15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved these. Didn't have any ginger in the cupboard so made them with cinnamon and iced them with royal icing. DELISH.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schoombie.emma April 12, 2014

Before making these bad boys I made two adaptations: I added an entire pack of ginger (30g), and I used 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses with 3/4 cup golden syrup. The g'nuts were like homemade ginger beer: far more powerful than store-bought stuff! I loved the flavour and will continue to add whole packs of ginger. If you want them to be truly chewy in centre I think you need to cutback on cooking time. I made 36 biscuits (Thanks to Susiecat's golfball tip), and at 15 minutes they were only slightly chewy. Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
owlcat July 06, 2012

These are lovely! I was diagnosed with Coeliac disease about 6 weeks ago, and I have been looking for recipies that I can adapt for use with gluten free flour. I think I'm on to a winner here! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsshambo January 11, 2012

Ah...these remind me of my childhood. A easy to make biscuit with ingredients always on hand, great with a cuppa. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie June 20, 2009

These are excellent! I had run out of white sugar so substituted in brown sugar. I also added some minced candied ginger as well, as mentioned by a few other reviewers. I made them quite a bit larger than directed -- dough balls about the size of a golf ball, and got 36 cookies that were crispy/crunchy around the edges and chewy/soft in the centers. Delightful! Thanks, kiwidutch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too November 22, 2008

Was very happily surprised with these little gems ~ The taste is great, though I'll admit I took a cue from others & increased the amount of ginger! Thanks so much for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 23, 2008

Excellent recipe, rispy and chewy and good with tea. I made them quite small so the yield was 90 cookies! I baked them about 13 minutes. I used the heaping Tbl of ginger and added about a 1/8 cup of minced candied ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrokenAnkle February 02, 2008

I can't believe I haven't reviewed these cookies. I'm a ginger nut and these are wonderful. I do double the amount of ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dona England May 17, 2007

Took these to the sons recreation group and I got none back, they were enjoyed with varied comments (some prefer a softer biscuit). I divided the batch into 3 equal parts, the first I got 24 biscuits (cooked out at 5cm and took 8 minutes to bake), the second 16 biscuits (cooked out at 7cm and took 10 minutes to bake) and the third 12 biscuits (cooked out at 9cm and took 13 minutes to bake). Each batch could possibly have been baked 1 minute less. I felt I needed to add an extra 1/2 cup of flour to the mix as it was very moist. I also used baking paper to line the tray and with each batch could not fit on the large baking tray, so if making all the same size I would easily go the four trays. Thank you kiwidutch for sharing your recipe. This was made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 24, 2007

These are the same as the ones I used to make as a child. They really got me hooked on gingernuts. I will never forget the smells in the kitchen from when I made them. I like them slightly chewy and have even left them as a ball before when cooking (just need to cook a little longer).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwipom November 01, 2006
Gingernut Biscuits