23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great waffles!! Just loved the flavor of these waffles, especially with just adding a bit of butter and then whipped cream, reminded me so much of my Mom's Ginger Bread recipe, that she served warm and then we spread on butter. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for "For your consideration" game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 27, 2014

Pure fall spice perfection! These turned out so tender and yummy! I will try with whole wheat flour next time for a more robust waffle! Thanks for posting, these made a rainy fall day so much better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbleyumm82 October 05, 2011

Sooooo yummy. Almost like eating gingerbread cookies. The recipe is perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. So good!! Made for ZWT7 and the Golden Gourmets

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood June 25, 2011

Scrumptious! I made a half recipe and used half whole wheat pastry flour half white, I also reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup loosely packed. As others have said not super crisp - probably from the molasses both in and out of the brown sugar - but still delicious. I hade mine with lingonberry jam and whipped cream. The leftovers toasted up fine the next day. Can't wait to have these again, thanks for sharing Susie! Made for ZWT 7 for the Food.commandos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 17, 2011

Wonder if these would work with gluten-free flour... anyone know please?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iknitok June 16, 2011

These smell so wonderful when baking! I used thinned plain yogurt for the buttermilk. The eggs were separated and the whites beaten until stiff and then folded in at the last. As several reviewers have noted the waffles are soft when done but do crisp up well and they freeze well. Made for ZWT 7 and the Vivacious Violets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 16, 2011

this was absolutely the best waffle recipe I have ever made! Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenstar1212 November 06, 2010

Oh, these were so good!! I made these in my belgian waffler and they went fast. They were so good we ate them plain. I made them pretty much as written except I used whole wheat pastry flour and a little less butter (just because I had a piece leftover that was close). The batter was very thick so I added a little more milk. We'll be making these a lot more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dre S October 30, 2010

Whenever we have company, I serve waffles for brunch. I used spelt flour in mine. I don't use dairy but made my own butter milk using coconut milk and lemon juice, it worked great. These were a bit soft, but after sitting for a few minutes they got a bit harder. I give this 10 stars for flavor. I served mine with maple syrup. I love anything spice and these hit the spot. Thank you for such a great waffle recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. July 20, 2010
Gingerbread Waffles