25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these a few days ago as a hostess gift and they were a hit. If I promise to bring more I'm invited back every week! I made one batch according to the original recipe, but made another batch with whole pecans and whole almonds, and added some apple pie spice to the sugar. It raised these nuts to a new level!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj January 07, 2002

Great recipe! I added this into my holiday goodie basket and everyone ate them up! I love the way the sugar and salt blend perfectly. Thank you for the recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeliWif December 20, 2002

Aha! I''ve just finished making these and these are OUT OF THE WORLD, They are amazing! So easy to make, you''ve sure made Christmas Merry with these:)!!! Thank You for this excellent ultra-cool recipe! MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani December 25, 2001

Karen, Thank you for this recipe. it was so easy and tasted so good. Could not stop eating these. Everytime I went in the kitchen I had to grab a few. Thanks again

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula giles December 16, 2001

I made a double batch for a dinner party, and it definitely wasn't enough! I used almonds, pecans and walnuts. Excellent recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny233 March 17, 2003

My husband rates this 5 stars, it turned out like a nut brittle. Very easy to make, I used almonds, pecans, and walnuts.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnB January 12, 2003

These tasted very good and looked pretty. I did have some problems with getting the sugar to melt, though. I am thinking that maybe next time I will add a tablespoon or two of corn syrup. The sugar did finally melt, but it took 45 minutes of cooking on medium, and by that time the nuts were on the verge of being too darkly toasted. I also wonder if using cane sugar versus beet sugar would make a difference in the way it melts. Here in Montana the majority of our sugar is beet since it is a local crop. Cane sugar is available but it costs twice as much.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna M. December 23, 2002

These are great! I made my husband try one now they are almost gone! I'm going to try some apple spice on the next batch. Thanks for the great snack idea!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom December 22, 2002

I actually tried this recipe out and I have my mother to thank for finding this recipe. With all of the positive reviews it was given, she was intrigued and in need of a successful and tasty dish to give to her friends over the holiday season. I also had a little bit of trouble getting our sugar to melt over medium heat, but just a tiny splash of water did the trick for us, and our almonds/walnuts came out perfectly. I love that such a simple recipe can create a most perfect holiday snack. Have a happy holiday season, everyone. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilikeclouds84 December 17, 2012

I made these as Christmas thank-you gifts for committee members that I serve with. AMAZING! They not only taste great, but they are super easy! I will make this recipe over and over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjohosky December 07, 2011
Glazed Nuts