Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingernut Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingernut Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2014

      Loved these. Didn't have any ginger in the cupboard so made them with cinnamon and iced them with royal icing. DELISH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Before making these bad boys I made two adaptations: I added an entire pack of ginger (30g), and I used 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses with 3/4 cup golden syrup. The g'nuts were like homemade ginger beer: far more powerful than store-bought stuff! I loved the flavour and will continue to add whole packs of ginger. If you want them to be truly chewy in centre I think you need to cutback on cooking time. I made 36 biscuits (Thanks to Susiecat's golfball tip), and at 15 minutes they were only slightly chewy. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      These are lovely! I was diagnosed with Coeliac disease about 6 weeks ago, and I have been looking for recipies that I can adapt for use with gluten free flour. I think I'm on to a winner here! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Ah...these remind me of my childhood. A easy to make biscuit with ingredients always on hand, great with a cuppa. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      These are excellent! I had run out of white sugar so substituted in brown sugar. I also added some minced candied ginger as well, as mentioned by a few other reviewers. I made them quite a bit larger than directed -- dough balls about the size of a golf ball, and got 36 cookies that were crispy/crunchy around the edges and chewy/soft in the centers. Delightful! Thanks, kiwidutch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Was very happily surprised with these little gems ~ The taste is great, though I'll admit I took a cue from others & increased the amount of ginger! Thanks so much for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Excellent recipe, rispy and chewy and good with tea. I made them quite small so the yield was 90 cookies! I baked them about 13 minutes. I used the heaping Tbl of ginger and added about a 1/8 cup of minced candied ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed these cookies. I'm a ginger nut and these are wonderful. I do double the amount of ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Took these to the sons recreation group and I got none back, they were enjoyed with varied comments (some prefer a softer biscuit). I divided the batch into 3 equal parts, the first I got 24 biscuits (cooked out at 5cm and took 8 minutes to bake), the second 16 biscuits (cooked out at 7cm and took 10 minutes to bake) and the third 12 biscuits (cooked out at 9cm and took 13 minutes to bake). Each batch could possibly have been baked 1 minute less. I felt I needed to add an extra 1/2 cup of flour to the mix as it was very moist. I also used baking paper to line the tray and with each batch could not fit on the large baking tray, so if making all the same size I would easily go the four trays. Thank you kiwidutch for sharing your recipe. This was made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      These are the same as the ones I used to make as a child. They really got me hooked on gingernuts. I will never forget the smells in the kitchen from when I made them. I like them slightly chewy and have even left them as a ball before when cooking (just need to cook a little longer).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Good different cookie recipe. They are perfect for a lite little something. They do turn hard/crisp very quickly; while I like a softer cooker, so I just made them bigger balls and that took care of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Good biscuits. However, Id double the ginger next time. They do not have as much ginger as commercial ones......Thanks :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      I have a favourite cartoon. It shows two polar bears looking at an igloo. Pointing to the igloo, one polar bear says to the other polar bear: "They're my favourite! Crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside!" These biscuits turned out just like that! A great, easy recipe. We loved them. Thanks kiwidutch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      I made these for a care package for an elderly couple in my neighborhood that needed some cheering up! They LOVED them! Said they reminded them of the cookies thier mom made!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      I love Griffins Gingernut biscuits back in New Zealand but they dont sell them here in the states so I tried this recipe -I like them. Due to a mistake I ended up making them different from what was written. I sifted sugar, ginger and soda together, added it to a pot of slowly melted butter and syrup. Gave to a quick mix then took it off stove-added that to sifted flour in the bowl and allowed to cool a bit.Rolled and cooked. Worked just fine. Thanks for sharing a great cookie recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingernut Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (1125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.7
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    32%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 48.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes