41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was just the recipe that I was searching for! Easy to make and very tasty. We made these cookies last year with the kids and plan on making them again this year.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cnjgilbert September 10, 2001

This recipe was GREAT! I made these for my 5yo's Kindie class to decorate and had rave reviews from parents that got a taste too! Very easy recipe to follow and bake!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakersDozen Down South December 19, 2002

WOW!!!! I don't usually like Gingerbread cookies but these were yummy!!! I had my niece and nephews over and thought they would like to decorate Gingerbread Men and tried these, and this was the perfect choice. I don't usually make roll out cookies and had a little trouble with cutting the cookies and transferring them to the cookie sheet. I finally found the trick. Roll out 1/4 of the dough on wax paper, then put back in the refrigerator for 5 min to harden up again, cut the cookies, then lay the wax paper cookies side down on the cookie sheet and peel away the wax paper. I put a hole in the top of the cookies so we could put ribbon through it so we could hang them on the Christmas tree. I used Crawfish Pie's cookie frosting Cookie Frosting for the icing and it was perfect!!!!! I used large cookie cutters and this only made about 12 cookies, but it was enough. THANKS!!!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Chandler January 03, 2003

very good!!!!i added a little extra spice for an extra kick.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meatymeatball December 10, 2002

For those who don't care for the flavor of molasses: When I was getting ready to bake these, I found I didn't have enough molasses, so I substituted clear corn syrup for most of it, and brown sugar for the granulated sugar, and they came out as good as with the original recipe, but milder in flavor. I also use the same technique as Virginia Chandler: I lightly flour the dough and then roll it out between sheets of waxed paper, then put it on a cookie sheet to harden it in the freezer before I cut out the cookies. Wonderful results every year!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane D. December 25, 2010

Good reliable gingerbread man recipe. A trifle on the dry side during the preparation so I had to add a couple of splotches of milk to sop up the excess dry ingredients. Probably due to the smaller of my chickens supplying the egg LOL. Nice taste too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat April 12, 2003

This is a great easy recipe. Very mild flavor but still a nice ginger taste. I followed the instructions but I doubled the recipe. It worked great. I cut the cookies out and placed them on the sheet pan in the freezer for about 10 min before baking to help keep there shape and not spread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Hillbilly Chef December 09, 2014

I love this recipe! The dough is easy to handle - I did take some other reviewers' hints and broke the dough into batches, left one in the fridge while I cut one out. I also rolled them out on wax paper to make it easier. If you roll them too thin they get crunchy in less than 10 minutes of baking - if you like a soft cookie keep the dough at a fat 1/4". I doubled the recipe and got 39 gingerdead men, about 5" tall. Everyone at the office party loved them too - none survived!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onlyjennyodie October 31, 2013

This recipe was not only easy to put together, the cookies are also delicious, and I don't break my teeth off on them, cause some Gingerbread men recipes cook up as hard as rocks. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valrie W. September 29, 2013

I really hate any cookie that I need to roll out dough, but I needed a gingerbread man recipe for a school activity so I decided to give this one a try. It was a breeze! It is a really tasty recipe, and the cookies come out firm enough to decorate easily, but soft enough to be appetizing. I didn't even need my rolling pin, I just pressed the dough out evenly and they baked perfectly. Next time I will reduce the cloves and the salt a bit, but otherwise perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mara V December 09, 2012
Gingerbread Men