12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My kids wanted gingerbread NOW so I went looking for a quick recipe. This worked! I didn't add the streusel topping. I liked that it wasn't too sweet and used molasses (I used blackstrap molasses) instead of white sugar. I doubled the ground ginger since I usually like much more (3-5x) ground ginger than a recipe specifies. NEXT TIME I *won't* double the ginger, and I'll make it in a smaller pan - maybe 9" round instead. Some day I might even get around to trying it with the streusel topping and billing it as a coffee cake, but for now ... when the kids want gingerbread in a hurry, I'm using this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope November 15, 2011

One of the local resturants in our area offers this on their menu and it is so delicious. I thought I would try to make it for New Years Day. I was disappointed with this recipe, even though it has great reviews. I was a little leery since their was no sugar listed in the cake part of the recipe, so I doubled the streusel topping, other than that, I made the recipe as written. It came out pretty dry, and although it had a gingerbread taste, it was not sweet enough, and very bland. No one really cared for this recipe that much. I'm sorry to rate this so low, but I won't be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
october sky January 06, 2007

AAA+++ Recipe! Balance of spices just perfect! Will definately make this one again :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne November 28, 2006

Nobody really cared for this cake. It needs some perking up. It needs more spice or something. Also... the 9-inch pan is too big for this little cake. If you use the 9-inch pan I'd double the recipe and quadruple the spices (at the very least).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge September 28, 2006

Such a moist and delicious cake! Perfect for fall and Chirstmas time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 September 22, 2006

This was a lovely, moist, light cake. I used treacle in place of molasses, but otherwise followed the recipe. We particularly liked the topping. I think this would be nice, split in two, and sandwiched together with whipped cream and lemon butter. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream July 10, 2006

This cake is wonderful! It is fluffy and moist. Often gingerbread cakes have other spices like cinnamon and cloves as well as ginger. I really liked that this one only had ginger. With the molasses the flavor was excellent. I also really liked that the only sweetner in the cake part of the cake was the molasses. The strusel topping added great flavor and made for a very pretty cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 12, 2006

This the THE perfect dessert for a small family! I used a combination of molasses and golden syrup - oh yum! I served it with French Vanilla and Cinnamon ice cream. This was so easy! Too easy! It was a great dessert and wonderful with coffee the next morning!! Thanks Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper June 10, 2006

Excellent! I add just a touch of cinnamon to the cake batter too. I also baked in a round pie plate. Such a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 June 09, 2006

This was sooo good! i really liked the streusel topping, first gingerbread i had with one! After reading Fairy Nuff's review i added ginger to my whipped cream and it was sooo yummy! THanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K October 23, 2005
Gingerbread Streusel Cake