Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ginger's "Dorito" Soup (Spicy Tomato Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ginger's "Dorito" Soup (Spicy Tomato Soup)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2003

      Very very good. Nice and hot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      A very nice, pleasantly spicy soup that was so easy to put together, and such a tasty change from regular tomato soup. I didn't have any Dorito chips, so I used regular tortilla chips and it was still very good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I doubled the hot sauce and red pepper flakes and could still add more heat to it, but didn't for the kids' sake. :) I think chipotle would be a good addition, as well. I also thinly sliced some corn tortillas and baked them to make tortilla shreds for garnish. This is a great way to use up some of my tomato soup that I got at a great deal. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This was a great way to spice up canned tomato soup. The cans of tomato soup I get here are not condensed, so I didn't add any water and only used a few tablespoons of milk. Very good, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This soup is a good idea, but I'm just not so sure about the cheese. I used 2% Cheddar and it refused to melt completely so it was just sort of floating around. I think you'd be better off just sprinkling some cheese on top just before serving. Also, I wanted to make a complete meal of this so I added some pre-cooked meatballs and some egg noodle. Very different and interesting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This soup is scrumptous! What a gem! I dbld the recipe for a family of 6-ALL guys, excluding lil' ole me. Note to self: TRIPLE IT! Even after Keebler crackers and 2 grilled cheese sammies each! Still they came back for more! TIP: Try adding a little Garlic Salt. TY Ginger_B!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I'm eating this as I type....added about 1/2 tsp. sambal oelek, as I had no crushed red pepper flakes, and also added 1/2 tsp. of Chipotle Tabasco sauce. Made it in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds until the cheese was melted and everything was smooth. Skipped the salt, but used the black pepper. Perfect soup that I'll make many times over, just making sure to have good tortilla chips to crumble in. Thanks Ginger for such an easy and satisfying recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Since I've found this recipe, I've never eaten plain tomato soup again! I've been known to add red pepper to almost every meal, so this was perfect. I usually have the fully prepared tomato soup on hand, so I simply add the cheese, hot sauce and red pepper. I've shared this with many co-workers, family, and friends. Thanks so much for such a simple, fabulous tasting soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This jazzed up a plain old can of soup quite nicely. Even though, I skipped the pepper flakes, we still thought it was too hot for us so next time I would reduce the hot sauce to 1/2 tsp. I took another reviewer's suggestion and topped with tortilla chips and then I put shredded cheese on top and microwaved until melted. Definitely yummy! Thx Ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This is a great way to spice up a plain soup. It has just enough heat to it to feel it in the back of your throat but not enough to cause discomfort. Pair it with a good old fashioned grilled cheese sandwich and you have yourself a wonderful meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      OK Ginger, we love this! I make as directed and garnish with crushed tortilla chips! Thanks so much for this easy, tasty and zippy recipe! No more plain 'ol soup for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This soup was amazing! Wow, I couldn't believe just adding a few ingredients could make such a wonderful dish! I also am officially addicted to this soup. Only changes I made was eliminating the salt and using a little less milk. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This is by far the best "tomato" soup I have ever had. Unbelievable that such small alterations can make an ordinary (boring) canned soup into something fabulous. I have now been making this recipe for over a year and I still cannot get over how great this is. I must have made it at least 25 times by now. Amazing! If you like spice you have to try this!! I am addicted. Thank you soooooo much for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Simple and delicious! Can't wait to make this again- DH loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I made this for a family whose daughter is in the hospital. I used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk. They said that it was the best tomato soup they had ever had!! I will definitely be making this again!! Thanks, Ginger_B!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This simple-yet-fabulous recipe is a real gem! I loved its spiciness, its rich creaminess, and its warmth (as winter creeps upon us). It hit the spot perfectly! I am a big fan of occasionally making a jazzed up canned soup as a wonderful, breezy meal, and this fit the bill perfectly. Since my husband needs a big dinner, after a long day at work, I served this with Trader Joe's Macaroni and Cheese (if you have never tried it, it is delicious!), and they worked fabulously togther! Thanks for a definte keeper! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      Incredibly quick, easy and tasty! Not too spicy but with a lovely warmth - great with toasted Turkish bread! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Oh gosh so good! Cleared up our sinuses and everything : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      This really added a lot of flavor to plain old can tomato soup. We really enjoyed this. Will make again. Went great with my grilled cheese. Thanks GingerB . Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      delicious will make it this way from now on. makes it taste much better and it is easy. i love spicy food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ginger's "Dorito" Soup (Spicy Tomato Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (297 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.2
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    42%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1379.9 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites