Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Angel Food Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Angel Food Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2010

      My grandmother is an angel food cake expert, so I went in search of something that would hopefully come close to the ones I remembered as a kid. And this did not disappoint! It was light and fluffy with a slight stickyness to it. Perfect taste! The bottom of mine fell a little bit but I wasn't bothered as it only fell about a 1/4 of an inch. I didn't have any potato starch so I used rice flour instead and it turned out really well. Even my coworkers didn't know it was gluten free until I said something.

      One of the key things to angel food is to know how to cut it. Use a sharp non serrated knife and gently saw back and forth until you reach the bottom.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This looks great but the top burned really bad, I would suggest writing into the recipe to place it on the bottom shelf of the oven. Hope the flavor is good. Thankfully I am cutting it up. Will try again now that I know to put it on bottom shelf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Loved this recipe, brought it to a bbq last night, and no one knew it was GF until I told them. They all asked for the recipe. One person even put a slice on the grill, tasted like a toasted marshmallow! YUMM. It did fall but I didn't care, but probably would cook at a lower temp for a little longer. We put fresh fruit and real whipped cream on top. It was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Great recipe! I went a head and reduced oven temp to 350 and baked for 1 hour- it was a little burnt on the top but otherwise, perfect! The cake came out of the pan just fine and, best of all, tasted GREAT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Hmmmm. This was my 1st time making angel food cake of any kind. It was WAY over done on the sides/bottom. I actually had to peel away the semi-burned outside. It was also uncuttable. It would just compress like a squishy white bread does. The taste was super yummy though. Thankfully I was able to use it as I needed cubes - I just peeled the outside off and ripped apart. Maybe cooking it at 350* for 50 minutes would have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      We'd give this 5 stars for taste but 3 stars for presentation, so 4 stars is our average. Like most other reviewers, we found that this cake fell in a major way--both from the top and the bottom--very quickly after coming out of the oven. However, it tasted FANTASTIC. Our houseguest--who isn't gluten-free--ate three pieces and said it was a bit denser and less sticky than conventional angel food bought in the grocery store, but that she preferred our cake. The only change we made to the recipe was replacing the almond extract (because we were out) with rose water; we weren't really able to taste a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I made this for my son's first birthday. Because of nightshade intolerance I had to substitue tapioca starch for potato starch. The flavor was good, but it FELL big time. It rises very high (put it on the bottom shelf and take the top shelf out). Then it fell out of the pan onto the counter as it cooled (upside down on a bottle). I would suggest the baking time is far off. I baked it for 45 minutes. Next time I'll reduce the temp to 350 and bake for an hour like regular angel food cakes. Fortunately a one year old doesn't care what his cake looks like. I will try again as the flavor is very close to a non-gf cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      Mine also fell from the bottom up, but was still tall, light, fluffy and tasted just like regular angel food cake. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      After reading the reviews of the others i was really hoping that this would be a nice rising cake. For whatever reason the cake did rise, but when i went to take it out of the pan i realized that it had fallen from the bottom up. I'm not quite sure what happend since my other angel food cakes fell from the top down when i was making them. Besides that top heavy cake, the taste was spot on and i am going to try this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This was perfect. Just like normal angel food cake. I had a smaller cake pan so i cut the recipe in half, turned out just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Fabulous! I have REALLY missed angel food cake, and I wanted to make mini trifles for a girls night, and so I made this and then used Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle. Yummy!! This tastes just like regular angel food cake. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      This cake is SO much better than any I've tried. It rose SO BEAUTIFULLY! It has a very nice taste to it. Just make sure you don't let it get knocked off the counter when it's cooling like mine did. I WILL be making this again! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Angel Food Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 108.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    96%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 118.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    guar gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites