17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this gingerbread this morning, and I and my family were extremely pleased with the result. I took several slices warm to Barbershop practice today, and they all loved it (my sister, admittedly, taking most of it). I live in New Zealand, and for some reason every other quickbread recipe I've used has had the bread sit very low in the pan - maybe NZ bread pans are just really big, or something - but in any case I decided to make this into one loaf instead. (Good move - except that I forgot about the temperature, so had to bake it for longer at a very low temperature after the hour had gone!) It worked beautifully in the end though. I used golden syrup instead of molasses and also adlibbed the spices with abandon (my sister adores ginger, I love cinnamon), and in fact marbled some (along with brown sugar) through the middle - all turned out fine. Thanks for this recipe, I'll definitely keep this one on hand from now on whenever I feel the urge to bake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melisande Beneksri May 30, 2003

I made this a bazillion times over Christmas. Everyone loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bauline Baker March 20, 2011

Too dry. Based on other comments, I reduced the bake time to 35 minutes at 350. Still didn't turn out. Had an okay flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brynn Paulin November 22, 2009

The flavors were good but the bread was very dry. The cooking time is too long, even with a moderate temperature of 350. I cut my baking time to 45 minutes and still the bread was overcooked. I'm a huge gingerbread fan so I'll try the recipe again and follow Joani's plan of reducing the flour a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedFarmGirl December 25, 2008

I love the flavour, it's exactly what I was hoping for. I followed the directions pretty much to the letter, but /when/ I make this again, I will make it in one pan instead of two, and maybe reduce the flour a little. Also, while 30 minutes was not enough, 40 minutes was too much (in my oven), so I think I'll try 30 minutes. An excellent recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joani Bond December 10, 2008

Fabulous, spicy & flavorful. Mine was overcooked at 38 minutes, but still tasted excellent & disappeared quickly at my family get together. I didn't do the glaze because I made this to use up some extra cream cheese frosting. It was an excellent combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charolette33 April 24, 2008

Delicious!!!!!! I got 2 nice dark loaves. Perfect!!! I had to bake just a little longer than stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 April 02, 2008

This has a great flavor and texture. It was enjoyed by all. Thanks Sue!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben's Mom December 26, 2007

I made this to give as gifts so I don't know how it tasted but it smelled heavenly! I will be making some for myself soon. I made the glaze with hot water instead of milk. I checked them for doneness at 35 minutes and set for another 5 minutes but that may have been too long - like Roosie's they were a bit too brown on the edges. -Dec 21, 2004 Update: I finally got the chance to make this again! This is a very nicely spiced, dense bread. My favorite part is the top, with the glaze. I just ate two thick slices and am ready for another! :) Gave one loaf to a co-worker as a gift, kept the other for myself. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 December 18, 2006

I made this as one of my contributions to payday coffee at school. I served it with lemon curd; a wonderful suggestion! It was, as another reviewer said, a very strongly flavored gingerbread, so not everyone seemed fond of it, but I had several requests for the recipe, so others must have loved it. There was about half a loaf left that I allowed my students to try. They all loved it! One fifth grade boy keeps asking me about that "brown stuff with the yellow stuff" and when will I bring it again. My pesonal opinion of it borders on raving. Everything about it appeals to me...the texture, the strong spice/molasses taste, the moistness, the glaze. I followed the recipe exactly and will never change a thing about it. I'll be making it again for Thanksgiving & Christmas. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina November 20, 2004
Gingerbread