Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ginger Sesame Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ginger Sesame Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2004

      This was wonderful! I am always looking for new ways to prepare asparagus and this was a definite winner. The slight sweetness from the hoisin sauce really brought out the flavour. Served it with Sesame Seared Tuna and Wasabi Mashed Potatoes. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      I really enjoyed all the flavors in this dish. And the leftovers were even great the next day cold! The only spot where I deviated, was toasting the sesame seeds. Mine were nice and brown a little sooner than 5 minutes. I had a brand new jar of hoisin just waiting for me to use it in this recipe. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      Chia, You did good. I nuked the asparagus while cooking the garlic and ginger. I used the chili sesame oil, and olive oil in place of the peanut oil. I also made this with chinese broccoli.Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      I followed the recipe to the letter, except to substitute a little canola oil for the peanut oil, and it was wonderful. I had never blanched asparagus before using it in a recipe, but it did help cook the tender spears much faster once it went into the skillet. The combination of hoisin sauce and sesame seeds is a winner and I'll be using this recipe on other green veggies as well as asparagus. Another good one, Chia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Excellent - made for Easter today for my husband and I. Served with a baked potato, and Orange Glazed Salmon Fillets with Rosemary from Cooking Light April 2009. My husband doesn't like asparagus; but told me to put this in the keeper file. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This were easy to make and had a great flavor. A very nice way to make asparagus. Loved the flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Terrific flavor! I made this exactly as written but doubled the garlic. There is plenty of yummy sauce. This is a great Asian side dish and the sauce is versatile enough that pretty much any veggie could be added to make this a meatless main meal over rice. I may add shiitake mushrooms in this next time..... or even use snow peas instead of asparagus. Thanx for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Very good! I had already toasted sesame seeds so skipped that part of the recipe, used plum sauce instead of the hoisin (was out of hoisen) and added a little splash of chili oil. I did cook the asparagus a little longer, dont like mine so crisp. Will definitely make this one again. Has anyone tried this with brocolli?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I had all the ingredients on hand. I had bought some asparagus on sale and found this recipe perfect. It was so quick to make and turned out to be a tasty vegetable side dish. Thank you for posting such an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Loved this recipe! But I should have recipe before I started putting all the ingredients together, but either way it tasted wonderful...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Loved this different way to prepare asparagus. This was easy to make and had such nice flavor. I served it as a side to Chasfoodie's Wasabi Grilled Tuna (#9773), and it was a fantastic compliment. Thanks, Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      mmm VERY good and very tasty! loved it. but i do agree w/ one reviewer to make sure to cut the bottom, tough parts of the asparagus to insure you have all tender but crisp pieces. DELICIOUS and best asparagus recipe i've tried so far. thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I've made this a couple of times now, and I keep forgetting to review it. I'm so sorry! lol. I love it, and so does my family. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      My mom and I are always looking for a way to prepare asparagus that my dad and boyfriend will eat it... and this did just the trick, with them requesting more! Thank you SO much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This is excellent and so easy to make. The asparagus glistens with that very flavorful sauce. The fresh ginger definitely perks up your taste buds. The only change I made was using 2 cloves of garlic. My family and I enjoyed this--thanks so much, chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Salt is added to the water to season it while cooking the asparagus. The 1/2 teaspoon is the actual ingredient needed in the chef's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Awesome!!! Simple and delicious. The only confusion is that "salt" is used in the directions twice but listed in the ingredients only once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      Any recipe with this combination of ingredients as this is a winner in my book. This was an easy recipe to follow and received rave reviews with everyone. I used fresh asparagus from my garden. Thanks for a great recipe. This will be used again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      Fabulous way to cook asparagus! I loved it just the way it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      This was easy to make, and even my daughter who hates asparagus ate hers. Cutting it on the bias made the presentation very nice. I would use a little less hoisin sauce and a sqeeze of lemon next time (personal preference), but it was still great as is. We served it with steamed jasmine rice and sesame chicken for a reasonably quick weeknight meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ginger Sesame Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.0
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    60%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 571.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites