9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought this dish had a very unique flavor that I really enjoyed. The husband thought it tasted like pot roast and pumpkin pie, but there's no need to listen to his opinion. ;) I did not brown the roast first, but I don't think it mattered at all. This was great! My only "fault" with this recipe is that our potatoes came out a little mushier than I had hoped. I think next time I'll cut them into much larger pieces and see if that makes a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan at Food.com December 27, 2011

I used a mixture of russet potatoes, yams and carrots in this dish - and really liked having the yams in there. I didn't feel that the ginger snap cookies really gave the roast any flavor at all and found the dish rather bland. If I were to make again I would add onions, garlic and maybe up the vinegar and red pepper flakes for more zip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW February 01, 2011

Very easy and very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra October 25, 2010

Everyone loved this. Great with noodles and Challah for Shabbat dinner. I left out the sweet potatoes and red pepper and use a large bag of baby carrots. I doubled the sauce and didn't added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar becuase I figured I was missing some sweet from the sweet potatoes. I also didn't bother browning the roast first. I put this in the pot around 10 AM and at 6:30ish we had a great meal. Thanks for posting. I'll make this one again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse March 07, 2009

Great flavours! I used a sirloin roast, and the meat just melted in your mouth, and we really liked the way the sweet potatoes broke down and made a bit of a stew. I used russet potatoes instead of carrots, otherwise, didn't change a thing. Yummy! Thanks Saturn! Made for PAC Fall 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz September 25, 2007

I couldn't find my original recipe for this dish so I "Googled" it and ended up here. This is even better than the recipe that I was using! The red wine vinegar & red pepper gave it a nice kick. I thickened the gravy right in the Crock Pot and put it over wide egg noodles. Browning the roast is messy and time consuming but well worth the effort. A winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEJSR05 September 14, 2007

Delicious, succlent, and different. This roast had a lot of flavor and was a very easy recipe to prep for. I did not care for the vegetables and sauce, but I think they would be a hit with the meat and potatoes lovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ August 03, 2007

My husband requests this all the time & my 3 year old likes it too. It is delicious & so easy to make! YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Gwyn July 15, 2007

This was so good on this cold December day! So easy to make, smelled great while cooking, and very tasty and filling. The only thing I did differently was to add 4 potatoes, and 1 stalk celery. The first time my kids ate sweet potatoe and loved it! Thank you for posting this fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladies of the Lake-eM Cee December 12, 2005
Gingersnap Pot Roast