Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ginger-Peach Jam (no pectin needed) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ginger-Peach Jam (no pectin needed)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2003

      And, my best regards to your upstairs neighbor, also! I had gotten carried away buying peaches at the local fruit stand last week and was looking for a way to "salvage" some before they went bad. When I came across this recipe, I knew I had found my solution. The only change I made was to add about 1T. of chopped candied ginger. This may very well be great to use when cooking chicken, but that experiment will have to wait until the next batch: this batch is already about gone! Thank you to you and your neighbor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      I had already made a few pies and still had 2 cups of peach pieces left, so I thought I'd make jam. I perused the recipes and found this one, realized I had a piece of ginger sitting in the freezer I could also use, and decided to make 1/3 recipe. I'm very glad I did! The ginger gives the sweet peachy taste a wonderful kick. I already enjoyed this on my morning toast and have made a few trips to the fridge to have a spoonful of this jam right from the jar! This jam is very easy to make and tastes absolutely delicious. Thank you Mirj for sharing this and my best regards to your upstairs neighbour!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      I decided to make peach jam for my niece's wedding favors, had some leftover peaches and decided to try this recipe as I LOVE to experiment with different spices. This turned out wonderfully well. I did add 6T. of lemon juice, the ginger as directed, had no allspice so I added 3/4t. cardamon, 1/2t. nutmeg.....so delicious!!!!! I am going to make another batch! Oh! I did cut the sugar a third. It is quite sassy and packs a tad of a wallop! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Just made this Jam ... Soooooo good! I added bluberries as some of my peaches weren't quite ready omitted half the sugar and used crystalized ginger as thats all I had. Hands down a keeper of a recipe! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      sorry ~ i was so eager to rave about this recipe that i forgot to give it a 5-star rating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I just made this and it is wonderful! I used roughly half the amount of sugar suggested and used lime juice instead of lemon. This is more of a preserves viscosity, and I think it would be a great sauce for chicken/pork or ice cream. It's also good by the tablespoon! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      I am not giving a star review because I changed this so much! I used it as a base recipe but subbed in things I had on hand: 10 nectarines, 2 cans light pears, drained and chopped, 1 tsp good quality ground ginger, 1/2 tsp allspice, 2 tsp lemon juice, and only 2 cups sugar. Followed directions as listed and it turned out wonderfully. Have not tasted yet - I did can it in small jars (water bath canning). Will make as listed next time, but I can tell readers that this is a quick and easy jam recipe worth making! Thanks, Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I'm giving this 4 stars because I really liked it, but it's a bit too sweet for me. I may not have added enough ginger to counteract all the sugar, which I cut to 2 1/2 cups. I love the color and the gingery afterburn I get from eating it. I will definitely be making this recipe again (I am already planning another trip to the peach orchard!) I am looking forward to trying it with chicken or pork chops. Thanks for a great recipe, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Thanks for this good & easy recipe! I love the flavor and the idea to eat it with chicken, think I'll try pork too. I did have to get more of a boil than "simmering" to get my jam to thicken, otherwise I followed your recipe exactly and am so happy with the results. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Outstanding! I've made one batch of 4 jars last week and it's almost gone so I'm make more this weekend...will add a bit more ginger as the taste mixed with the peaches is divine ! Thanks so much for sharing...now I have to go hide the 2 remaining jars !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      An excellent jam! I forgot to add the allspice, but the jam is still quite tasty. I like it because you can taste the peaches, not a ton of sugar! I also liked the 'loose' consistency - the pectin jams are sometimes to stiff. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      This is delicious, and so easy. I was concerned about the allspice (didn't want my final product to taste too much like a chutney - wanted it to serve primarily as a jam) so i cut it back to just a pinch. Next time I'd put the whole 1/4 tsp in (as i can't even detect my "pinch"). But the ginger in the peaches is really such a nice zippy variation on standard peach jam. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ginger-Peach Jam (no pectin needed)

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    12%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.7 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 89.1 g
    356%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites