9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had posted this recipe myself (#120512) and when I checked it was not here, but I guess because I kept it as a "private recipe" before posting, you also posted it. I made this to go in my gingerbread gift bag for all the teachers, along with Gingerbread Scones (Gift Bag) Gingerbread Scones (Gift Bag), Gingerbread Truffles Gingerbread Truffles, and Crockpot Apple Butter Crock Pot Apple Butter. I found that 5 minutes was too long for boiling and after the first batch I decreased it to about 3 minutes and it seemed to work better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 27, 2005

I used a large pot to successfully avoid the issue others had with boil over. I also used one teaspoon of baking soda and one tablespoon of ginger. It is not clear in the recipe, but I divided the popcorn between two 9x13 pans and halved the boiled mixture between both. I strongly suggest someone help stir one pan as you stir the other. This sets pretty fast. The recipe provides plenty of coating and crunch. I'm going to make this again tomorrow and drizzle a very light amount of melted white chocolate or icing on top of the cooled popcorn to improve the presentation. I made two batches. In shared photo: (left) used dark brown sugar and drizzled with white chocolate, (right) followed recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 14, 2014

Yummy! I think this would make great Christmas gifts. I used the whole tbsp of ginger; it sort of gives the aroma of ginger snap cookies. I also used the full tsp of baking soda and didn't have a problem with it foaming too much (maybe my baking soda was a little on the old side, so it didn't react as much as it would have if it were fresh?).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Book Worm August 24, 2009

Fabulous tasting candy!! I followed the recipe exactly & like the flavour!! I also like that there is a large portion of candy to popcorn - made it really easy to coat the popcorn. I found that the candy ended up somewhat granular instead of smooth & crispy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 04, 2009

I was concerned that the amount of ground ginger is incorrect and only used a teaspoon instead of a Tablespoon. Great flavor, but I would suggest using only 1/2 tsp of baking soda (or you will be cleaning the foaming monster off your stove afterward). Because I used the full teaspoon of baking soda, I did not get a smooth caramel "glaze" over the popcorn like I expected. Instead, it remained somewhat bubbly-looking even after stirring and baking the popcorn. With that being said, I was still very impressed by how easy the recipe was and how delicious it was. The popcorn came apart very easily after baking, as well :) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the_cookie_lady January 02, 2009

I would give this recipe all the stars in the sky if I could. I found it a couple of years ago and made it for Christmas but now it is my mother's absolute favourite treat and I have to bring her some whenever I visit. We love sweets and this is rich and delicious and incredibly addictive.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soursugar November 12, 2008

Very yummy caramel corn. Great for a snack in the fall and a very nice-sized batch for filling up plastic bags and sharing with friends. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
norsecookie October 18, 2008

A bit too strong and rich for me. If I made it again I would use more popcorn or less topping to try to tone it down. Also, I would have been more careful stirring it because when it was done cooking about half of it had crumbled into small pieces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Santa's_Elf January 04, 2007

this rocks!! no other words fit but wow!! DS loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Costello July 16, 2006
Gingerbread Caramel Corn