Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingerbread Truffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread Truffles

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2010

      YUM!!! I did cool the mixture overnight, and so glad I did. Then once rolled into balls I put them in the freezer for a while before coating them. I coated in semi-sweet choc, I considered white choc as that is what my husband likes, but in the end I'm glad I didn't as I think it would be too much white choc. Got lots of compliments on these - they were soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      these are sooooo good!! easy and great flavor. do let them set up over night in a pie pan so they are firm enough to work with. i used a melon baller to scoop out the filling and make balls. my son and i wore latex gloves so our hands would not be too messy. i used cooling racks to pour the chocolate OVER the truffles and the other chocolate went back into the melting bowl. better than dipping them. they sort of melted on me when i did that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      I was really looking forward to making these, but they did not turn out at all. I do not know what I did wrong, but the truffle centres came out gooey and way too runny. Less whipping cream maybe?? When I tried to dip them in the melted chocolate they did not maintain their shape and just started to come apart in the chocolate. Too bad :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Delicious! I made these to give as Christmas gifts and they were to die for! The combination of the smooth spiced filling and chocolate coating are simply divine. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      My kids call these "Eggnog Truffles" and they are disappearing quickly! They were really gooey to roll, but the taste makes up for it! I sliced the filling into 36 squares, to keep the truffles the same size ... this worked well. Thanks Pamela for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I had a super amount of trouble with these. They wouldn't firm up for me at all. They practially disintegrated when I dipped them in the chocolate (which was just warm enough to stay melted) The few I did manage to get dipped and set before they gooed all apart tasted very good. I may try these again and add more white chocolate to see if that helps keep them firm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      As I'm sure many others did, I made these as gifts for Christmas this past year.

      I agreed with the reviewer who doubled the spices. I'm not quite sure if I doubled it, but I added about the same ratio until I was happy with it. I also let it set in the fridge overnight and the consistency was perfect for rolling and dipping.

      Everyone we gave these to loved them. My husband also loved them. At first I thought they were great, but I got REALLY sick of them REALLY fast. I thought the filling was a bit dense for a truffle, but they went over so well I'd make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      We as a family didn't care for these, but a lot of friends enjoyed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I love this idea! After tasting it I thought the filling needed more spice though so I doubled them. A great Christmas treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Made these as part of my Christmas Truffle platters as pressies. I ran out of dark chocolate for dipping so dipped in white chocolate, would like to try them with the dark, could have been a little too much white chocolate. Left the mix in the fridge over night and had no problems rolling into balls, then I put in freezer before dipping in chocolate. Thanks for the great recipe, nice to have something a bit different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Though I changed the proportions of the ginger and added a few other spices, I made this recipe as part of my holiday giftbaskets. I have gotten so many compliments on these; they are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Mmmmm, these are so good! Put these in my Christmas gift bags this year and they were a huge hit! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      I loved these!! I love gingerbread anything so I was especially excited to try this recipe. I had never worked with candy melts before, nor had I ever made truffles like this before. So maybe it was my own inexperience that led to me having some issues rolling the candy in the dark chocolate. I had to keep refreezing the balls to firm them back up to coat in chocolate. The taste more than made up for the hassle though, and I would love to add these to my Christmas tray! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Perfect for gift giving at holiday time, easy to make, and yummy delicious! Instead of sprinkles I just drizzle melted white chocolate on top. Everyone will love these when you make them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      absolutely superb, i leave mine over night and it goes really hard but i just dig it out with a teaspoon and it softens very quickly, I rolled these in a spiced coconut and choc coating, a definite to try and they are so easy to make. Our staff get an easter truffle plate which i make and give to them each year and these will be on it every year now. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Yum! Love these! Being a ginger-head I upped the ante to 1/2 tsp. of ground & also stirred in 2 tablespoons of finely minced candied ginger. This also wards off those pesky grandkids who will think it's "hot" & thus, leave more for Gran ;-) I used dark chocolate chips melted with 2 tsps. of Crisco to dip them. Speaking of dipping - I'm sure there is a proper technique but being a novice, I tried most everyhing in the tool drawer - tongs, wooden skewers, metal skewers, toothpicks, condiment forks ... My best "dips" were made using fondue forks of all things - one to spear & dip & another to push it off. I drizzled the remaining dip over the tops to cover up my fork holes. Yes, my kitchen is quite the mess now but I have some great candy to show for it! Thanks for your help & for posting this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      This was my first attempt at truffles too, the ganache is simple finger lickin good- it almost didn't get rolled into balls because I wanted to lick the bowl clean. I froze the balls for a couple days until I had time to get to dipping them. I sprinkled the top with white "jimmies".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This was my first time making truffles, and these are outstanding! I might add a bit more spices in the ganache next time, but these are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      I made these for a holiday craft/candy sale....I was suprised! These are so yummy!!! I added a piece of crystalized ginger on top of each to, so unusually good...you MUST try these!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      These are sooo good, the filling is just so creamy and delicious I keep wanting to sneak one and I made them for a friend's birthday party. I made a mistake and forgot to add the cream when I first melted the white chocolate. It was already starting to harden in the fridge when I realised what I'd done (or hadn't done). It didn't matter though, I just had to melt it again and stir in the cream. I did find it hard to dip the balls they were a little soft but next time I will not be so impatient and let them stay in the freezer for a little longer as you suggested Pamela. I cut small pieces of crystallized ginger to put on top of each truffle. Thanks for a great recipe, I will be making these again for Christmas. Update: I forgot to mention that I didn't use the cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread Truffles

    Serving Size: 1 (517 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 851.8
     
    Calories from Fat 514
    60%
    Total Fat 57.1 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 34.8 g
    174%
    Cholesterol 82.1 mg
    27%
    Sodium 134.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 78.1 g
    312%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dark chocolate melts

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites