13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My grandmother is an angel food cake expert, so I went in search of something that would hopefully come close to the ones I remembered as a kid. And this did not disappoint! It was light and fluffy with a slight stickyness to it. Perfect taste! The bottom of mine fell a little bit but I wasn't bothered as it only fell about a 1/4 of an inch. I didn't have any potato starch so I used rice flour instead and it turned out really well. Even my coworkers didn't know it was gluten free until I said something.

One of the key things to angel food is to know how to cut it. Use a sharp non serrated knife and gently saw back and forth until you reach the bottom.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lime_119 August 05, 2010

This looks great but the top burned really bad, I would suggest writing into the recipe to place it on the bottom shelf of the oven. Hope the flavor is good. Thankfully I am cutting it up. Will try again now that I know to put it on bottom shelf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hiwalton December 31, 2011

Loved this recipe, brought it to a bbq last night, and no one knew it was GF until I told them. They all asked for the recipe. One person even put a slice on the grill, tasted like a toasted marshmallow! YUMM. It did fall but I didn't care, but probably would cook at a lower temp for a little longer. We put fresh fruit and real whipped cream on top. It was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanne62103 September 05, 2011

Great recipe! I went a head and reduced oven temp to 350 and baked for 1 hour- it was a little burnt on the top but otherwise, perfect! The cake came out of the pan just fine and, best of all, tasted GREAT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoleneC July 01, 2010

Hmmmm. This was my 1st time making angel food cake of any kind. It was WAY over done on the sides/bottom. I actually had to peel away the semi-burned outside. It was also uncuttable. It would just compress like a squishy white bread does. The taste was super yummy though. Thankfully I was able to use it as I needed cubes - I just peeled the outside off and ripped apart. Maybe cooking it at 350* for 50 minutes would have been better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker June 29, 2010

We'd give this 5 stars for taste but 3 stars for presentation, so 4 stars is our average. Like most other reviewers, we found that this cake fell in a major way--both from the top and the bottom--very quickly after coming out of the oven. However, it tasted FANTASTIC. Our houseguest--who isn't gluten-free--ate three pieces and said it was a bit denser and less sticky than conventional angel food bought in the grocery store, but that she preferred our cake. The only change we made to the recipe was replacing the almond extract (because we were out) with rose water; we weren't really able to taste a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamark December 11, 2009

I made this for my son's first birthday. Because of nightshade intolerance I had to substitue tapioca starch for potato starch. The flavor was good, but it FELL big time. It rises very high (put it on the bottom shelf and take the top shelf out). Then it fell out of the pan onto the counter as it cooled (upside down on a bottle). I would suggest the baking time is far off. I baked it for 45 minutes. Next time I'll reduce the temp to 350 and bake for an hour like regular angel food cakes. Fortunately a one year old doesn't care what his cake looks like. I will try again as the flavor is very close to a non-gf cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terradr May 07, 2009

Mine also fell from the bottom up, but was still tall, light, fluffy and tasted just like regular angel food cake. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 May 19, 2008

After reading the reviews of the others i was really hoping that this would be a nice rising cake. For whatever reason the cake did rise, but when i went to take it out of the pan i realized that it had fallen from the bottom up. I'm not quite sure what happend since my other angel food cakes fell from the top down when i was making them. Besides that top heavy cake, the taste was spot on and i am going to try this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisann09 April 02, 2008

This was perfect. Just like normal angel food cake. I had a smaller cake pan so i cut the recipe in half, turned out just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valgal123 March 19, 2008
Gluten Free Angel Food Cake