26 Reviews

I made these a few days ago as a hostess gift and they were a hit. If I promise to bring more I'm invited back every week! I made one batch according to the original recipe, but made another batch with whole pecans and whole almonds, and added some apple pie spice to the sugar. It raised these nuts to a new level!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj January 07, 2002

Great recipe! I added this into my holiday goodie basket and everyone ate them up! I love the way the sugar and salt blend perfectly. Thank you for the recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeliWif December 20, 2002

Aha! I''ve just finished making these and these are OUT OF THE WORLD, They are amazing! So easy to make, you''ve sure made Christmas Merry with these:)!!! Thank You for this excellent ultra-cool recipe! MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani December 25, 2001

Karen, Thank you for this recipe. it was so easy and tasted so good. Could not stop eating these. Everytime I went in the kitchen I had to grab a few. Thanks again

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula giles December 16, 2001

My husband rates this 5 stars, it turned out like a nut brittle. Very easy to make, I used almonds, pecans, and walnuts.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnB January 12, 2003

I made a double batch for a dinner party, and it definitely wasn't enough! I used almonds, pecans and walnuts. Excellent recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny233 March 17, 2003

These tasted very good and looked pretty. I did have some problems with getting the sugar to melt, though. I am thinking that maybe next time I will add a tablespoon or two of corn syrup. The sugar did finally melt, but it took 45 minutes of cooking on medium, and by that time the nuts were on the verge of being too darkly toasted. I also wonder if using cane sugar versus beet sugar would make a difference in the way it melts. Here in Montana the majority of our sugar is beet since it is a local crop. Cane sugar is available but it costs twice as much.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna M. December 23, 2002

These are great! I made my husband try one now they are almost gone! I'm going to try some apple spice on the next batch. Thanks for the great snack idea!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom December 22, 2002

Wonderful! My husband can't get enough of these. I made them with pecans (hubby's favorite) and have tried with both regular white sugar and brown sugar. The cooking time is shorter with brown sugar but it gives it a butter pecan taste. Great on their own or fantastic with ice cream. Thanks for a great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosiegirl May 13, 2008

After finding this seemingly easy recipe, I read the reviews for tips. This first time around was pretty disappointing. I even waited to put the nuts in---trying to allow the sugar to dissolve first. I don't know how one expects to dissolve a cup of sugar with 2 teaspoons of butter. I added a tiny bit of water like others suggested. After standing over the stove for 30 minutes dealing with this, it doesn't seem worth it. Now I have pecans with crunchy sugar stuck on them. Meh...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyebrown84 December 22, 2015
Glazed Nuts