Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2009

      This is the best Gluten Free Apple Cake I have yet tried. I didn't have any tapioca flour so used chick pea flour instead and it turned out light and delicious. I had rice flour and potato starch. You have to be careful that baking powder used is also Gluten free as they are not all without wheat gluten. It's worth mentioning that as you can easily get gluten creep into a recipe without knowing it. The end result wasn't dry or heavy which is the fault that many of them have. It literally melted in the mouth and the simulation of gluten was perfect from using xantham gum. I rate this the best tasting Gluten Free Apple cake I've ever made. I have at least 6 recipes and tried them all over the years. I give this one 5 stars. It's superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This cake was really good! Amazing light texture, not heavy at all like some gluten free items may be. I followed the recipe exactly and served it with a cream cheese frosting, but a taste tester (non-GF baker friend) said the cake was fantastic on it's own as well! The only suggestion I would make would be to add vanilla extract to the batter and perhaps some nutmeg or cloves and allspice to create a more autumnal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I have NEVER, EVER reviewed any recipe or anything on-line as long as I have had a computer and email which has been over 20 years. HOWEVER, I became a member of Food.com just to comment on this particular recipe. My granddaughter has Celiac and her brother is lactose intolerant (fun & games in the kitchen!). I have been baking for them since their diagnoses and have tried many, many recipes. Well, I wanted a GF apple cake recipe and found this highly rated one on GFgirl. I had to make some adjustments for the lactose intolerance so I substituted almond butter for the dairy butter and plain water for the milk and put a wee bit more apple in because they love apples. I lightly sprinkled powdered sugar on top before serving. Ten minutes later, no more cake and most of it eaten by the non-GF family members. I have been begged to make another one for tomorrow. Thanks, GFGirl - you rock! Hey, writing a review isn't so hard after all! You have not heard the last from me :-D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      This was sooo good! I used granny smith apples and did a crumb topping (GF oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and butter). It hit the spot and my wheat-loving bf ate half the cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Delicious. I made this in a smaller deep pan and made some ingredient changes which somehow made it a puddingy type cake. It was extremely good warm and room temperature. I used only dark brown sugar and added 1/3 cup chopped pecans in the batter. I also put a strudel made of pecans/white rice flour/canola oil/and brown sugar in the middle and on top which created a nice crunch. Instead of potato starch (because I need to buy one which is sulfate free) I used 1/3 cup tapioca starch with 1/4 cup extra white rice flour. (I think tapioca is more glutinous thats why I reduced it) I didnt add any vanilla as I had none. So I flavoured it a different way, I substituted egg replacer for the eggs of which I used mango nectar for the liquid part. Also in replacement of the milk I used orange juice because we are dairy free. I replaced the butter with canola oil. I did have to cook it 15 extra minutes because of the pan I think. I used 1 1/2 macintosh apples chopped as apposed to shredded. We ate it warm in a bowl with a spoon the first day and room temperature the second and that was to die for! I will make this again possibly as per your recipe to see the differance.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      A hit, in spite of crumbling...maybe moreso because I used cornstarch instead of xanthum gum? Still tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Excellent! This apple cake was the lightest, moistest GF cake I've ever made! It was very tasty without changing anything in the recipe. I skipped the frosting and topped with thin apple slices. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      This is so moist and tasty that the only way to know it is gluten-free is from having personally baked it. I use organic Gala apples and make a 9x5x3 loaf so it's easier to take along to share with other GF folks at events. The loaf takes about 65 minutes to bake in a glass pan at 325 degrees. By letting it cool thoroughly before cutting, it wasn't very crumbly at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I can't say enough good things about this cake! It turned out fabulous! I made it in a 9" springform pan and frosted it with 1/2 of Cream Cheese Frosting . This recipe is one we'll definitely make again and again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I made this cake for my son's first birthday because of a sensitivity to wheat. It was my first gluten free cake. It tasted wonderful! And so moist! Used a chocolate powdered sugar icing drizzled on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      The batter was finger licking good! I used 1/4 white rice flour, 1/4 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup sorghum flour (as sub for the rice flour to add nutrition). Turned out great, moist and yummy! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      I've taken this to two dinner parties and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This was fantastic! I made the recipe into muffins per a previous review and sprinkled a cin./sugar mixture over top, about 20 minutes into cooking (total cooking time 35min.). So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      a very nice moist cake. i used it for cupcakes at work and no one was the wiser. thanks for a tasty treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      WOW!! I used Splenda for the sugar but didn't alter it otherwise. I kept the apples kind of chunky, too, more like minced instead of shredded. This was such a delicious cake I can't believe it. You are right, it would be nice with an icing of some sort, I'm thinking cinnimon drizzled on top! I'm definitely making this for the holidays. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.1
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    36%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 69.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 315.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 23.7 g
    95%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites