9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

oh. my. gawsh. used regular smooshed ginger, frozen (thawed) peaches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear July 19, 2008

Wonderful and sophisticated is the perfect description! The ginger flavor is quite strong, which I loved, but I imagine most people would want to use less. I cut the peach segments in thirds so they would be bite-sized. I cooked the oatmeal in the juice and that made it sweet enough without adding sugar. Thanks to Toni for sharing your creation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen March 16, 2008

Yes, this is a nice way to spice up your usual oatmeal! I used about a tsp of the crystallized ginger, and it still permeated the dish fully. I also used a couple of fresh nectarines on top. Nuts would probably go really well with this too. Thanks, Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 25, 2008

Wow! This was really good! I am not very fond of oatmeal ordinarily, but this was really GOOD! I LOVED the little bursts of ginger every so often, too. I used fresh peaches (quartered, then chopped coarsely, so bigger chunks) and the flavors really came together nicely. I used brown sugar and a bit of milk on mine--and that was a great breakfast. *Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap Aug 07*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber August 28, 2007

Like Jellyqueen, I wasn't too sure about the ginger...But she's right, the more you eat, the better it gets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy November 25, 2005

I had to think about this one for a minute. I just wasn't sure about the ginger taste, but then, the more I ate...the more I enjoyed this. I did use fresh peaches and I also cut back a little on the ginger, because I just wasn't sure about it. Great recipe that gives plain old oatmeal a new twist!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen June 13, 2005

Hi - oddly I didn't know this recipe was here and came up with a variant of this on my own but this is so close to how I prepared mine I felt obliged to say how delicious the combination of the oatmeal, yoghurt and peahces is, most especially with the ginger. If you like peaches, oatmeal and ginger the combination is a sure winner however you prepare it :) (Provided it's sweet! - honey sound like a wonderful idea!) My variants were to empty the canned Peaches which were in syrup into a sieve and rinse them in water, then use part of the tin (fridged the rest) I squished a few segments (enough to put on top of the porridge) through my fingers into a pot to make a rough puree. Also, I don't have any candied ginger (I wish!) so I used 1/2 tsp ground ginger in the porridge with 1/4 to 1/3 tsp caraway seeds though I was dubious about them - they were great together! I used a generous tsp plain/natural yoghurt and sprinkled sweetener across the top of the porridge with yoghurt on top then added the peach puree over the yoghurt, and sprinkled a bit more ground ginger for good measure (a bit too good a measure I think!). I wonder if real Ambrosia could be better than this ! :) Soft Brown sugar over the tops sounds a heavenly idea too! Thanks for the excellent recipe suggestion. I'm not sure whether or not I should give a rating, but your recipe is so near identical to how I did it, and I know it's a knockout combination it's got to be worth 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ethan UK May 12, 2005

I have to admit that my first 2 bites of this were tenative. But then I realized how very good this is! I halved the recipe and used quick cooking oats. I also chopped the peaches into small pieces. And I topped with a splash of low fat vanilla soymilk. Very nice. I know that, for work reasons, I will miss lunch today so I paired this with a fruit and yogurt smoothie for a nice hearty breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit April 18, 2005

I'm with you Toni, I have oatmeal 3 to 4 times a week and am always on the lookout for new ways to fix it. I used about half the ginger the recipe called for, old fashioned oats and added 1/3 cup dry milk powder with the oats and water to make a creamier texture. Served it topped with brown sugar. This is a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG April 04, 2005
Ginger Peach Oatmeal