16 Reviews

I have NEVER, EVER reviewed any recipe or anything on-line as long as I have had a computer and email which has been over 20 years. HOWEVER, I became a member of Food.com just to comment on this particular recipe. My granddaughter has Celiac and her brother is lactose intolerant (fun & games in the kitchen!). I have been baking for them since their diagnoses and have tried many, many recipes. Well, I wanted a GF apple cake recipe and found this highly rated one on GFgirl. I had to make some adjustments for the lactose intolerance so I substituted almond butter for the dairy butter and plain water for the milk and put a wee bit more apple in because they love apples. I lightly sprinkled powdered sugar on top before serving. Ten minutes later, no more cake and most of it eaten by the non-GF family members. I have been begged to make another one for tomorrow. Thanks, GFGirl - you rock! Hey, writing a review isn't so hard after all! You have not heard the last from me :-D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
munchkin613 June 07, 2011

This is the best Gluten Free Apple Cake I have yet tried. I didn't have any tapioca flour so used chick pea flour instead and it turned out light and delicious. I had rice flour and potato starch. You have to be careful that baking powder used is also Gluten free as they are not all without wheat gluten. It's worth mentioning that as you can easily get gluten creep into a recipe without knowing it. The end result wasn't dry or heavy which is the fault that many of them have. It literally melted in the mouth and the simulation of gluten was perfect from using xantham gum. I rate this the best tasting Gluten Free Apple cake I've ever made. I have at least 6 recipes and tried them all over the years. I give this one 5 stars. It's superb.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plado December 20, 2009

This cake was really good! Amazing light texture, not heavy at all like some gluten free items may be. I followed the recipe exactly and served it with a cream cheese frosting, but a taste tester (non-GF baker friend) said the cake was fantastic on it's own as well! The only suggestion I would make would be to add vanilla extract to the batter and perhaps some nutmeg or cloves and allspice to create a more autumnal taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taurean September 20, 2009

This was sooo good! I used granny smith apples and did a crumb topping (GF oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and butter). It hit the spot and my wheat-loving bf ate half the cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenlikesfood December 10, 2010

Delicious. I made this in a smaller deep pan and made some ingredient changes which somehow made it a puddingy type cake. It was extremely good warm and room temperature. I used only dark brown sugar and added 1/3 cup chopped pecans in the batter. I also put a strudel made of pecans/white rice flour/canola oil/and brown sugar in the middle and on top which created a nice crunch. Instead of potato starch (because I need to buy one which is sulfate free) I used 1/3 cup tapioca starch with 1/4 cup extra white rice flour. (I think tapioca is more glutinous thats why I reduced it) I didnt add any vanilla as I had none. So I flavoured it a different way, I substituted egg replacer for the eggs of which I used mango nectar for the liquid part. Also in replacement of the milk I used orange juice because we are dairy free. I replaced the butter with canola oil. I did have to cook it 15 extra minutes because of the pan I think. I used 1 1/2 macintosh apples chopped as apposed to shredded. We ate it warm in a bowl with a spoon the first day and room temperature the second and that was to die for! I will make this again possibly as per your recipe to see the differance.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 28, 2009

Very Good tasting and a great way to use up apples at harvest time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swampangel_777 December 16, 2015

A hit, in spite of crumbling...maybe moreso because I used cornstarch instead of xanthum gum? Still tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ookalay September 24, 2012

Excellent! This apple cake was the lightest, moistest GF cake I've ever made! It was very tasty without changing anything in the recipe. I skipped the frosting and topped with thin apple slices. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catkoehn December 11, 2011

This is so moist and tasty that the only way to know it is gluten-free is from having personally baked it. I use organic Gala apples and make a 9x5x3 loaf so it's easier to take along to share with other GF folks at events. The loaf takes about 65 minutes to bake in a glass pan at 325 degrees. By letting it cool thoroughly before cutting, it wasn't very crumbly at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Max's Grandma March 21, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this cake! It turned out fabulous! I made it in a 9" springform pan and frosted it with 1/2 of Cream Cheese Frosting . This recipe is one we'll definitely make again and again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrisbee January 04, 2009
Gluten Free Apple Cake