Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingerbread Cake (Spicy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread Cake (Spicy)

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2006

      Good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      this cake is wonderful. my only complaint was it not coming out of the pan well. despite that, this cake is awesome. follewed the recipe exactly, using outmeal stout beer. i baked several for christmas gifts and heard many a compliment! the cake stays moist for days and seems to flavor the longer it sits. definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      Updated review : still warm from the oven, I had been surprised how spicy it was (I loved it this way, just didn't expect it to be THAT spicy!), and I had also written in my first review : "But wow, this cake is just sooo good! I had a piece just a few minutes ago, still warm from the oven, and I have to say that I can hardly remember of a cake with a better texture : the inside is moist and some kind of a crisp, lightly caramellized crust formed on the outside, mmmmm.... So please serve this without icing not to lose the wonderful sensation of chewing this lovely little "crust". Ginger is the most prominent flavor, together with molasses." BUT the following day, the ginger and molasses flavors had mellowed and the cake had a more "balanced" taste. The cake didn't have such an impressive texture as the first day, but I have noticed that this often happens when I sub applesauce for part of the fat (see below), so I guess it didn't help, but it's still VERY good, plain or with cream cheese, peanut butter or soynut butter (yes, I have tried them all!). Now, here is the rest of my previous review, that still applies: By the way, I couldn't help making a few changes: I used 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole-wheat flour, halved both sugar amounts (as per another recipe from Gourmet VERY similar to this one, except for the sugars! It's called Gingerbread layer cake), using sucanat instead of brown sugar (and it came out sweet enough this way, IMHO), and used 1/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 3/4 cup oil. I baked it in a silicone bundt pan and I did have a little trouble unmolding it, but since it's my first time with this pan, I guess it's all my fault. Otherwise, very easy to make - just make sure you boil the molasses and beer in a pan at least twice as big as the liquid, 'cause the foam rises high. I baked the cake for 55 minutes because after 50, I was not sure it was done, but it was a bit too much, so next time, I'll stick with the 50 minutes. I made this cake trying different recipes for a birthday party I'm throughing in two weeks and I have to say that it's not exactly the kind of cake I would serve for a birthday party, but I will sure make it again a few weeks later... for Christmas!! Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      Great gingerbread!! I've made this many times. I use Guiness Stout. I try to boil the Guiness stout and molasses early in the day and let it cool on the stove so the smell dissipates. Very moist and addictive.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This was the hit of our Christmas in August fund raising event. This gingerbread is even better the stuff my Grandma used to bake & up till now, I thought that was unbeatable. Thaks, Lizzie Babette for a real keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This was amazing! It was spicy enough to satisfy even my mom (who is very choosy about gingerbread) and it made the whole house smell heavenly. It was so simple to make, too! I'm already planning to make this as Christmas gifts this year since we'll be on a tight budget with the new baby and all. People will think I've outdone myself, but they'll never know just how easy it is. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This is truley the best gingerbread I have had! easy to make!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This was definitely the best gingerbread I have ever made. I have never found the others I've made spicy enough, but this one was perfect. I made this a few days ago and there isn't any left now. Between the 4 of us we gobbled this up.I did sprinkle with the icing sugar but 2 who ate it did add cool whip to theirs. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      After trying your Bearnaise Butter/Steak recipe, I just had to check out your other recipes. I love gingerbread and haven't made it in years... so... I have to say this is the absolute best ever. I served it w/ Lemon Sauce (made from my grandmother's recipe)... YUMMMMMM!!!!! Thanks for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      Wow! This is delicious. Everyone loved it, even my 4-year old who normally doesn't like spicy stuff. This recipe caught my eye when I saw the word, "Guinness." It definitely adds a distinct texture/flavor that is hard to pin down. I will make this again (and it will probably be used for holiday gifts!). Thanks for sharing this with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      A bang in flavor and spice. This is a terrific recipe for a moist, sticky, tender crumbed cake with an enormous kick. It's a wonderful ginger/molasses blend that will delight. I did have a bit of sticking in my old bundt pan and will be purchasing a new one specifically because of this cake. It's a definite must try if you want a magnificent spice cake. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      OMG, this is some kinda gingerbread! It's real dark, real moist, and has lots of yummie, spicy tang ... YUM! I didn't have stout, so I subbed plain ole "Bud", and it didn't seem to hurt anything. Came out very good ... Even slid right out of the bundt pan cause I sprayed the pan with Pam Spray w/flour! Worked like a charm! Served with a blob of whip cream, and we really enjoyed! Thank You, Honorable Chef of the Day, it was my pleasure to try your wonderful recipe! Congratulations, Beth! Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      we like gingerbread and my hubby especially loves it when i make it. i found the oatmeal stout beer in a single big bottle at a grocery store and there was actually enough beer for 2 recipes, so i'll make 2 next time. i cooked it the day before as suggested to let the flavors develop and served it with whipped lite cream. i used a nonstick bundt pan and buttered it and sprinkled flour. it didn't stick at all later. i figured my usual pam oil spray wouldn't be enough to release the cake. thanks for a great gingerbread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      way too sweet! otherwise i think it would be really good. i will try again but next time i would use HALF the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I would love to try this recipe, but cannot use beer. Any ideas for a good subsitute?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

    • on December 02, 2006

      Big hit at my at-home Christmas party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      This bundt cake is wonderful!! Thank You for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      Oh my goodness! I would give this 10 stars if I could. You have outdone yourself with this recipe. This is the best gingerbread recipe in the world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Just thought I'd add this cute photo idea for a variation on serving this gingerbread. You can pop a whole gingerbread house into your mouth by cutting up the cake into shapes that form a house, sprinkle roof with confectioner's sugar and pipe doors and windows onto the house. A novel approach that I wanted to share with you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread Cake (Spicy)

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 663.6
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    30%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 69.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 199.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 109.9 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 75.2 g
    300%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites