Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gladys' Zucchini Relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gladys' Zucchini Relish

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2010

      I was gifted with a large bag of zucchini & squash so came searching for a recipe to try to make a relish. I was lucky when I found this one! The relish is stellar!! I used a mixture of squash to equal 6 cups, added 2 grated carrots, and 4 cups of cabbage. After soaking the veggies overnight I discovered I was out of tumeric so I substituted sweet curry powder. The relish is wonderful! Sweet, sour, and so much flavor. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I will be using it all summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      I have a batch of this cooking as I type. Very easy to put together. Nice aroma and tangy, not too hot to the taste. Yet another way to use all the bountiful zucchini out of my garden. Thank You...Trudy Neill, Indiana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I make a relish similar to this every year. I give a lot away and my brother gets his fair share. He will open a package of hot dogs and eat the whole jar in one sitting! Everyone loves this relish..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I am giving this recipe five stars. I agree with SueChef #3 that the relish is too sweet (I am going to also reduce the sugar next time), BUT the flavor and texture is fabulous! I am also going to use two red pepper and one green next time to add a little more of that beautiful red color. LOVE IT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      THIS DOES NOT MAKE SIX QUARTS! IT MAKES SIX PINTS. I do like this recipe, but find it much too sweet--when I make it again, I will reduce the sugar by at least 3/4 cup. I think the combination of spices is excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I've made this recipe for the past two years and it's become an absolute staple in the house. I love, love, love this relish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      This is a excellent recipe. I use it in my egg, tuna and chicken salads. Not only is it a great way to get rid of those zucchini ... but it's healthy and I know what is in it.. Thank you !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      4.5 cups of sugar, you have got to be kidding. I used 2 and its still on the sweet side. Other than that, combination of spices, though simple, works surprisingly well. Also, it is completely unnecessary to salt your zucchini, its not bitter like egg plant / aubergine can be. To cut the time of prep to a waltz, just grate half and chop half of the zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      Tastes like curried sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Made this last year and just discovered the jar in the back of the cupboard! We can't stop eating it and serve it with everything! Delicious and so moreish! Thanks for a lovely recipe & apologies for the delayed review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      My first attempt at relish - worked great! Cut the sugar in half, per other reviewer suggestions - thought it was just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Made a batch of this and even though I had to rush the draining process due to an emergency it is still fantastic, just a little too much liquid because I didn't have time to drain it as well as I should have. We use it on just about any peas or beans as well as on sandwiches. It is a great change of pace to the classic pickle relish on hot dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      It was a bit sweet for me. but flavorful none the less. The recipe made 6 pints as apposed to six quarts

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I make this every year, and give away tons. Everyone says it's the best relish they've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gladys' Zucchini Relish

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 96

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 44.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    23%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 365.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites