142 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an excellent dish! Easy, easy, easy! I used 2 medium sized chicken breasts and put them in a Pyrex baking dish for 30 minutes. I doubled everything except for the ginger. Thank you for a great, easy and delicious recipe! UPDATE: Made these yet again, and it's now a meal that we eat often. Healthy, light and delicious! I did not brown the chicken, just put it in the oven for 30 minutes, which is perfect. I did sprinkle some panko crumbs on the chicken before putting in the oven, just to give it a little crunch. I recommend putting the water at the bottom of the dish instead of mixing with the ingredients.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debberd2 June 22, 2011

My family love this recipe and request it in the summer. Not wanting to fire the oven up in the summer I created a grilling alternative. I make the sauce put the chicken and the sauce together in a plastic zip lock bag, then I fire up the grill. When the coals are ready I shake off as much of the sauce as I can and give the breasts nice seared grill marks. Then place the breasts in a cast iron skillet, salt and pepper them and dump the remaining sauce from the bag on top. Snuff out the coals and put the skillet on the grill grate to finish cooking the chicken, turning a few times. Excellent, tender with a nice smoke flavor. Great with veggie kaboobs put on the grill with the chicken! Finish the meal with a nice pasta or fruit salad! Thanks for a great recipe :)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hovin4 April 13, 2010

The ginger flavor was perfect, we loved this recipe! I decided to experiment and baked one and pan fried one. I much preferred the pan fried one, it had caramelization and just plain looked better, the oven baked one was pale and unappetizing looking, although it was very good. Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl June 06, 2013

Great recipe! As soon as you mix up the sauce, the smell is going to intoxicate you. SO fragrant. However, I ended up using ground ginger instead of fresh, and you can really taste the difference; the ground ginger makes the dish more bitter than it should be. I'd urge people to use fresh grated ginger whenever possible.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer July 12, 2012

I really loved this chicken, and my 17 month old liked it too. I did it in the pan to get it done faster, and it turned out well. I didn't add the cayenne because of my little boy, but next time i will pull his out and then add it. I think the heat would be really good with the sweetness. I added a dash of lemon juice to make it a bit more acidic, and all the flavors really worked together. This will be a new regular on our rotating dinner menu.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Sass June 29, 2010

A wonderful chicken dish. I did use 4 cloves of garlic and found that to be a nice flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fun-in-the-kitchen April 19, 2010

I really did not care for this at all i used real ginger and that is all i could taste and the sauce was like water.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nkfowler October 27, 2009

This was a delicious chicken dish; the smell wafting through the house was incredible! I sauteed my chicken in the pan, adding the sauce and simmering for 30 minutes. So flavorful, for so few ingredients! This packs a wallop for your tastebuds! Thanks so much for sharing, French Tart! Made for Fall PAC '09.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl September 13, 2009

This was just too dry. I even checked it 10 minutes early because of other reviews. I love ginger but the taste was all wrong. Don't think I could even fix it by changing amount of time or spices. Just not good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
josu114 September 03, 2013

I think this would have tasted better had I either grilled, broiled, or pan fried the chicken. I baked it and didn't care for the texture or taste. Sorry, I hate to leave a bad review and obviously so many others enjoyed it but it just didn't work for me =(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"mom of girls" February 14, 2012
Ginger Me up Chicken! Low Fat Honey & Ginger Chicken Breasts