13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this! Even my two kids who hate rice gobbled it up & have requested it again. I used chicken soup base, so didn't add the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darcy's Diner February 18, 2013

YUM-O! I used chicken broth with this recipe and added 2 more garlic cloves. Threw everything in the rice cooker and it was a success!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vinnysmommy26 October 14, 2012

I made a double recipe for a small dinner gathering, and served with edemame and vegetable potstickers. YUM! Next time, I will buy a jar of minced ginger to save some time, as a double recipe took an entire ginger root. Thanks, I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss_Elaine May 25, 2010

Oh this was so good, such a pleasant alternative to plain rice. I served it with Grilled Thai Thighs (#228909), steamed broccoli, and fresh mango. I didn't use quite enough ginger or garlic as I ran out, but it was still delicious. Thank you. The whole family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megarachnid February 19, 2010

Yeah, I get to be number 9 to tell you how great this was. Instead of broth I used 3/4 cup of coconut milk and 1/4 cup of water. YUMMY! I soaked the rice for about an hour before cooking and had no problem with the timing! Made for Asian Unreviewed Recipe Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench August 18, 2009

Very easy and simple. I doubled the recipe for a Asian dinner party with friends and family and I did it right in my rice cooker :) Excellent. Made for Asian Unrated Recipe Tag Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 August 16, 2009

I loved the wonderful aroma this produced while cooking and the delicious end result. I used water to cook this in but may try stock next time. Also, I'll be reducing the amount of oil to lower the fat content. The recipe was prepared exactly as written and the timing was perfect. Made for Unrated Asian Recipe Tag Game, 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 15, 2009

This is really good rice. I made it once with brown jasmine rice, using 1 1/4 C water and cooking it for around 40 min. Then I made it once with white jasmine rice, following the recipe exactly. In both cases, the aroma and flavor were exquisite. The rice was not fluffy, but that did not detract from the dish, and may be due to insufficient rinsing on my part. Will be making this again-- and again! Next time I'll cook up a larger quantity and use a little less oil (I used peanut oil). Made for Unrated Asian Recipe Tag Game, 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieWeasel July 25, 2009

A simple and excellent rice recipe. I used chicken stock to boost the taste. The timing of cooking was right on. For additional color and taste sliced kalamansi was used. Post note: I plan on cutting back on oil next time to half the amount. Thank you for posting Gaia. Made for Asian forum's unrated Asian recipes tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori July 18, 2009

We loved the fragrant smell of this while cooking. The flavor was still there when served. I did use chicken stock in the recipe and sprinkled with parsley flakes. Served with Mep's Easy, Tasty Tilapia and broccoli spears.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D July 16, 2009
Ginger Jasmine Rice