Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingerbread/Gingerbread Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread/Gingerbread Cake

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2003

      Oh, this was so wonderful. I am not much of a sweet eater but good homemade gingerbread is something that I really like. Your recipe instructions were very easy to follow. Had a delicious flavor and soft, tender texture. I ate mine plain but the rest of my family wanted whipped cream on top. A wonderful wintertime dessert. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      I loved this recipe too; because my Mom's diabetic, and loves ginger, and so I substituted Sugar Twin for the sugar, and used Corn syrup, as I didn't have Molasses on hand. This recipe in my opinion was on the best I've found; because although it still calls for two kinds of sweeteners, it was less sweet than others I had looked at. As previously stated by the other two who reviewed it, I agree it was easy to make; and I added to My Cookbook, as I would definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing your Grandma's recipe, she must have been a wonderful lady, these kind of memeories are priceless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      This is one heck of a good gingerbread recipe. Love how easy it is to mix together and bake. We blobbed whip cream on top, and WOW, it really hit the spot! Thanks so much for sharing, SK. You've got a winner here! Your Gram must've been a dandy cook! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Very good gingerbread- I typically add nearly double spices to everything anyway, so this turned out as spciy as I would normally like. I have to say that I was a bit panicked at the lack of baking time..."till it's done" makes me worry. I baked it for 37 minutes and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This has the promise to be a really nice cake; however, it really needs a specified cooking time. Unfortunately, mine ending up dry from being somewhat overbaked. There is no time given in the recipe directions, but the cook time at the top of the page indicated 40 minutes, so that's what I did. This couldn't be easier, though, and I hope to try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Wow! And WOW!, again!!! If you bake gingerbread for no other reason than the scent it gives your home, you win. Then, you end up with an amazingly simple dessert, and that's an added bonus. I read all reviews: added heaping teaspoons of mace, ginger and nutmeg. Left out cinnamon because we don't like it. Used one 6 ounce container of lemon yogurt plus the grated rind of a lemon and a 1/4 cup of snipped crystalized ginger...sublime!!!! Baked it for 40 minutes; mine was done by that time. I'll be making this weekly during the cold winter months. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Yum yum yum! We loved this recipe, even though my cake fell. I live at high altitude and probably should have added another 1/4 cup of flour. I used sour cream in place of the sour milk because it needed to be used (so, I suppose that could have been the problem, but I doubt it). I doubled all of the spices. Served it with Kittencal's caramel sauce (Kittencal's Brown Sugar Caramel Sauce or Ice Cream Topping) and whipped cream. It was absolutely divine and we ate every last spec! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      My first attempt at gingerbread and I loved it! My husband, not so much. I served it with whipped cream. He suggested it would be better with white frosting. Next time I will try the suggestion of part honey/part molasses.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      this tasted really great, so soft and moist. I substituted sour milk for buttermilk, and used butter instead of shortening and it worked out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      This was a good gingerbread recipe and easy to make. I used applesauce instead of the shortening and split the flour between all purpose and whole wheat. It baked for 45 minutes. We enjoyed it warm with my grandmother's lemon sauce on top. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Too molasses-y for me as written. I did however run out of molasses for my 2nd cake (making it for gifts), and I substituted honey, which still made for a lovely cake. This is a dense, rich, spicy cake and is easy to make. I'll keep it in my cookbook, but I'll probably make it half honey, half molasses in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      I had to make a few modifications - I used vegie oil instead of shortening and golden syrup instead of molasses - it still turned out very nicely. It needed a little more spice for my tastes though, but I was cautious and put level teaspoons of ginger etc, next time I will make them rounded and I think that will make a nice difference. Some plain icing would go nicely on this to though... Great recipe! Easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      Made this tonight and it is wonderful! First time I made homemade gingerbread. I will make this again and soon. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      We used this recipe in a gingerbread house shaped bundt cake pan. Then we decorated it. It had a deep spiced flavor, and it held up well to the icing and candy on top. Didn't quite fill my pan, so I may need to double it and then just bake the extra in a separate pan in hue he future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      I've made three gingerbread recipes in my life. This has a nice spice and looked perfect (rose very high), but is easily the driest. I followed the instructions exactly. There is no time given for baking, but I estimated it to be 40 minutes based on experience, and it tested done at 40. It is a bit too strong on the molasses in my opinion (I was baking for young children), so I would use a lighter variety or sub half honey. You could probably also get better results with buttermilk rather than "sour milk". In summary, there are better recipes to be found, but one could experiment with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This has a good gingerbread flavor. Not too sweet. A definite keeper. We ate it with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. It tastes great either way. Also really good with pumpkin ice cream when in season. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    • on December 25, 2008

      My mom likes this a lot. I thought it a bit blander than I expected, but still worth four stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This is the exact recipe that my Grandmother made for us as kids and is my brothers absolute favorite cake. I can't wait to send it to him for the holiday. We have been looking for this recipe since she passed away. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Beautiful! It truely was. And so simple too! Thank you for the recipe, it will come in very handy with this up and coming Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread/Gingerbread Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.8
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    37%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 43.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 322.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites