Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Glazed Coconut Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Glazed Coconut Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2008

      Excellent.. I love this recipe. It is great even without the lime glaze, but the glase adds an extra kick to it. I only use 1/4 cup of powder sugar. We don't like it too sweet. Everyone needs to try this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Made this and entered it in the bakery contest at our county fair. It won a blue ribbon and 2nd in "best in class". Also took it to my moms for Easter dinner. We heated it up a little and most of us spread our slices with a little butter-- heavenly! It was delicious and we ate it as an appetizer, and by the time the meal was ready, not a crumb was left! Next time I make this (and there will be a next time), I think I will use over-ripe bananas for a stronger banana taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      YUMMY! This is a fantastic tasting & extremely moist bread. I just loved it! The only suggestion i could make is: when you take it out of the oven use a toothpick to poke several holes on the top so that the lime glaze really soaks down into the bread. it's too yummy to have all drip off the sides! YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY-thanks for a great alternative to the typical banana bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      I too have seen this recipe in cooking light. I believe that it said that you could sub apple juice for the rum if you wanted. That is how I make it since we don't drink. Thanks for posting the recipe wicked noodle. I can't find my cooking light cookbook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Very moist, satisfying bread. I didn't have rum in the house but used 2/3 cup of white sugar and 1/3 cup of molasses instead; also used 1 cup of regular flour and 1 cup of whole wheat to increase fiber and protein. Excellent recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This was a great bread, and easy to prepare. It was certainly worth the trouble to bring out my antique citrus squeezer to prepare the glaze. I put a little extra rum in it. My liquor store did not have what I consider to be dark rum, only golden, so I used that (I did not want to put the 151 rum I had in there). I even considered putting a little rum in the glaze. Mom and Dad loved it. I had to use it to tempt Dad to walk three houses down the street just to get some. He was very glad he took the walk!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      This is one of my very favorite banana bread recipes. I have made it several times and it has always turned out great. It reminds me of a pina colada. I made 6 loaves of this bread and gave as gifts this year. I originally saw this recipe in the 2004 "Cooking Light" book.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      Wonderful bread and a nice change from the traditional banana bread even though I didn't use the rum but subsituted an equal amount of orange juice. Thanks Chia for posting this keeper banana recipe. We will be having this bread often for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Followed recipe exactly. Had to bake for an additional 15 min. This bread is delish. Was skeptical about the lime glaze but it goes so well with the bread.... Moisture, consistency, taste, aesthetics are all spot on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      A nice flavourful loaf! I used vanilla flavoured yogurt, love the coconut, rum, lime flavours. The glaze is a nice addition to the loaf. I increased the coconut to one cup just because I love coconut! Next time I will add some rum to the glaze as suggested by Queen Dana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I made this recipe and brought it to work. It was amazing, and everyone agreed! I used 5 medium bananas (I had to use them), unsweetened coconut (all I had), and less lime glaze because I was worried it would be too strong but it wasn't. Next time I'll use the whole mixture. Oh, and mine did cook up faster than the time stated by 10 minutes, but that's just my oven. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Excellent!!!! The coconut and rum really make this moist and tasty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This was delicious. I added a little bit of rum to the lime glaze and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      My old roomate had a recipe similar to this one. The coconut and lime give a new twist to banana bread. I made a bunch of little loafs of this recipe and gave them out. Everyone loved it! They couldn't believe that coconut could be good with banana bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Glazed Coconut Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3177.8
     
    Calories from Fat 717
    22%
    Total Fat 79.7 g
    122%
    Saturated Fat 50.8 g
    254%
    Cholesterol 501.9 mg
    167%
    Sodium 2160.7 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 559.2 g
    186%
    Dietary Fiber 17.9 g
    71%
    Sugars 326.8 g
    1307%
    Protein 46.2 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites