15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was gifted with a large bag of zucchini & squash so came searching for a recipe to try to make a relish. I was lucky when I found this one! The relish is stellar!! I used a mixture of squash to equal 6 cups, added 2 grated carrots, and 4 cups of cabbage. After soaking the veggies overnight I discovered I was out of tumeric so I substituted sweet curry powder. The relish is wonderful! Sweet, sour, and so much flavor. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I will be using it all summer.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 27, 2010

I have a batch of this cooking as I type. Very easy to put together. Nice aroma and tangy, not too hot to the taste. Yet another way to use all the bountiful zucchini out of my garden. Thank You...Trudy Neill, Indiana

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trudy Neill July 30, 2003

I make a relish similar to this every year. I give a lot away and my brother gets his fair share. He will open a package of hot dogs and eat the whole jar in one sitting! Everyone loves this relish..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Max1359 October 01, 2009

I am giving this recipe five stars. I agree with SueChef #3 that the relish is too sweet (I am going to also reduce the sugar next time), BUT the flavor and texture is fabulous! I am also going to use two red pepper and one green next time to add a little more of that beautiful red color. LOVE IT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaCooks August 20, 2009

THIS DOES NOT MAKE SIX QUARTS! IT MAKES SIX PINTS. I do like this recipe, but find it much too sweet--when I make it again, I will reduce the sugar by at least 3/4 cup. I think the combination of spices is excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sue-scott August 09, 2009

I've made this recipe for the past two years and it's become an absolute staple in the house. I love, love, love this relish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura the novice November 16, 2008

This is a excellent recipe. I use it in my egg, tuna and chicken salads. Not only is it a great way to get rid of those zucchini ... but it's healthy and I know what is in it.. Thank you !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hddb August 03, 2008

My niece made me a jar of this and i LOVE it! I sometimes add some hot sauce to put on my hotdogs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garnet M. September 05, 2014

4.5 cups of sugar, you have got to be kidding. I used 2 and its still on the sweet side. Other than that, combination of spices, though simple, works surprisingly well. Also, it is completely unnecessary to salt your zucchini, its not bitter like egg plant / aubergine can be. To cut the time of prep to a waltz, just grate half and chop half of the zucchini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
az666 January 01, 2013

Tastes like curried sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feedmebetter June 10, 2012
Gladys' Zucchini Relish