15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this twice now and been very impressed with the mix of flavours. The second time I substitued coconut milk for the milk to see if I could make a kosher version. This worked amazingly well and I would highly recommend it. You might even be able to reduce the amount of cornstarch because coconut milk is naturally thicker than low fat milk. Both times I left off the cilantro and used about 2 t of chili pepper flakes, which was plenty of heat -- and we like spicy foods. It's also very quick. The second time I made it I used Japanese soba noodles rather than Italian pasta. This worked very well too. This looks set to become part of my regular rotation of quick weekday dinner recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Savage July 07, 2010

I'm changing my rating from 4 to 5 stars--this is a dish that I crave regularly. and my family (sister and parents) loved this! I think there will still be some fiddling with the recipe in the future, but it is really good. as suggested by ncmysteryshopper, we added red bell pepper (next time, I'll add more like a 1/2 cup), and then we added about 1/4-1/3 cup of cocktail peanuts just before serving. and for the benefit of new cooks: 1 lime=about 3 tbsp of juice (very important to use enough). also, heating the water for pasta while you cook the chicken seems to work out so that the pasta will be done just as the chicken and sauce is. the sauce should be added to the chicken in the pan and heated just to boiling to thicken the sauce, and then the cilantro and chives should be added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 March 30, 2008

Excellent flavor and great way to use left over chicken! This would be awesome tossed with sauteed vegetables as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 September 26, 2014

Great dish! I actually made this dish for my now fiancée as one of the first things i cooked for him, 2.5 years later he still loves it! The mix of flavors is great, i use a bit more red pepper tho...only because we are real big spicy eaters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irishcruls February 08, 2011

Not bad; interesting flavors going on in this dish. DH loves peanut sauce and I love ginger - for some odd reason I've never had a dish with the two together, so I thought I'd give this a try. I used two chicken breasts and that seemed perfect because I like a bit more sauce. Didn't have limes, so I just used 2 TBSP lime juice - could taste a hint of it, but would like a little more to tie the ginger and peanut butter together and will use 2 1/2 TBSP next time. Instead of 4 tsp. red pepper flakes, I used 2 tsp., but that was still way too spicy for my tastes (I'm a spice wimp!) and had a hard time savoring the flavors of the sauce because of it. That's the only reason I gave it 3 out of 5 stars, but next time will make it with 1 or maybe even 1/2 tsp red pepper and then rate it again. Extremely fast recipe and all of these ingredients are things I keep in the pantry. Agree with a previous submission that says to boil water when you start cutting up your chicken because the sauce is so fast to make. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkirch December 05, 2007

We just thought this was okay. I'm not sure if we'll try it again, but if we do, I think we might make some adjustments so it isn't quite so sweet. It just seemed like a little bit too much peanut butter for our tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonpoodle December 03, 2007

made this for the first time last night...cut down on the crushed red pepper flakes...only cause i knew one of my guest did not do spicy well and did not as much pasta ether. it was a great dish that i will deff make many more times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
levi November 29, 2007

Good and easy weeknight dinner. I used thighs b/c they were defrosted and I used skim milk, but still got a creamy sauce. I think that next time, I will play with this more, just because I felt it was very very very slightly lacking in flavor/spice. We eat pretty intensely flavored things! Overall, though, a def. keeper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM April 05, 2007

This is an easy recipe to prepare. I drastically cut down the crushed red pepper because we didn't want it too spicy. I was in the mood for Thai but out of curry paste so this worked perfectly for us. If you're not in the mood for noodles I'm sure it would be good over rice, too. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 April 02, 2007

Thanks Nicole for the great recipe. As it is only me, I halved the recipe and it seemed fairly successful. The only thing I might do next time is reduce the lime, I think that measurement may not carry over when the recipe is halved. At step 7, I realised I had forgotten to add the peanut butter and did so, but the mixture seemed to curdle. Maybe it was the order I added the PB (last)? Either way, I went ahead and the recipe turned out fine. My final dish doesn't look like the pic, it looks creamier and the pasta is saucy. Very good, and a fun change from rice! Thanks Nicole!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miska December 28, 2006
Ginger Peanut Chicken Pasta