Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ginger Peach Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ginger Peach Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2008

      oh. my. gawsh. used regular smooshed ginger, frozen (thawed) peaches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Wonderful and sophisticated is the perfect description! The ginger flavor is quite strong, which I loved, but I imagine most people would want to use less. I cut the peach segments in thirds so they would be bite-sized. I cooked the oatmeal in the juice and that made it sweet enough without adding sugar. Thanks to Toni for sharing your creation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Yes, this is a nice way to spice up your usual oatmeal! I used about a tsp of the crystallized ginger, and it still permeated the dish fully. I also used a couple of fresh nectarines on top. Nuts would probably go really well with this too. Thanks, Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Wow! This was really good! I am not very fond of oatmeal ordinarily, but this was really GOOD! I LOVED the little bursts of ginger every so often, too. I used fresh peaches (quartered, then chopped coarsely, so bigger chunks) and the flavors really came together nicely. I used brown sugar and a bit of milk on mine--and that was a great breakfast. *Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap Aug 07*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      Like Jellyqueen, I wasn't too sure about the ginger...But she's right, the more you eat, the better it gets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      I had to think about this one for a minute. I just wasn't sure about the ginger taste, but then, the more I ate...the more I enjoyed this. I did use fresh peaches and I also cut back a little on the ginger, because I just wasn't sure about it. Great recipe that gives plain old oatmeal a new twist!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      Hi - oddly I didn't know this recipe was here and came up with a variant of this on my own but this is so close to how I prepared mine I felt obliged to say how delicious the combination of the oatmeal, yoghurt and peahces is, most especially with the ginger. If you like peaches, oatmeal and ginger the combination is a sure winner however you prepare it :) (Provided it's sweet! - honey sound like a wonderful idea!) My variants were to empty the canned Peaches which were in syrup into a sieve and rinse them in water, then use part of the tin (fridged the rest) I squished a few segments (enough to put on top of the porridge) through my fingers into a pot to make a rough puree. Also, I don't have any candied ginger (I wish!) so I used 1/2 tsp ground ginger in the porridge with 1/4 to 1/3 tsp caraway seeds though I was dubious about them - they were great together! I used a generous tsp plain/natural yoghurt and sprinkled sweetener across the top of the porridge with yoghurt on top then added the peach puree over the yoghurt, and sprinkled a bit more ground ginger for good measure (a bit too good a measure I think!). I wonder if real Ambrosia could be better than this ! :) Soft Brown sugar over the tops sounds a heavenly idea too! Thanks for the excellent recipe suggestion. I'm not sure whether or not I should give a rating, but your recipe is so near identical to how I did it, and I know it's a knockout combination it's got to be worth 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      I have to admit that my first 2 bites of this were tenative. But then I realized how very good this is! I halved the recipe and used quick cooking oats. I also chopped the peaches into small pieces. And I topped with a splash of low fat vanilla soymilk. Very nice. I know that, for work reasons, I will miss lunch today so I paired this with a fruit and yogurt smoothie for a nice hearty breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      I'm with you Toni, I have oatmeal 3 to 4 times a week and am always on the lookout for new ways to fix it. I used about half the ginger the recipe called for, old fashioned oats and added 1/3 cup dry milk powder with the oats and water to make a creamier texture. Served it topped with brown sugar. This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ginger Peach Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    13%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crystallized ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes