11 Reviews

Very good cake. Doubled the recipe and served with whipped cream. Everybody loved it.<br/><br/>Didn't make the brown sugar sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebMK January 18, 2014

Loved the cake! <br/> Hated the sauce, even after adding butter to help with the taste! <br/>The cake can stand on its own without the additive of the sauce!<br/> If you really want to have it warmed up with a bit of vanilla ice cream! Delicious!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking bitch April 19, 2013

This was my first time baking a gingerbread cake. I doubled the all ingredients with the exception of the cinnamon that I increased to 1 1/2 teaspoon because I do love cinnamon. Baked in a 9x13 pan for about 37 minutes at the temperature stated. The cake is wonderful, so moist and a perfect balance of spices. Not too over powering in my opinion. Also made the Caramel Cream frosting! A perfect pairing! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
19islandgirl82 December 01, 2012

This Brown Sugar Sauce was such a great find! I've recently needed to find dairy-free, fat-free recipes for a relative and this sure is a nice way to top off a nice gingerbread or other kind of cake. Everyone liked it.

Nov./ 2011 - Just made this again and got rave reviews from everyone! I served it with the warm Brown Sugar Sauce, a little whipped cream and garnished it with sliced crystallized candied ginger. Fabulous! Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making November 22, 2011

This was great, I got my Husband to make it because I cant bake for the life of me. But I did make the sauce. We gave them out as gifts to our friends and family. Was an easy recipe with great results!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom January 01, 2009

Love it! Easy to throw together and the taste is super. The brown sugar sauce is an great added touch. My family enjoyed this and I will be putting this in with the keepers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW December 02, 2007

What a lovely cake and such a gorgeous colour and so easy to do - thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew September 21, 2007

Well I can't comment on cake as I didn't use this recipe, but I did make the brown sugar sauce. It went very nicely with gingerbread - the flavour was great. However, I found the texture to be too thick and glue-like. Still eatable but next time I would reduce the flour by 1 tablespoon or more. Oh and don't forget to cook the sauce for a good 5 minutes once it comes to the boil to remove any floury taste. I added some vanilla essence as well, gave it a nice flavour. My guests comments that the sauce tasted creamy and buttery - even though it doesn't have any butter or cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RuthB September 13, 2007

Just delicious. Nothing more to say but delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada May 17, 2007

This cake has such a nice flavor. Perfect for holiday time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 November 26, 2006
Gingerbread Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce