Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ginger Pear Preserves Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ginger Pear Preserves

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2003

      Oh GOLLY, this is good! I'm eating it right now! I made it with small Bartlett pears, so it took a long time peeling and chopping, but I'm sure it would be easier with larger pears. Even without mashing the fruit, this comes out with a very applesaucy texture. The ginger flavor is not overwhelming, it just gives a nice bright note to the pear. The lime isn't really noticible as itself, but I'm sure it contributes to the brightness and cuts down on what I normally find a cloying sweetness in pears.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      We harvested our pear trees for the first time this year and what a wonderful recipe. The flavor is balanced and the zested lime give a beautiful look and taste to the final product. I cut the sugar down to 1 3/4 cup because the pears were so sweet. Other than that I'm making more today for gifts!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      These are really good. Not to sweet with a nice hint of lime. Cooked in the time frame stated and jelled nicely. I did use about 2 teaspoons of grated gingerroot. Other than that, would not change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I made this recipe following the directions exactly and LOVE the taste but could not get the preserves to gel. I did 4X everything because of the amount of pears I had. Once they were boiling they started to foam so I turned heat down. After boiling for almost 30 minutes they were still watery and I was on a time constraint so jarred them anyway. Any hints on how to avoid this next year when my pears come in?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      My pear tree never produces fruit, but it sure did this year. Not wanting to let it go to waste, I tried these lovely preserves and am very glad I did. I am not a big fan of ginger and was somewhat worried that the taste might be overwhelming. I add just a bit at a time and ended up adding as much as indicated with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Can't believe I forgot to review these! I made them a couple of weeks ago because the in-laws were coming into town. They were very impressed, and I'm now down to the last jar already! These came out perfectly. I didn't mash the fruit, but I did add in a bit more ginger. Thanks for making my second experience with jam a continued success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

    • on September 26, 2006

      Tried this tonight and excellent, the smell alone made my mouth water. Couldn't wait for it to finish, had to have some on bread with butter. Excellent, easy and very very tasty just as is, thank you for sharing.....Anne :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ginger Pear Preserves

    Serving Size: 1 (1490 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    30%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.7 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 79.6 g
    318%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites