Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingerbread (For Cookies or a Gingerbread House) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread (For Cookies or a Gingerbread House)

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2008

      Great tasting, fairly staight forward in a complicated way, haha. I like mine a bit softer so I've shortened the bake time to 9 min, they're kinda fragile but deliciously fluffy. I didn't have time to finish baking my other half, so I stuck it in the refrigerator, and warning to future bakers, this is NOT A GOOD IDEA. I was able to salvage it by crumbling into pieces and adding some water and kneeding it back together, but the refrigerator really made it very dry and hard(literally) to work with. Aside from that, this recipe is fabulous. Absolutely wonderful texture. Thank you! [MLP]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      easy, quick and tasty - loved the fact that the dough didn't have to chill

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I made this at Christmastime, for houses and cookies. I made the first 2 batches with molasses as stated. It was PERFECT! It was very easy to work with, as the recipe states. It was perfect. When I went to make batch 3, I didn't have enough molasses and used dark brown corn syrup (I found the substitution online) THAT batch was horrible, it was sticky and not nearly as tasty. I threw that stuff out and went back and made 2 more batches exactly as the recipe states, with molasses, and those two batches were perfect like the first two! This has become my favorite recipe. The smell and taste were wonderful and the dough was soft and fun to work with, that warm dough in your hands is almost therapeutic! (Just don't substitute anything, follow the recipe as written!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Our gingerbread house is about 10 days old now and its still standing strong and making the house smell wonderful! We built a monstrosity, and made this recipe over and over again and every batch came out fabulous. Tip: If the dough seems too stiff to roll out, add 1 tsp water at a time, working the dough thoroughly in between to make sure you aren't adding too much. Conversely, if the dough is too gooey, sprinkle flour generously as you flatten and roll out. I recommend a silicone sheet for rolling, then you cut away what you don't want and transfer the silicone sheet with the dough on it directly to your cookie sheet and bake! Use the sheet again to remove the baked piece to a cooling table. This will save HUGE amounts of frustration, I promise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Was great to work with however I don't think it would have yielded 3 houses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Tough enough to make a sturdy gingerbread house, yet snappy and delicious. Made one large gingerbread house and about 12 cookies. This is going in the permanent Christmas file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Tripled this recipe - rolled out every scrap of dough perfectly! Loved not having to dust the countertop with flour. Baked 13 sets of 'gingerbread nativity sets'........now for the fun of icing and decorating. Couldn't have chosen a better recipe for my first attempt at baking with gingerbread!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I liked this recipe for a few reasons. First, because I was able to roll it out pretty thin and it still held up to what seemed like lbs and lbs of icing/candy. Second, because of it's ease. Third, and maybe most importantly, it was delicious. I'm not one for crunchy style cookies but this proved to be very tasty. Especially with coffee. We let some guests demolish our leftover gingerbread houses during a party and they were raving at how good it tasted. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      I made one batch of this recipe (I didn't have allspice or cloves so I bumped up the ginger and cinnamon a bit) and it made one large gingerbread house (the roof pieces were 10" by 4", the walls were 9" by 6" and the end pieces were 9" by 4.5"). I had enough dough left over to make a couple snowmen and Christmas trees to decorate with. I LOVED that this was a one pot recipe and that the dough didn't have to chill. I was afraid that it wouldn't all come together, but when I kneaded it on the counter the dough did finally come together smoothly. Next year I'll be doubling the batch to make two houses and we'll have a friendly competition over who can decorate theirs the best! I did roll out half the dough on the baking pan (and cut away the parts I didn't need) and half of it on the counter. Rolling on the pan was really worth it to me because those pieces were much less wonky once they were baked than the ones I transfered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Made one batch last night and another one already today. Made 3 houses and tons of various cookies. I used only about 3 cups of flour per batch. This is my first attempt at a homemade gingerbread house, and I see no need to look for another recipe. This is perfect. Now, time to decorate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I loved the baking soda part, its so fun to watch foam up. I found the first batch wasnt sweet enouph for my taste so i added in an extra half cup of sugar without any problem. I am making a ginger bread house and will continue using this recipe for years to come for houses because its fun, the dough rolls out like play dough, and the rectangular shapes keep thier form very well! Very wonderful recipe, thank-you for sharing:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      We really enjoyed this gingerbread. The dough was a little fiddly in the beginning, but once you work it and get it warmed a little it's great to work with. I did half the dough one day and half the next - the second batch was far better, since the spices had time to work their way through all of the dough. I think I might add a little salt next time to really bring out the flavour. Great with a lemony glaze!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      We made four 4"x5" houses and one batch of dough would probably have been sufficient if they were made pretty thin....We went ahead and doubled it though and had enough for lots of gingerbread men as well. We crush candies to put in the windows (bake these pieces over a piece of foil). Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This was a great recipe to make a gingerbread house! Worked wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      Delicious and easy. I used sorghum instead of molasses (I honestly don't know the difference

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      This is the most fantastic gingerbread recipe I have ever tasted! I thought it was strange at first that you boil the ingredients and mix it together in the pot, but it made the process so easy and the clean-up was quick. The dough is great to work with, I did not need any extra flour at all to roll it out, and I loved that I could use it right away and not refrigerate it. I tripled the ingredients and made 3 large gingerbread houses from it, with not a scrap of dough left over. This is now my go to recipe for gingerbread, I will never use another recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Easiest gingerbread recipe I've ever encountered. Made according to directions but leaving out 3/4 cup flour for kneadjng on the counter. Only required 1/2 cup due to humidity. Dough rolled out thinly and evenky without sticking to the counter (no flour required) and releasef from cutters perfectly. These baked with a slight puff but otherwise maintained their sharp edges which I love. No mlre fat and wide gingerbread men or houses. Was able to get 33 mini gingerbread houses and a dozen mini men from this recipe doubled. Absolutely no scraps! Will use it every year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      I made these cookies back at Christmas time, and forgot to rate the recipe. The dough worked up to a great texture, and was easy to roll and bake. I made gingerbread men and Christmas trees and decorated them with squeeze bottle icing (I know, that's cheating). Not only was the dough easy to work with, the cookies tasted great, and my entire family liked them a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      Very good recipe! Thank you! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      This is the least complicated gingerbread dough recipe I've found!! The directions are easy to follow, and while it took a little time, it was not nearly as bad as I feared it would be. My children were able to help! Also, I had rolling out dough, but this was easy. It handles well and tastes great!! The whole house smells amazing! I'm using this to make my very first gingerbread house. I'm not sure how well the template I used will work, but I know that if it doesn't stay together it's not because of the dough!!!

      Stacey

      PS- I did use butter instead of margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread (For Cookies or a Gingerbread House)

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.8
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    26%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 5.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 103.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites