14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i used tilapia fillets and i didn't have any fresh ginger on hand so i used crystallized ginger slices instead and omitted the sugar, letting it soften a bit in the lemon juice and soy sauce before chopping it. i have a spacemaker oven that doesn't have a broil option, so i let it bake for 10 minutes at 450 degrees, brushing on the sesame oil after 5 minutes. i served it with steamed broccoli and jasmine rice. for me, the green onions made the dish. my bf raved about it and asked that i make it again. thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nevermind May 07, 2010

I really enjoyed this. I think it would be great grilled, but I made it in the oven. I made this for Potluck Tag! Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 22, 2008

Super simple with fabulous flavor. Kids loved it and with fish that is quite a compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Supersp July 31, 2007

This dish was... a little flat for us. We ate it, but without enthusiasm. I think it needs a bit more complexity, a few more ingredients, to truly be a remarkable recipe. Probably won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 July 02, 2007

I worried about the ginger being a bit too much for my taste, but this is really great. I love fish of all types, so this recipe is great for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen July 15, 2006

Very tasty! I'm not a big fan of fish, but I really liked this and will make it often. I used talapia which I had never tried before. It was nice and firm and not "woofy" as some fish can be. YUM! Great recipe, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie July 01, 2006

DH made this for himself since I was home late from work. He said "this is a very strange combination of flavours, but it's surprisingly tasty". He also said that next time he will use a firmer fish (he used cod) as it fell apart very easily. He knows my rating system and awarded you 4 stars :) Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 26, 2006

I had Cod fillets in the freezer, so made these for the Spirits Challenge in ZWT II - Asia. Although quite delicious with the cod, next time I make these I am going to try some Tilapia. Thank you for a wonderfully tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 June 20, 2006

Great recipe. I had 3 whole red snappers (1 1/2 pounds each), put the marinade on the top and baked the for 25 minutes at 400ยบ. It turned out fantastic, my family was delighted. Thanks for the recipe, soo easy and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zuly Z November 10, 2005

A very nice fish recipe when you want something out of the ordinary that's on the table in 30 minutes or less. The marinade flavored the fish nicely, and wasn't too strong. In fact, the predominant flavor was sesame oil, but it was also not overpowering. I used pollock fillets and freshly grated ginger (about 1/4 cup) instead of the ginger juice. I also garnished with thinly sliced lemon, which made it very attractive with the sliced scallion. Thanks for posting, toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan November 09, 2005
Gingered Fish