Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gingerbread Cake (Spicy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread Cake (Spicy)

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2010

      YUM! This was my first attempt at a gingerbread, and I must say the recipe is amazing! Not too bland, not overwhelmingly spicy, nice moist consistancy with a chewy edge. I swapped the stout for 1 cup of espresso as another reviewer stated, and it tastes fine that way to me. I also did without the cardamon as I didn't have any on hand. My only "unhappiness" with this recipe is that even though I was heavily forwarned, this thing is STICKY!!!!!! I tried to put them in my mini bundt silicone cups, and out of 24 muffins made, I am left with 7 that are round. I greased them, floured them, did both (even though supposedly silicone has no need for it). I wound up eating most of the crumbs (the ones that my roommates managed NOT to steal- because it is super tasting!) and as for the rest I hope my family will forgive their apperance. Served warm with whipped cream, this recipe is perfect. Next year I'll pulling out a loaf pan to make it easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      The best! Not just the best gingerbread, possibly the best cake never. I have been making this recipe since I saw it posted on Smitten Kitchen, I make it in a bundt pan and it turns out reliably delicious every time. I do sub 1/2 cup of the oil with unsweetened applesauce, I have also tried a variety of stout beers. I believe guinness turns out the darkest, stickiest cake. Any way you decide to make this cake, you will love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      This gingerbread was very good. It was moist, yes, but it was not very gingerbread-y. I was expecting a gingerbread with much more robust flavor. It seemed to be something. For this reason, I am not giving it a five.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Exceptionally rich and moist. The best gingerbread recipe I have seen. I did not have the cardamon, unfortunately, but will try that next time. I found that 45 mins. was the correct baking time, at least for my oven. Give this a try, you will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      This is an exceptionally rich, spicy and moist gingerbread, I must say! I loved it! Adding the stout beer plus the cardamon gave it a very unique flavor, I think. I was a bit nervous at first about the outcome, but it came out beautifully. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I've already made this twice and getting ready for a 3rd. I love the spicyness and how moist this cake turns out. I made everything as the recipe calls for with the exception of cardamon which I don't have and wasn't able to locate in my stores. So it's been a hit and will most likely be a standard for many get togethers to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This was my first shot at making gingerbread cake, and it turned out amazing!! I used the Guninness Extra Stout, as well. I served it with a dollop of whip cream, and it went well with our spiked eggnog :) Keep an eye on the cake during the last few minutes of baking; it only took me 45 minutes to bake completely, then again I had the oven on all day from baking cookies, so I'm sure it was VERY pre-heated. Also, definitely don't skimp on the buttering and flouring of the bundt pan. If you think you've gone overboard with the amount of flour and butter, then you have the right amount. Mine didn't stick at all. Thanks, Lizzie-Babette, for a wonderful recipe that I will be making a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Excellent! I've made it twice now with Guinness Extra Stout beer. First was for a company potluck. I'll be taking this second one for the xmas get-together with family. Mine definitely looks a lot darker than the photo Erin R posted, so I posted a photo. This second time I got impatient and didn't wait for it to cool. When I attempted to lift it off the rack (from a toaster oven...kind of wide rails) the bottom fell out. I ate those pieces and tried to hide the evidence. Good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This was delicious! I don't have a fluted cake pan so I used two loaf pans instead. I also substituted dark coffee for the stout, as suggested, and added pieces of crystallized ginger. The only problem was that I had a hard time getting it out of the pan and it got messy, but I figure I'll slather it with whipped cream and it will be fine. My husband keeps nibbling on the pieces as he walks by. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Tremendous gingerbread! Oh wow, what a winner. I subbed in a half cup of Splenda and a half cup of applesauce for equal amounts of the sugar and oil, respectively, and the cake was none the wiser. Dusted with powdered sugar and served with a dab of applesauce and whipped cream, my family inhaled it. Try to be as serious as you can about greasing your pan, though. I used a well greased silicone bundt and still lost a bit of the cake surface. This mofo is sticky. So good though, with its blast of ginger flavor. Also, my goon of a dog had a taste of the boiled molasses and stout when I set it out on the patio to cool, but it didn't seem to hurt anything. (head shaking) Learn from my foolishness and don't assume that a dog would never want to drink warm molasses beer. (head shaking again) Anyway, thanks for a new Christmas tradition, Lizzie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Delicious cake...serve with a dollop of whipped cream and it is perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Oh my heck, this cake has kick as well as intense flavor -> TO CRY FOR DELICIOUS!! The best gingerbread cake I've ever had! I followed the recipe to a "T", no problems other than the cake sticking to the bundt pan. Next time, though, I'll use a 9x13 baking pan as well as using Baker's Joy. Thank you, Lizzie-Babette!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Very moist and good! I added a little cayenne to increase the spice, and cooked in cupcake form. Delicious, and they keep well frozen--good thing since it made a couple of dozen and I'm the only one in the house who likes gingerbread. Serious self-indulgence! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Great recipe, nice and spicy! I made it as written other than pan size, I baked in mini loaf pans for gifts. My MIL loved it. Will definitely be making it again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      No stout, so subbed coffee (it's what Guinness tastes like to me, anyway). Very easy to make and just delicious. Served it with Cream Filling for Gingerbread. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is a very good gingerbread recipe. For added kick, we add approximately 2 tablespoons minced crystalized ginger. Packs a good punch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      Very moist and spicy..just the way I like Gingerbread. I apparently did not oil my pan well enough because I did have a sticking problem, however, sticking does not affect the flavor. I really enjoyed this Gingerbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      this is incredible! i didn't have stout so i used a local brand of dark beer called yingling. otherwise i followed directions, which are right on! to the minute, cake was done. i baked this in my new toy, a silicone bundt pan, which basically peels right off the cooked cake. let me tell you, this is to die for! i'm debating whipping up cream, this is so tasty and rich as is

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      This is the lushest, most moist and delicious cake I have ever laid my lips on! :) I substituted freely; not having stout in the house, I used coffee, and instead of 3/4 cup oil, I used 1/3 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. It keeps well, turning even more "fudge-y" as it ages (not that it lasted for too long!) Great warm with applesauce or a heavy cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      This was excellent! It had a nice dark, brown color, and was full of deep, spicy flavor. The addition of the stout beer was nice, and definitely added to the richness of the bread. One note of caution, as you can see from the "one cup molases" in the ingredients list, this cake is EXTREMELY sticky. Be sure to butter and flour you pan well!! Mine stuck a bit, but the taste made up for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread Cake (Spicy)

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 663.6
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    30%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 69.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 199.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 109.9 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 75.2 g
    300%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites