12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are the best Cookies! I've made them twice this week! I listened to the other reviews and I did add much more lemon zest and ginger than it called for. I used the zest of 2 lemons, and I used 3 tsp. of Ginger. Also, instead of dipping the glass in water, I dipped it in the lemon juice of one of the lemons and then the sugar. It really made all the difference!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
In My Tummy! February 27, 2007

Delicious and flavorful cookies. I put in extra lemon rind and ginger for added flavor. For the one cup of flour, made 1/3 of it whole wheat flour. Came out great! Will definately make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmet1 July 19, 2006

These cookies were flavorful, but seemed to be missing something. If I make them again I will put in more ginger and more lemon. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita January 29, 2015

I rate these cookies a 5!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookswithSpice February 07, 2011

I made this recipe twice, because after reading the reviews, I thought I must have made it wrong the first time. However, it came out exactly the same the second time. I expected the cookie to be a bit more substantial in texture and taste. Instead, it is see-through thin, delicate-crumbly and tastes bland. I even doubled the lemon peel and ginger as many of the reviewers suggested. The uncooked dough tastes wonderful. I suspect the flavor dissipates during cooking. It is a bit time consuming to make, taking the refrigeration into account, but I would be fine with that if the results were better. It is doubtful that I will try it again. I posted a photo so that you have some idea of how my batch looks. Thanks for posting, spatchcock. Sorry that I didn't like it more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemon-yellow September 08, 2008

Great cookie. We love ginger so I used a whole tablespoon. The cookies are crunchy and yet not too hard (does not break your teeth........), they spread just a little. I got 38 cookies and they were baked in 17 minutes. Did not want them to be too sugary so I omitted step 10 and 11. Instead I flattened them with a fork dipped in water between every cookie. Must say, one of the best gingercookies I have come across. Will certainly make again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo August 18, 2008

Very tasty cookies. Nice subtle flavor of both lemon and ginger. Great for tea or coffee. These are on my holiday cookie right now though I don't think they will last long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loridelnero December 24, 2007

loved these cookies, next t ime i will add more ginger and lemon zest. I use gluten and wheat free flour and they were fab...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supertellp April 09, 2007

Very nice and crispy sugar cookie! I did double the lemon rind and ginger, 'cause we like really zingy flavors and I saw other viewers had increased amounts as well. They still wheren't that zingy at all, so next time I would increase them to triple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 01, 2006

These were very good. I made exactly 28 cookies as stated. They reminded me of a snickerdoodle with ginger-lemon flavor. Next time I will increase ginger to 1 1/2 tsp. Thank-you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefRed May 29, 2006
Ginger-Lemon Cookies