10 Reviews

This was absolutely wonderful! The flavors all blended together perfectly to give the salmon a nice Asian flavor, and the preparation was very simple. I found a bit of marinade left over, so I made a reduction of that and served it over the fish, which pronounced the flavor even more. Fabulous! Thanks, Miss Annie!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau October 22, 2002

FIVE BIG STARS, Miss Annie! Here is a real winner. My husband is a salmon fisherman and brings home a lot of fish, so we are always looking for new salmon recipes. This one is going to the top of the pile. Extremely easy, cooked up beautifully on the grill and actually looked just like the photo! Changes: doubled recipe, left out lemongrass (didn't have) and marinated a lot longer as we like pretty heavily spiced foods. Six hours in the marinade and it was spectacular. Will make often. THANKS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 April 21, 2010

I grilled these on the grill, basting with the marinade as it was grilling. We loved the taste of the marinade and will have this again soon! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook Lisa! June 27, 2009

it is unanimous - another 5 star! yummy (even tho i had to leave out the lemongrass, cilantro and sake due to unavailability). also, since my DH likes his salmon with just a little salt, i ended up boiling the marinade on the stovetop until it got thick and sticky. then i just basted my half of the salmon towards the end of the cooking time. we were both happy campers. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eunjung February 17, 2009

We loved this dish! The salmon was moist and the flavors were great! I have added this to our weekly menu and we will enjoy it often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeganMuffins April 02, 2008

Delicious salmon! I actually made a smaller quantity and used it as a glaze rather than marinade. Fabulous with rice and steamed spinach on the side. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. September 28, 2007

Amazing!! I had to make some substitutions because I didn't have everything on hand ;) ~ But this was HEAVEN! We actually broiled it and served it with Oriental Asparagus and Mushrooms and some Jasmine Rice ~ Thanks SO Much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissTiff16 April 02, 2007

Love this recipe! I followed directions exactly and it tastes so good and love crispyness. However, I did try baking it and it was also delicious. Instead of letting fish sit in marinade for 30 minutes, I placed 4 small salmon steaks in square casserole dish, punctured salmon a couple times with fork, then poured marinade over all fish. Covered with glass lid and baked on 425 for 15 to 17 minutes. After baking was done, I poured marinade into small saucepan on low/medium to make a reduction (thicker sauce). Meanwhile, set oven to broil and broil fish for 5 minutes or so. Once done, carefully remove and place on plate, pour a teaspoon of marinade reduction on top of salmon with rice and veggie. Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef J. Case December 13, 2015

Lovely flavors and method for making a crisp on the outside but moist and tender on the inside fillet of salmon. I was able to successfully reduce the amount of soy without throwing the balance of the flavors off. Thank you Miss Annie for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ March 18, 2008

A definate 5 stars! This was delish! I didn't have cilantro so I substituted parsley(cilantro would make it even better) and didn't have chilli sauce so I substituted szchwan peanut sauce...and I didn't have lemongrass, so I squeezed some lime juice. My whole family loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 05, 2002
Ginger Soy Salmon