Luckily I found this recipe. However I used real butter, and 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown-using brown sugar creates a chewier cookie. I also used Bob's Red Mill GF flour. They turned out very yummy and even my sceptic boyfriend liked them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Last week my DH was told by his GP to knock off gluten. The first time I made these cookies I used a GF flour mix instead of the soy flour and they turned out very well, maybe a little too crunchy and spread out, but delicious. I noticed in reading the rest of the reviews that many cooks substituted other flours, mostly with no ill effects. One week later, I used canola oil instead of margarine and they came out even better than the first time, didn't spread out so much and look just like our old gluten chocolate chip cookies. Thank you, these are now a staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      compared with any other gluten free recipe I have tried these are definately five stars. Whenever I try a new wheat free recipe I add a little cocoa powder to hide some of the flavor, just in case. I used about 1/4 c. cocoa in place of the flour. I didn't notice an odd aftertaste even with the soy! My first batch got a little charred on the bottom so I lowered the temp. to 350, worked well. Made 28. Thank you sooooooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      The cookies are good, but 1 1/2 tsp of xanthum gum needs to be added to help the cookies hold together better. GF baking always needs some kind of xanthum or guar gum or even pre-gel starch added to it to make it hold together well and not crumble or fall. The typical ratio is 1 tsp for every cup of flour used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Amazing cookies! These are so good that it doesn't matter if they are gluten free or not. Everyone should eat these!! All of my friends and family love these cookies as well or better than traditional chocolate chip cookies and they have the added benefit of being healthier than a regular cookie. As a side note; I use butter instead of marg. and brown rice flour for added nutrition. Oh, and whatever you do don't be tempted to eat the dough raw!! It tastes completely different once it's cooked! ;) You will not be disappointed! Make these cookies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Awesome!! Been looking for a great gfcf cookie for 1.5 years and finally found it! Following other reviews I made 2 changes, I used potato flour instead of soy and also added the xanthan gum 3/4t. My cookies didn't flatten, they stayed in the ball but they tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Loved it! They actually come out as cookies! This beats buying a premade mix. Some changes i made due to other dietary restriction or b/c of what i had on hand: 1/2C of applesauce instead of the egg - Added 1/2 tsp of guar gum - used Bobs Red Mill Flour - shortening in place of the margarine. Still came out wonderful! Next time, I'll cut out the guar gum to see if its really necessary. I'll also try out an oil instead of the shortening. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This one is a keeper... used other reviewers suggestions and substituted Brown Rice flour for the Soy flour. Couldn't ask for a better GF alternative. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      These were tasty and very reminiscent of "real" chocolate chip cookies. I liked them even better the next day when they were a little crunchier. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Thank God for this recipe! My daughter just started a gluten free diet and these were just the pep up she needed. They are chewy and bread like and just what she was missing. I followed the directions exactly and they came out better than any wheat cookie I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      I changed it to much to rate it. I replaced the butter with coconut oil and two teaspoons of grapeseed oil, the rice flour with ground gf oats, the soy with pinto bean flour and somehow ended up with cookies that taste like herring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      These were quite good. I used all brown rice flour and 3/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c sugar as we like chewy cookies here. I cooked them at 350 for 10 minutes and got 32 cookies. This is a great way to use up the rice flour I had to buy for another recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      We absolutely loved these! The only problem we had was the cooking time, it was too long for us and the first batch came out way over cooked. Also, ours didn't flatten out at all, just stayed as little balls...dunno if it was just me or what! Regardless of the shape, they were tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I used butter instead of margarine. They were chewy and flavorful. They have a bit of a "different" aftertaste (not bad, just different) that I can't put my finger on... But are all around quite tasty! They must be, cause I just ate 6 for breakfast (oops.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      These were wonderful. They taste just like wheat flour cookies. I replaced a 1/4 cup of the soy flour with potato flour, as I find soy flour bitter sometimes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      These are awesome! Just how I like my chocolate chip cookies, crispy on the outside, yet still nice and chewy. Instead of the rice and soy flours, I used 1 1/2 cups of my own gluten-free flour blend. I didn't even use any xanthan or guar gum, and they held together fine! I also used real butter instead of margarine and dark chocolate chips. To prevent the cookies from spreading too much, I chilled the dough and cookie sheet after rolling into balls. Check the cookies after baking 10 minutes, because that's when my cookies were done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Just made these tonight. I've only been diagnosed for 3 months but that has been long enough to run into some really awful food. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe. I was out of gluten free chocolate chips so I just used extra walnuts. They were still so good I almost cried. I was an avid baker pre-diagnosis and I thought those days were over for good. This recipe has given me hope that I might be able to relearn how to bake. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      I made these for some family members who are gluten intolerant. A few days later I got the review--they loved them! I used Bob's Red Mill GF flour, half sugar/Splenda & had none of that "gum" but they held together fine. Baking time was good & they really do look like the real deal! Thank you for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Delicious. Easy to make and taste excellent. I did it with 1/2 cup chocolate chips. My husband loves everything I have made so far.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Awesome Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.0
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    37%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 204.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 24.8 g
    99%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes