104 Reviews

Our gingerbread house is about 10 days old now and its still standing strong and making the house smell wonderful! We built a monstrosity, and made this recipe over and over again and every batch came out fabulous. Tip: If the dough seems too stiff to roll out, add 1 tsp water at a time, working the dough thoroughly in between to make sure you aren't adding too much. Conversely, if the dough is too gooey, sprinkle flour generously as you flatten and roll out. I recommend a silicone sheet for rolling, then you cut away what you don't want and transfer the silicone sheet with the dough on it directly to your cookie sheet and bake! Use the sheet again to remove the baked piece to a cooling table. This will save HUGE amounts of frustration, I promise!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elielia January 02, 2009

Great tasting, fairly staight forward in a complicated way, haha. I like mine a bit softer so I've shortened the bake time to 9 min, they're kinda fragile but deliciously fluffy. I didn't have time to finish baking my other half, so I stuck it in the refrigerator, and warning to future bakers, this is NOT A GOOD IDEA. I was able to salvage it by crumbling into pieces and adding some water and kneeding it back together, but the refrigerator really made it very dry and hard(literally) to work with. Aside from that, this recipe is fabulous. Absolutely wonderful texture. Thank you! [MLP]

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn December 07, 2008

easy, quick and tasty - loved the fact that the dough didn't have to chill

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay December 21, 2009

I made this at Christmastime, for houses and cookies. I made the first 2 batches with molasses as stated. It was PERFECT! It was very easy to work with, as the recipe states. It was perfect. When I went to make batch 3, I didn't have enough molasses and used dark brown corn syrup (I found the substitution online) THAT batch was horrible, it was sticky and not nearly as tasty. I threw that stuff out and went back and made 2 more batches exactly as the recipe states, with molasses, and those two batches were perfect like the first two! This has become my favorite recipe. The smell and taste were wonderful and the dough was soft and fun to work with, that warm dough in your hands is almost therapeutic! (Just don't substitute anything, follow the recipe as written!)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iceitup February 04, 2009

Was great to work with however I don't think it would have yielded 3 houses.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starcie January 23, 2008

I made one batch of this recipe (I didn't have allspice or cloves so I bumped up the ginger and cinnamon a bit) and it made one large gingerbread house (the roof pieces were 10" by 4", the walls were 9" by 6" and the end pieces were 9" by 4.5"). I had enough dough left over to make a couple snowmen and Christmas trees to decorate with. I LOVED that this was a one pot recipe and that the dough didn't have to chill. I was afraid that it wouldn't all come together, but when I kneaded it on the counter the dough did finally come together smoothly. Next year I'll be doubling the batch to make two houses and we'll have a friendly competition over who can decorate theirs the best! I did roll out half the dough on the baking pan (and cut away the parts I didn't need) and half of it on the counter. Rolling on the pan was really worth it to me because those pieces were much less wonky once they were baked than the ones I transfered.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two January 02, 2013

Tough enough to make a sturdy gingerbread house, yet snappy and delicious. Made one large gingerbread house and about 12 cookies. This is going in the permanent Christmas file!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice January 13, 2011

Tripled this recipe - rolled out every scrap of dough perfectly! Loved not having to dust the countertop with flour. Baked 13 sets of 'gingerbread nativity sets'........now for the fun of icing and decorating. Couldn't have chosen a better recipe for my first attempt at baking with gingerbread!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marg frers December 11, 2010

I liked this recipe for a few reasons. First, because I was able to roll it out pretty thin and it still held up to what seemed like lbs and lbs of icing/candy. Second, because of it's ease. Third, and maybe most importantly, it was delicious. I'm not one for crunchy style cookies but this proved to be very tasty. Especially with coffee. We let some guests demolish our leftover gingerbread houses during a party and they were raving at how good it tasted. Thanks for the keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaXmama February 02, 2010

This is a great foundation recipe but the changes I made were too significant to warrant 5 stars for tasty gingerbread cookies. After reading several reviews and making two batches here are the final changes I made to the recipe: 1) used butter, not margarine (but only because I had butter); 2) 2 teaspoons ground ginger 3) 1.5 teaspoons ground cinnamon 4) 1.25 teaspoons ground cloves 5) about 3 cups total flour (2.5 cups to make initial dough, and 0.5 cups for the kneading and rolling of dough). 6) baked 11 minutes This resulted in dark, flavorful, ever-so-slightly soft in the middle gingerbread cookies my 4-year old son said he liked and would eat everyday (if I let him). They're not particularly sweet which is perfect for icing. I'm pretty sure if I rolled the dough more thinly (just under 1/4 inch) the cookies would be crispy. I also think using all of the flour would help create stronger cookies for a gingerbread house (3 cups for the initial dough, 0.5 cups for kneading and rolling). I made the first batch by following the recipe except I used butter (because that's what I had), and the reduced flour but while the raw cookie dough tasted great, the baked cookies were bland. If I were making a gingerbread house with no intention of eating it I probably wouldn't mind but if you're making something to eat then it can't just look good, it has to taste good. But, I still think it's a great recipe because it's so easy and quick. Definitely worth trying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cue-Fenick December 19, 2014
Gingerbread (For Cookies or a Gingerbread House)