16 Reviews

It doesn't get much easier than this! Mix it all together and stick it in the oven. And, oh, what a wonderful smell you'll have coming from your kitchen! I do recommend really greasing and flouring the pan well and maybe cooling it on a rack for 10 minutes before unmolding. My bottom stuck a bit. I also used an 8x8 pan and made 12 gem-sized muffins (bake 10 minutes). Talk about instant gratification! All I was missing was the whipped cream. :) Thanks!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Pizza September 12, 2002

Absolutely delicious, and couldn't be easier! I made no alterations for high altitude, and my gingerbread turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this one!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth October 17, 2002

Fantastic. I had this recipe years ago and lost it. A box mix does not even compare to this. Most wonderful aroma!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaggieOhio January 05, 2003

My BIL liked this so much he ask for the recipe. it taste just like my Granny use to make. It did not last long, will have to make more for the holidays!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfan December 10, 2002

This is more a recipe for molasses bread. The smell of molasses filled my nose and kitchen while mixing it, and even as it baked it reeked of molasses. Now that it's done, it smells less, but it tastes of molasses. On the other hand, the texture is wonderful. I cooked it at 320 degrees for 38-40 minutes in two shallower tins, and it came out soft and moist without burning. It may turn out more gingerbread-like if you substitute honey or packed brown sugar for molasses.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newbie L November 16, 2008

I made this last night for my daughter to take to school today and it was a HUGE hit. I doubled the recipe and upped the ginger--I used 2 TB total, and upped the cinnamon and added allspice, nutmeg and cloves. I also used half regular flour and half whole wheat flour. This is simply delicious gingerbread. I baked it in a 9x13" pan for 50 minutes and it was perfect. I sprayed the pan with Pam, then put parchment paper on the bottom and coated that with Pam. No sticking problems at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB September 04, 2008

Very good, although I agree with the review by Lover's Dream that said there was not enough ginger. I used 1 tablespoon of ginger and also added 1/2 tsp each of allspice and nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp each cloves and cardamom. I had some leftover lemon cream cheese frosting I used on it, but I prefer a good lemon sauce. All in all, I would use the recipe again if I were making gingerbread. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Queen September 25, 2007

I think I missed what "prepared" pan means, and mine stuck tight to the bottom of my non stick wiltons pan! Ah, well, live and learn-grease and flour next time. I did get it out without destroying the cake. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added extra spices, this cake came out moist and delicious! I made a lemon sauce to go over it. MMMMMM! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia December 23, 2007

I followed the recipe exactly and, sorry to say, was not as excited as the other reviewers. I thought it leaned a little closer to molasses bread than gingerbread -- and actually had a slice (the best slice I had!) with cream cheese. It was a little denser and less gingery than what I was expecting. All in all -- not "bad"...just not what I wanted when I went looking for gingerbread. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoversDream March 04, 2006

if you like gingerbread- you'll love this recipe. my mom couldn't get enough of it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristenErinM December 30, 2005
Gingerbread