18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good recipe, BUT I substituted GINGER for the cloves and added a Teaspoon of CLOVES, not a TABLESPOON. I also added a half Teaspoon of salt and some raisins and toasted walnuts. They turned out moist and spicy. Just the way a "Ginger" bread is supposed to be. I made 8 mini loaves, 12 muffins and a small cake in a heart-shaped copper jello mold. My family and friends were delighted. I frosted some of the muffins with vanilla frosting and Christmas sprinkles for a festive look. The heart-shaped cake got a dusting of confectionery sugar. Now, THAT'S CHRISTMAS!!! Happy Holidays!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BartW December 20, 2010

I kept wavering between 3 and 4 stars. I made these exactly per the recipe, though I was surprised that it called for equal amounts of cloves and ginger. I added 1t of cinnamon. The muffins had a WONDERFUL flavor (5 stars for flavor) but were totally NOT gingerbread flavor to me (3 stars for meeting my expectations). I think these would have been better titled "Clove-ginger muffins" because clove is by far the dominant taste. So for me - great taste, great texture, freeze wonderfully, but a total letdown on the gingerbread flavor. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom November 16, 2006

These were good the day they were baked, but were much better the next day. I didn't make any changes other than scaling the recipe to 1/3, as I intended to just make a dozen muffins and didn't plan to refrigerate batter for later use (I ended up with 8 muffins). Great flavor--thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ February 06, 2006

I agree with Bart regarding decreasing the clove and adding salt. It seemed like too much butter so I substituted applesauce for 1/2 the butter without issue. Also added < tsp of washed raw (coarse) sugar to the tops of each muffin before baking. Because I made this to share at work there was none left to put in the frig for later. This will be a recipe to use over and over again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane B. December 18, 2013

These taste great. I've never made gingerbread before and had to make something last minute for my son's winter concert reception. They were easy to make and I used a simple white icing on top. They are really good without icing too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraLand December 11, 2012

For tasty breakfst or snack muffins, I often add any kind of chopped dried fruit, chopped toasted walnuts or pecans and I also substitute 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 c white flour. Using the small, dainty muffin pans bakes up super lunch box bites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariannette December 15, 2008

Great, the flavor isn't overpowering, and the convenience of having the batter ready to make as you need to is very nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KlynnPadilla January 12, 2008

Very nice! Left the house smelling beautiful. Very tasty muffin. A bit on the crumbly side, but that's because I didn't add as much butter but more hot water. Made 12 nice sized muffins and there is left over batter sitting in my fridge, just waiting for the next batch! Good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany January 07, 2008

These are delicious Marie. Crumbly with a nice but not overpowering molasses flavor. I didn't have brown sugar so I substituted regular sugar with a little extra molasses. Next time I will try adding fresh ginger!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~heidi~ December 14, 2007
Gingerbread Muffins