31 Reviews

Oh, this was so wonderful. I am not much of a sweet eater but good homemade gingerbread is something that I really like. Your recipe instructions were very easy to follow. Had a delicious flavor and soft, tender texture. I ate mine plain but the rest of my family wanted whipped cream on top. A wonderful wintertime dessert. Thanks.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' February 19, 2003

I loved this recipe too; because my Mom's diabetic, and loves ginger, and so I substituted Sugar Twin for the sugar, and used Corn syrup, as I didn't have Molasses on hand. This recipe in my opinion was on the best I've found; because although it still calls for two kinds of sweeteners, it was less sweet than others I had looked at. As previously stated by the other two who reviewed it, I agree it was easy to make; and I added to My Cookbook, as I would definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing your Grandma's recipe, she must have been a wonderful lady, these kind of memeories are priceless.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakergurl04 March 27, 2003

This is one heck of a good gingerbread recipe. Love how easy it is to mix together and bake. We blobbed whip cream on top, and WOW, it really hit the spot! Thanks so much for sharing, SK. You've got a winner here! Your Gram must've been a dandy cook! Laudee

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee December 23, 2002

Very good gingerbread- I typically add nearly double spices to everything anyway, so this turned out as spciy as I would normally like. I have to say that I was a bit panicked at the lack of baking time..."till it's done" makes me worry. I baked it for 37 minutes and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven December 24, 2007

This has the promise to be a really nice cake; however, it really needs a specified cooking time. Unfortunately, mine ending up dry from being somewhat overbaked. There is no time given in the recipe directions, but the cook time at the top of the page indicated 40 minutes, so that's what I did. This couldn't be easier, though, and I hope to try again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 18, 2012

Wow! And WOW!, again!!! If you bake gingerbread for no other reason than the scent it gives your home, you win. Then, you end up with an amazingly simple dessert, and that's an added bonus. I read all reviews: added heaping teaspoons of mace, ginger and nutmeg. Left out cinnamon because we don't like it. Used one 6 ounce container of lemon yogurt plus the grated rind of a lemon and a 1/4 cup of snipped crystalized ginger...sublime!!!! Baked it for 40 minutes; mine was done by that time. I'll be making this weekly during the cold winter months. THANK YOU!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef January 14, 2009

this tasted really great, so soft and moist. I substituted sour milk for buttermilk, and used butter instead of shortening and it worked out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shooter77 May 10, 2010

Yum yum yum! We loved this recipe, even though my cake fell. I live at high altitude and probably should have added another 1/4 cup of flour. I used sour cream in place of the sour milk because it needed to be used (so, I suppose that could have been the problem, but I doubt it). I doubled all of the spices. Served it with Kittencal's caramel sauce (Kittencal's Brown Sugar Caramel Sauce or Ice Cream Topping) and whipped cream. It was absolutely divine and we ate every last spec! Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TerriB December 08, 2009

My first attempt at gingerbread and I loved it! My husband, not so much. I served it with whipped cream. He suggested it would be better with white frosting. Next time I will try the suggestion of part honey/part molasses.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARJORIE M. October 15, 2011

This was a good gingerbread recipe and easy to make. I used applesauce instead of the shortening and split the flour between all purpose and whole wheat. It baked for 45 minutes. We enjoyed it warm with my grandmother's lemon sauce on top. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy13 April 15, 2010
Gingerbread/Gingerbread Cake