Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingerbread Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread Muffins

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2010

      This is a good recipe, BUT I substituted GINGER for the cloves and added a Teaspoon of CLOVES, not a TABLESPOON. I also added a half Teaspoon of salt and some raisins and toasted walnuts. They turned out moist and spicy. Just the way a "Ginger" bread is supposed to be. I made 8 mini loaves, 12 muffins and a small cake in a heart-shaped copper jello mold. My family and friends were delighted. I frosted some of the muffins with vanilla frosting and Christmas sprinkles for a festive look. The heart-shaped cake got a dusting of confectionery sugar. Now, THAT'S CHRISTMAS!!! Happy Holidays!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I kept wavering between 3 and 4 stars. I made these exactly per the recipe, though I was surprised that it called for equal amounts of cloves and ginger. I added 1t of cinnamon. The muffins had a WONDERFUL flavor (5 stars for flavor) but were totally NOT gingerbread flavor to me (3 stars for meeting my expectations). I think these would have been better titled "Clove-ginger muffins" because clove is by far the dominant taste. So for me - great taste, great texture, freeze wonderfully, but a total letdown on the gingerbread flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      These were good the day they were baked, but were much better the next day. I didn't make any changes other than scaling the recipe to 1/3, as I intended to just make a dozen muffins and didn't plan to refrigerate batter for later use (I ended up with 8 muffins). Great flavor--thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      I agree with Bart regarding decreasing the clove and adding salt. It seemed like too much butter so I substituted applesauce for 1/2 the butter without issue. Also added < tsp of washed raw (coarse) sugar to the tops of each muffin before baking. Because I made this to share at work there was none left to put in the frig for later. This will be a recipe to use over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      These taste great. I've never made gingerbread before and had to make something last minute for my son's winter concert reception. They were easy to make and I used a simple white icing on top. They are really good without icing too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

    • on December 15, 2008

      For tasty breakfst or snack muffins, I often add any kind of chopped dried fruit, chopped toasted walnuts or pecans and I also substitute 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 c white flour. Using the small, dainty muffin pans bakes up super lunch box bites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Great, the flavor isn't overpowering, and the convenience of having the batter ready to make as you need to is very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Very nice! Left the house smelling beautiful. Very tasty muffin. A bit on the crumbly side, but that's because I didn't add as much butter but more hot water. Made 12 nice sized muffins and there is left over batter sitting in my fridge, just waiting for the next batch! Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      These are delicious Marie. Crumbly with a nice but not overpowering molasses flavor. I didn't have brown sugar so I substituted regular sugar with a little extra molasses. Next time I will try adding fresh ginger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      i just made these they barely took any time at all it was so simply and i added cinnimon and they where perfect. i do recommend using alittle less flour though because i did and they are perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      These are so good! I used blackstrap molasses, reduced the cloves to 1 teaspoon and added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and allspice. I also substituted 1/2 c. whole wheat flour because I ran out of white. The muffins were dense and moist with a nice spicy, rich gingerbread flavor. I used standard size muffin pans and got 24 muffins with just a tiny bit of batter leftover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I love the flavor of these! I just made these and they really mix up quickly...which is a definite bonus! I only used 2/3 cup margarine and baked between 15-20 min. A keeper for sure! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      Awesome muffins- smell great baking !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      Yay! Gingerbread & muffins. I made these last night when I was craving carbs after two (failed) weeks on the South Beach diet. I subbed wheat flour for the white flour. Perhaps that's why mine came out a bit denser and flatter than the picture. I didn't have cloves so I used cinammon and I stirred in a 1/3 cup of oatmeal for some additional texture/fiber. These were delicious and they came out so pretty from the molasses! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      It was nice to make the batter up with my kids, then bake it later when I had time. These are good, spicey muffins. We enjoyed them and I know the kids will request them again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      These are some really nice muffins ... I was surprised ... They came out about as close to gingerbread cake as you can get, and still declare them muffins! Love the convenience of making only a few at a time (I made six) and saving the rest of the batter in the fridge for another day. Neat recipe, Marie ... Thanks for posting ... We did enjoy! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      These are good and very convenient. It's nice to have the batter in the fridge and be able to pop a few in the oven when needed. I didn't have any cloves so I just added some cinnamon and a little nutmeg for a little extra spice. Raisins might also be a good addition if you wanted something else in them. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1635 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.8
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    34%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 29.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 161.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes