Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Glazed Doughnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Glazed Doughnuts

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2002

      Cindy, you are a genious! I've just finished these and they are perfection! They sure do make A LOT of donuts. It took about 5 hours including waiting for the dough to rise 2 times. I refreshed the oil about every 10 donuts and I fried 3 at a time. I don't have a deep fryer so I just used a lot of oil in my deep frying pan. I made plain glaze, chocolate glaze and a cinnamon sugar coating. I hated trying to take the munchkins out of the oil. I should have used a big slotted spoon. This was a lot of fun to make on a Sunday. I'm amazed I actually did this. Thank you so much! I've been talking about this all day on the message boards. One thing, you should specify putting the yeast into the water. I just assumed that's what you do with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      These were great! made them for breakfast and they were so yummy and just sweet enough. We just dipped ours in a sugar/cinnamon mixture. I froze some and have been having them at work and they thaw nicely. Thanks for another keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Just wanted to update my previous review " These were the best doughnuts I have ever made - I have tried a lot of recipes and will be keeping this one. I made them with the exact ingredients but altered the mixing method a little. I creamed the shortening and sugar in my KitchenAid with the wire whisk, then added eggs and mixed well. Then added warm milk, salt and 2 c. flour, mixed till well blended. Then dumped in remaining flour and the yeast/water mix. Put on dough hook and kneaded. For a glaze I melted 1/2 cup butter, mixed in 3 cups icing sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla, and enough hot water to make a runny but not watery glaze. Probably about 1/2 cup water but I didn't really measure." I've since made these several times and they are excellent!! Thanks so much for a great keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Thank you very much! These are delicious! And I love that it didn't go stale the next day. I just kept it in an airtight container and they still were soft and chewy! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      These were sooooo good!!!! I just couldn't stop eating them!!!But then I had to get my share in before the kids got home from school and devoured the whole plateful!! I halved the recipe,added a little bit of nutmeg for flavour and made it in my bread machine. I coated them with sugar while still warm. I think next time though I will make them larger by rolling them out thicker and using a larger cutter. A maple flavoured glaze would be nice. Ooooohhh, the possibilities are endless!!! Great recipe Cindy Lynn!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      I love this recipe! Have been using it for a few years and just reprinted it for my daughter. Keeps the best and no one turns them down! Tried lots of others, nothing compares.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      itried this recipe today with my grandson, he thinks doughnuts are a food group. He liked them as did his mother. They kind of reminded me of fried bread dough. I am not sure if I will make these again or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Great recipe. We really enjoyed them. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Ok so when I am depressed I bake, in this case I fried and man was it worth it!! These were delish! Thanks for the recipe it is 4:13 am just finished making these started arourd midnight (used quick rise yeast). Made 16 doughnuts and 16 doughnut holes. I glazed doughnuts with a maple glaze made from real maple syrup, dark corn syrup, powdered sugar, and a pinch of water......the holes I rolled in cinnamon and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      They taste GREAT fresh from the fryer. The day after they didn't taste as good. I put them in a container before they were cooled all the way so that might have been the problem. Other than that they are wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      These had a good flavor but were a bit dry and dense. Not at all like the glazed donuts that seem to collapse/melt in your mouth. Without the glaze, they taste like Indian Fry Bread so that was nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This was an okay doughnut recipe. They turned out beautiful in appearance but seemed a little dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      These are wonderful!! Even though I didnt have time to let them rise fully, they turned out great!! I used a chocolate glaze for the doughnuts (4oz. semi-sweet chocolate and 3 tbsp. butter, melted. beat in 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and 3 tbsp. hot water, until smooth. Add more water if needed for drizzling consistancy) and a cinnamon & sugar mixture for the holes (2tbsp. cinnamon and 1/4 cup sugar in a large ziplock bag. Just add holes and shake). My son won't stop bugging me for one!! I will use this recipe from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I made these doughnuts with my mom last night, and I have got nothing but great reviews! My husband is taking them to work to show them off! They are fantastic. After you glaze them, they are beautiful and shiny! They are fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      I made these just this past weekend when my boys were asking for doughnuts. It was the first time I have made them, and this recipe was easy to follow and had perfect results! I frosted some of them with a maple frosting, and 3 of my boys told me they tasted just like the maple bars at the store. =) I put the doughnut holes in powdered sugar and those didn't last long at all. Next time I plan to add a bit of cinnamon to the dough since we love that flavor, and I'll have to try out different glazes on them. I know the doughnuts themselves will be perfect! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Cindy Lynn!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      We thought these were very good. From scalding the milk to pulling the last donut from the oil took five hours. I followed the recipe exactly. I glazed some donuts with a vanilla glaze, some got a chocolate glaze and I dipped some in cinnamon sugar. I found them a little soggy when reheated from the microwave, but that doesn't stop me from eating them anyway. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Glazed Doughnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (1704 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.5
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    23%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 52.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites