Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gloria's Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gloria's Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2003

      Oh my gosh, these are excellent refried beans. I would give you 10 stars if I could. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Delish! I soaked mine overnight - used about 5 strips of diced bacon (and the drippings) - tossed in a dash of garlic and chili powder. Don't be worried if it seems like you have a lot of liquid when you start mashing the beans - it will disappear as you mash and finish cooking the beans. I mashed mine until they were almost the consistency of mashed potatoes. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      These are fantastic! Very easy to make and as authentic as a favorite Mexican restaurant we go to. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      Tasted just like the mexican restaurant down the street.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      These are the best refried beans I have ever made! Just like going out and eating! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Very good refried beans! I skipped the bacon fat, since I'm watching my calories, but this was still a great dish. I left the mixture very chunky, as I like to have some whole beans in the mix. I just crushed enough beans to thicken the mix, and got the same taste and texture that I get at my local Mexican place. Next time I'd add some cumin and tabasco if I was serving as a side dish, but as part of a filling for burritos, it was perfect as is. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      These are good. I really liked thenm with the bacon drippings. The flavor was outstanding. Thank you for sharing, this beats the canned variety hands down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This recipe was made on 11/16/09 as part of our dinner. Except for cutting in half, the recipe was made as written. After the beans were finished and salt was added to taste, we still felt like finished dish was misssing that "certain something ". But these were served with 10 Minute Cheesy Mexican Rice and Tamale Casserole. And all combined together made a very nice Mexican style dinner. Thanks for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Yummy, easy recipe. I substituted olive oil and a little liquid smoke and beef bouillon powder for the bacon grease. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I made these a few months ago along with homemade tortillas. It was my first time cooking either one and it was fabulous! Thanks for sharing. Being a family on a budget we are always looking for tasty food that fits our family budget. Definately a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      I have tried to make refried beans from scratch before. They were ok. I loved this recipe they taste so good. I will be making this again. I hate onions but I couldn't tell they were in there and i used a big onion. Perfect recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Instead of bacon drippings I used 1/2 c. olive oil and used about 1/2 a jar of bacon pieces. I just sauteed the bacon in the oil for a few mins. to infuse the flavors. I left the meat right in the oil, then I just put in with the beans. Worked great! These are great, and using the olive oil is healthier than using the bacon drippings and just as tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Authentic and delicious! We really enjoyed them with our Mexican dinner last night. Sally

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      WOW but these beans are GREAT.. I won't use canned again that is for sure.. I DID use the bacon grease & LOVED these beans.. THANK YOU for a easy and wonderful recipe..yum yum yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      We loved these - very easy and delicious. Unless your diet dictates otherwise, suck it up and use the bacon fat! I took the badness even further and melted some butter into the finished beans, along with a few dashes of hot sauce. These freeze very well too - I made an extra big batch for a party and froze the leftovers in smaller portions. That worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Fantastic and easy. The first time I made these I used the bacon fat and they turned out great. The second time I skipped the bacon fat to reduce calories and I still liked them. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      These beans are awesome. I am so glad I finally found a recipe that comes out just the way I want. I finally realized that I need to cook the beans more than I thought. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      I can't have the sodium nitrate in bacon, so I used olive oil instead and I added a few dashes of tabasco and a little onion powder because I wanted that a little stronger. I really want to stresss if you're a novice at cooking beans (as I am) that you make sure your beans are ultra soft before you mash them, mine were a little bit al dente and that changes the texture of this recipe. This is the best recipe I've found for refried beans. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gloria's Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.4
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    38%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 39.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 12.0 g
    48%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes