Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingerbread Streusel Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread Streusel Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2011

      My kids wanted gingerbread NOW so I went looking for a quick recipe. This worked! I didn't add the streusel topping. I liked that it wasn't too sweet and used molasses (I used blackstrap molasses) instead of white sugar. I doubled the ground ginger since I usually like much more (3-5x) ground ginger than a recipe specifies. NEXT TIME I *won't* double the ginger, and I'll make it in a smaller pan - maybe 9" round instead. Some day I might even get around to trying it with the streusel topping and billing it as a coffee cake, but for now ... when the kids want gingerbread in a hurry, I'm using this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      One of the local resturants in our area offers this on their menu and it is so delicious. I thought I would try to make it for New Years Day. I was disappointed with this recipe, even though it has great reviews. I was a little leery since their was no sugar listed in the cake part of the recipe, so I doubled the streusel topping, other than that, I made the recipe as written. It came out pretty dry, and although it had a gingerbread taste, it was not sweet enough, and very bland. No one really cared for this recipe that much. I'm sorry to rate this so low, but I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      AAA+++ Recipe! Balance of spices just perfect! Will definately make this one again :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Nobody really cared for this cake. It needs some perking up. It needs more spice or something. Also... the 9-inch pan is too big for this little cake. If you use the 9-inch pan I'd double the recipe and quadruple the spices (at the very least).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      Such a moist and delicious cake! Perfect for fall and Chirstmas time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      This was a lovely, moist, light cake. I used treacle in place of molasses, but otherwise followed the recipe. We particularly liked the topping. I think this would be nice, split in two, and sandwiched together with whipped cream and lemon butter. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      This cake is wonderful! It is fluffy and moist. Often gingerbread cakes have other spices like cinnamon and cloves as well as ginger. I really liked that this one only had ginger. With the molasses the flavor was excellent. I also really liked that the only sweetner in the cake part of the cake was the molasses. The strusel topping added great flavor and made for a very pretty cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This the THE perfect dessert for a small family! I used a combination of molasses and golden syrup - oh yum! I served it with French Vanilla and Cinnamon ice cream. This was so easy! Too easy! It was a great dessert and wonderful with coffee the next morning!! Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Excellent! I add just a touch of cinnamon to the cake batter too. I also baked in a round pie plate. Such a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This was sooo good! i really liked the streusel topping, first gingerbread i had with one! After reading Fairy Nuff's review i added ginger to my whipped cream and it was sooo yummy! THanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      How I love this cake. It is so light and airy with such lovely flavour. Made to the recipe except I subbed golden syrup for the molasses...and I floured my cake pan after greasing. I served this with fresh whipped cream - but what I'd like to do next time is add some chinese preserved ginger to the cream...mmmm yum!! This would be a great cake to whip up for unexpected guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      Good and easy! I chose this recipe to use up some sorghum mollasses I had in the cupboard and so glad I did! Very easy and perfect for after school or a middle-of-the-week supper. We had it plain but think this would be wonderful with ice cream or topped with whipped cream. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread Streusel Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.9
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    26%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 24.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 173.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites