61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe last night for my fiancé's family and boy was it a hit! The cake was so moist and spicy - just the way I like it! I halved the sugar and it was plenty. I didn't have dark brown sugar, so I took golden sugar and added a tablespoon of molasses to it. I also didn't have any stout and I JUST ran out of coffee, so I steeped 3 bags of orange pekoe tea in 1 cup boiled water instead. Even with all of the alterations, it turned out great! I will definitely be making this again and next time I will try with stout.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Pardoe December 25, 2013

"AMAZING" was the general response at our Christmas party, as all 60+ people devoured the 3 batches I made for the event. My only changes to the recipe was adding lemon zest, as well as trading the stout for equal parts strong coffee as another reviewer suggested. I had coffee on hand, and no beer, so I gave it a try. An instant must-have for the holidays in our home from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
customstina December 18, 2009

The most delicious gingerbread cake you'll ever taste. I too, had problems with it sticking to the pan even after reading other reviews and greasing it heavily. No matter- the chunks were heavenly! Ate it over 3-4 days and just as delicious each day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jubie December 06, 2009

Delicious! This is a very dark, spicy, moist cake. develops a wonderful crispy-chewy crust on the outside. Be sure to grease/flour your pans well as the recipe says.. otherwise it will STICK!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey608 October 06, 2009

This was delightful... spicy... yummy... the pervect Gingerbread Cake!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newyorkjanie September 17, 2008

This is the REAL thing!!! Very Good. I did use Splenda rather than sugar and next time I intend to use an egg substitute. Loved this. TKS Lizzie-Babette!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee January 18, 2008

Wow! I'm in heaven. I've been a fan of gingerbread since I can remember. I had just never made one of my own. This was the first and last recipe I will ever use. The flavor was better than any I have tasted before. I usually like to share my baked goods so that I don't eat them all myself. So, before trying it, I took it to work. It worked out that only one other person had a chance to try the cake that day(other than myself).... sorry for them that they were busy that day. Because, instead of leaving the cake there for them to try the next day - I brought it home! They came looking for it - but it was gone! I kept telling myself it probably freezes well, but I couldnd't seem to part the next slice. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I may change is leave it in for an extra 5 minutes. (I think my oven runs low) Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SimplyCV January 06, 2008

FANTASTIC! I love gingerbread and this cake is full of flavor & super spicy. It does get better the longer it sets. I like to bake in a bundt pan and frost with simple white icing. Cream cheese frosting would be heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon in Podunk January 06, 2008

gingerbread with lemon sauce is our traditional dessert for Christmas dinner. This was the best gingerbread I've ever made or tasted! I could only find a large bottle of stout beer -- next time I think I'll make two cakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wandasevey December 26, 2007

This was GOOOOOOD! Really spicy and moist. Edited to add--it was even better after a few days!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryMc December 25, 2007
Gingerbread Cake (Spicy)