25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We made the pumpkin version into bars. Though they are not really that sweet, they make a very hearty breakfast when warmed-up and topped with a bit of peanut butter. We will probably make these again, but with raisins inside to make them a bit sweeter.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bette January 25, 2008

I made the pumpkin version and it turned out pretty well, considering there is no oil or white sugar added. I made it in a 9" x 9" pan, and they turned out very moist with a nice, chewy texture. My only critique is that I felt the bars could use a little more flavor, like a kick of something - more spices perhaps. Other than that, pretty good for such a healthy recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook July 24, 2013

These are very delcious, healthy bars(or cookies) that are great for an on-the-go breakfast or just for a snack! OH and by the way, these cookies(or bars) freeze great! Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef June 16, 2006

WOW! These just came out of the oven...oh my! My kids are gobbling them up and since they are so healthy...no need to stop them. I don't eat flour or processed sugar, so I didn't use the 1 cup of flour. I ground up steel cut oats in my food processor until it got flour-looking and added the remaining 2 c of oats, so there are a ton of oats in these little babies. 5 stars, hands down!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cochamama May 18, 2012

Followed the banana version of the recipe, but I don't love how they taste, but really I want to try this recipe again following the suggestions of adding dried fruit (also want to try precooking the oats too).

Right now I usually eat one for breakfast topped with vanilla or blueberry yogurt. Also have been giving pieces to my doggie as treats and he's loving it.

Thanks for the no-fuss recipe, it's nice to see ones that have such healthy ingredients and lots of room to experiment :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Violet de Parme May 25, 2011

Very good but needed just a little something. and I used 1 C raisins too. Next time may use 1/2 powdered and 1/2 fresh ginger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSMontana January 10, 2011

I made the pumpkin version and they came out looking just the photo from DogAndCatDoc. Subtly sweet and an excellent choice for breakfast or tea time. These aren't too cookie like,though more like an oat cake/bar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos January 10, 2011

I thought these were perfectly sweet and i loved the more well done edges of these cookies. I added raisins and walnuts and used the pumpkin/unsweetened applesauce version of this recipe. I think that if I would have made these without the raisins and walnuts something would have been lacking. My husband who is not a dessert, raisin or walnut kind of guy gave these 5 stars too. I will make these often and not change a thing!! Like other raters have mentioned, the cookie does need to be flattened before baking as they do not spread out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunkist100 January 09, 2011

I made the pumpkin/applesauce variation in a 9x9 pan. I'm always seeking yummy recipes with minimal amounts of healthier sweeteners, so I wanted to love this simple, easy, quick recipe. The prep time was far less than 10 minutes for me! It has great potential, but to my taste, something was missing. Diced apples might be a nice addition, and I will probably try the banana version sometime and see if I like that better. Maybe something as simple as a pinch of salt would add the extra dimension I'm looking for...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegJen April 11, 2008

I'm sorry, but these really just didn't work for me. They didn't taste like anything and I was so suprised because there was so much flavor put in them, yet none if it came out in the finished product

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catercow January 30, 2008
Ginger Oat Cookies (no White Sugar Added)