25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were great! I made 'em with bananas, and tossed in a handful of crystallized ginger, walnuts, and (by accident) tart dried cherries. (I meant to use raisins, but great recipes are created by accident!) I made 'em as drop cookies and got 36 large cookies out of them. I think these are much, much better than they sound from the recipe; if you're reading this review, try 'em! Thanks for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts January 23, 2008

My first bite - I was a bit underwhelmed - but the subtleness of the sweet was enticing, and now I love them ESPECIALLY because the recipe is so flexible and there is no dairy, no eggs. Just the sub I've been looking for to replace store bought breakfast bars. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NuVegan January 21, 2008

Very nice. I added a handful of chopped dates, baked on 170C for 20mins and they came out lovely. I used 1 banana + 1/2 cup applesauce, and substituted molasses for sugar-free maple syrup. Also added some mixed spice as I only had 2 tsp of cinnamon left. Spice mixture was fine; I thought 1 tsp ginger was just right. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gym tonic March 27, 2007

these things are soo good! I made some and froze most of them so I could ration them out for lunch. I ended up forgeting about them for a few weeks and i just found them yesterday! they are still great! i actually like eating them frozen too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 March 01, 2007

Not bad at all! Quite good, for healthy! I doubled it, then added 1 c. raisins and 1 c. nuts. Next time maybe I will try 1/2 molasses and 1/2 Splenda.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marzy February 03, 2007

These were pretty good for being so healthy! I was hoping they would taste like five stars, but without the fat, I don't think that's possible. I also don't know if I would call them a "cookie".. more like a bready granola bar. We had them for dessert last night and then for breakfast again this morning. :) I one and a halfed the recipe and put it in a 13x9 pan for 25 minutes. The only substitution I made was to use fresh ginger rather than ground. I will try these again doing the pumpkin version and probably use even more ginger! Thanks for a great recipe that I don't have to feel guilty about feeding to my kids.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Al Al November 04, 2006

I love that these cookies holds its shape when bake, better flatten them before placing in oven. I reduce the amount of ginger to 1/2t and cinnamon to 2 t. It turned out to have a just a hint of ginger and a more distinct cin and banana taste. I use 1/4c pancake syrup & 1/4 c honey instead of molasses. i love that these are healthy crunchy cookies (i love them crunchy and hard so i baked them more than 20min)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn512 March 12, 2006

these came out very nice. they are moist and fragrant, i love the earthy-comforting taste. i love anything with oatmeal, and this recipe is a keeper. a great thing to grab for breakfast on your way out the door! i followed the recipe, and added little zante currants that i had on hand. i see great possibilities to add other dry fruit and nuts. being from vermont, i really want to sub that molasses with maple syrup also. i love a recipe that gives me room to create. thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somemome February 28, 2006

I made these to take on a camping trip for Father's Day. Turned out wonderful as a bar cookie. The combination of banana, ginger, cinnamon and molasses is heavenly. I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Ate two of them and put the rest in the freezer. I will try to remember to report back on how well they freeze. Thanks for a simple and delicious cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DogAndCatDoc June 15, 2006
Ginger Oat Cookies (no White Sugar Added)