14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WONDERFUL GUT MUFFINS! Love the flavor of the ginger and lemon (lemon's one of my favorites anyway). Easy to make even with the grating. I made mine gluten-free using 1/2 cup each blanched almond and sorghum flours, and added 3/4 teaspoon xanthum gum. They needed to bake the whole 20 minutes, but were moist and delicious right out of the oven. I ended up with 9 muffins! Thanks for posting cookiedog ~ made for ZWT 6 ~ GERMANY/BENELUX region for the Queens of Quisine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative June 03, 2010

Moist and fluffy and so full of flavour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare February 14, 2015

I followed this to the letter, except for using all-purpose flour. However, I only ended up with 6 muffins that were not particularly huge. However, the ginger and lemon flavors really came through, without being overly sweet. I will be making these again. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 30, 2010

I really like the nice like flavor these muffins have!! Made as directed EXCEPT I didn't see that the recipe only made 8 and I divided the batter into 12 muffin cups, thus smaller sized muffins...but that's my fault. Will be making these again, for sure! Made for ZWT6 Voracious Vagabonds

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim May 25, 2010

These are lovely and the flavor is so refreshing!. I'm a major ginger lover so I used the full (packed) 3 tablespoons of fresh ginger and they came out so wonderful! This recipe is a keeper for sure. Made for ZWT6: No-Nonsense Nibblers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeVaFoodie May 24, 2010

I made mine into a loaf as I was using the muffin tin. Very good I was not to sure of the ginger so I used 1 tbsp only. I know I am a chicken , Will make again for sure

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda March 22, 2009

I used all purpose flour. At the last minute, I was too lazy to softened the butter, so I used vegetable oil LOL If I do them again, I will reduce the amount of sugar. Cause I found it a bit too sweet for the small quantities of muffins. I got 7 muffins. I finely chopped fresh ginger. Thanks Stephanie :) Made for zaar star game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 12, 2008

I admit I had my misgivings about the amounts of lemon and ginger like other reviewers, but on the strength of their positive reviews decided to have a go at this recipe. Boy, am I glad I did. This is a fabulous recipe, light and delicious and utterly sublime with sweetened whipped cream on top. I made 6 regular muffins and 12 mini muffins with one batch and it has disappeared in a matter of hours. Thanks for posting a great recipe cookiedog.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook November 25, 2007

These were so nice!! I used organic spelt flour for easier digestion, but other than that, I didn't change a thing. They were so light and fluffy and moist! Yum. Thanks cookiedog!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz October 20, 2007

Do you know the muffin man? Well here's a recipe he needs in his collection. These great light fluffy amazing muffins. Loved them! I thought the ginger would be too powerful, but it was a great combination with the lemon zest and made for a nice brunch! Glad I snagged this recipe, It's another *keeper* Thanks Cookie, great recipe ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) March 01, 2007
Ginger-Lemon Muffins